We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine On Sale
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrible management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I've stayed here 6 times previously; always had a wonderful time. this time is likely to be the last unfortunately. Came back to my ocean front room today to find a note from the management, saying that they are painting the the outside of the hotel and as a result I would not not have access to the lanai starting tomorrow, because workers will be coming up the outside of the building and standing on the lanai working. That's it - no apology, no excuse the work/pardon the dust, just that and Aloha.

so what's the point of having an ocean front room if you're not allowed to go out on the lanai and can't open the drapes because workers are standing on it?

I didn't complain about the noise from the outside over the past few days, even though we weren't warned when making the reservation or checking in. But this is just too much - they charge about double for an ocean front room, and then take the "ocean front" part away like it's no big deal.

totally understand that they need to maintain the building - but they could have warned us earlier and given us options (take a different room, down grade to a cheaper room, or pay less for this one) but they did none of these things, nor apologize for the inconvenience.

As a loyal Hyatt customer who has spend hundreds of nights over the years at Hyatt hotels I can honestly say I've never run in to such indifferent management. I find Hyatt's in general to be quite well run. I'd already noticed over the last few days that this properly was not as well run as in previous years but an really disappointed about how poorly they have handled this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,633
    985
    432
    210
    108
See reviews for
800
1,639
39
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Beautiful resort with spacious rooms. Beds are really low to the ground though! Property is very well maintained and beautiful - with exotic birds, penguins, tropical plants and waterfalls. The restaurants are all excellent, but be prepared to pay big $. Valet service is $20 per day, or park your own for $15 per day. Only about a 7 minute drive to Lahaina. Walking path to all the other resorts on Kaanapali beach and 15 minute walk to the Whalers Village with lots of shopping and dining. You have a "rent" a chair and umbrella on the beach which I though was really wrong, but poolside is free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha CanadianCalgary_AB!

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed everything from your room, to the delicious food served at our restaurants. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us again!

Mahalo!

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We were at this hotel fir a conference. It was perfect for combining work with pleasure. We've stayed at several hotels along this beach in recent years and the Hyatt is the one we that our son (age 7) is asking to return to.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha MischelleDavis!

Thank you for taking a moment to share about your recent visit with us during your conference. It's great that you were able to schedule relaxation while you were at our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your family back with us. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

For the price that we paid for an Ocean View room, we expected more. The grounds etc are lovely, however the room and some public areas are looking quite old and dark, not what you would expect at a beach location. Also the swans and flamingoes in the gardens... not sure... a bit tacky? As another reviewer has mentioned, the bathroom door in our room barely cleared the toilet when closing, and our bathroom door had wood peeling off the bottom. Just looks a bit tired and could do with a big refurbishment. This is a huge resort, so it depends on what type of accommodation you like. If you like smaller, boutique style hotels, this is not the place. The pool area is packed with deck chairs, with people pretty much on top of eachother. Also, the beach right out the front of the hotel is not that great - it is much nicer about 10 mins walk up the beach path. The beach is wider, sand is whiter and the water somehow clearer. It is also a good 15 - 20 minutes walk to the Whalers Village where there are a few great restaurants (including the Hula Grill) and shopping. Some restaurants at the resort are quite expensive, as is to be expected ($8 for a half a papaya or some pineapple is a bit steep at the Halona Kai coffee bar for breakfast). However, all the staff that we encountered were great, very friendly, especially the staff at the Grotto bar, where they make a mean cocktail. We had a lovely dinner at Japengo - food was amazing and surprisingly the cost was quite reasonable for an upmarket dinner. If we went back to Maui, we would probably pick a less expensive resort which is a bit closer to the Whalers Village. Perhaps we were just spoilt after staying at The Modern in Honolulu... which was, very 'modern'! Sorry, but the Hyatt feels like it's stuck in the 70's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our second time in Maui and we had a wonderful time on our 20 wedding anniversay. We had ocean view room, it was spacious, we loved our room and the hospitality was outstanding. The staff was wonderful, helpful and genuinely cared if we enjoyed our stay. The swimming pool was great and although we dont have children the pool for the kids is wonderful. The beach area was also nice and loved the food. Loved the swans, penguins and the grounds were beautiful. The Luau is a must at this hotel. Loved in openous of the lobby you can look out over the resort and the ocean, absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha Anna S!

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our employees will be recognized for the great service provided during your stay. Often, we'll hear enthusiastic feedback with regards to the Luau. It's one of our most popular activities at our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us!

Mahalo!

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just returned from staying eight nights at the Hyatt Regency Maui. The hotel is 33 years old
but they sure keep it up nice. Very friendly staff. We stayed on a Club floor and the staff in the
club worked hard to make sure we had everything we needed. We are not big breakfast eaters
so the Club works fine, lots of fresh fruit and Bagel's etc. We had a Ocean Front room with a
great view. The only down side for me was the noise. It was over the pool and that wasn't so bad
but the two restaurants that border the pool had loud music until late evening. Private parties
were held right below our balcony . Three of the eight nights were bad, it went on until midnight.
That would not bother some folks but we like to rise early to walk the beach during sunrise.
I would return but I would request a more quite area of the hotel. The restaurants are $$$$.
The Luau was fun but the food was so, so. This hotel is very kid friendly.

Room Tip: Just think about what you like, I would choose a more quite area of the hotel. I would not do the L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon. Put simply, this is a beautiful hotel located in a beautiful part of the world. From our arrival to our depature we really enjoyed our stay.

The grounds are fantastic, the views are stunning, as are the pool and beach areas. We ate at all of the restaurants and had great food at each. Yes they are expensive but you get what you pay for and the service was second to none.

We saw no evidence of the hotel being run down, I guess some of the other guests were unlucky with their rooms or stumbled across issues which we just did not find. The one gripe we did have was the long queue for breakfast on some mornings, but you could tell the staff were working hard to get us in as quickly as possible.

We attended the hotel's Lu'au which was excellent (we thought the food could have been better, it was a bit of a random assortment but perhaps that is traditional) and the star gazing tour on the roof of the hotel. The latter we would not recommend. Although the guide (Ed) was very informative and a good story teller, we were hoping for a lot more time on the telescopes for the money we paid. It was a bit rushed. We asked if we could view a planet (Jupiter) at the end of our session but got a blunt response back that it couldn't be viewed (despite us being able to see it on the horizon) and that he had another session to prepare for. I think he could have gone the extra mile for 5 minutes to satisfy our curiosity. Suffice to say we didn't leave a tip on that occassion. As an aside, we would highly recommend the star gazing at Mauna Kea (Big Island), it's free, they have lots of telescopes set up and they have a large number of experts on hand to explain what you can see - superb!

The 5 stars we have given this hotel is reflective of our stay. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and were made to feel very welcome. Perhaps we had a unique experience as it was our honeymoon...I hope not as we would love to go back in a few years!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your honeymoon. We're thrilled you had an amazing stay with us. It's great to hear you enjoyed the luau as it is a favorite among our guests. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.