We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine On Sale
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights in June 2012 after spending a crazy 3 days in Vegas first, and we loved every second. The food is excellent, even poolside (the restaurant food is amazing, especially the sushi in Japengo), breakfast is what you'd expect from a high-end resort hotel.

We always managed to find space at the poolside wherever we wanted and the staff were always on hand to take drinks and food orders, which was excellent.

There's not much beach to talk about but it's really only a quick walk along the beach to find the main beach on the way to the Sheraton. Also if you've done your research then you know what to expect.

The reception staff were great - when we arrived we were on the ground floor and we weren't happy with that as we were concerned about security, but they moved us right away to a higher floor just above where we initially were. Great service.

They helped us to find things to do in the area, and helped us to book a car one day.

Rooms were a little on the older side, but you're in Hawaii for crying out loud, how long are you going to be in the room for apart from over night?!

This hotel has so much going for it, and being located where it is, with the amazing views it's hard to give it a bad review. The hotel was always clean and staffed by great people.

To get to Lahaina it's best to walk along the beach to Whalers' Village and get the bus for a dollar or so, which runs conveniently. The restaurants in Lahaina are universally great. Obviously seafood is the top bet - and Cheeseburger in paradise (twice!!).

You will not be disappointed in this hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floor with an ocean view, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha RobNewbury!

Congratulations and thank you for taking the time to share about your recent honeymoon experience at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the relaxing nights after flying in from Vegas. Our employees will be recognized for the great customer service they provided during your visit. Hyatt takes great pride with this. Your recommendation and referral are greatly appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for future anniversary celebrations!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    991
    436
    210
    108
See reviews for
804
1,644
41
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

If you do not travel alot, you will probably find it very nice. The hotel is showing some wear and is not 5 star. The service was good. The pools nice. The beaches down afew hotels towards Whalers Village are alot better.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Three days and nights of relaxation. Remote location yet close enough to Lahaina if you want to experience the town. Lots to do at the resort and nearby. Beautiful guest rooms, great restaurants. The staff was very attentive throughout the hotel. Paradise at its best.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Overall very nice rooms and a beautiful pool located right on the beach.

Pros
Nice rooms, lovely landscaping, great pool.
Hotel also has an assortment of trained birds on site which are a big attraction with the kids.

Cons
Very crowded parking lot with extremely small spaces. Suggest you don't rent anything larger than a compact if you are staying here. Parking is especially a problem in the evenings when quests from around the island come to the luau.
Limited chair and umbrella space around pool, need to stake out your place early in the day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for four nights in early October, and loved it. A special mention of thanks to Jeff at check-in and the lovely ladies in the Regency Club, whose advice was spot-on, and whose aloha we will always treasure. We were in the Lahaina Tower, with rock star ocean views and sunsets over Lanai. Lots of people complain that there is no beach right at the Hyatt, but we found the beach directly in front of the Moana Spa to be excellent and uncrowded. Also loved the pool's water slide and dinner at Sonz! Finally, I'd like to give a special note of thanks to the amazing (local) artisans who set up their tables for Drums of the Pacific.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I’m delighted to read that you had such a fantastic stay at our resort. I will let Jeff and the Regency Club staff know that you found their service to be very professional and helpful. I’m glad that you found the beach by the spa to be excellent. It sounds like you really enjoyed your ocean view room. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to your return in the future. Mahalo!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed with Hyatt about a month ago. Beautiful place to stay. My husband and I went to honeymoon about a month ago and I stayed with Hyatt. We were very excited to come to Maui and staying with beautiful place like Hyatt. (Hyatt has very good reputation in Korea. It is very luxury hotel and very service oriented)
We went to do some activity and came back to my room and I realized our money that we brought it from Korea was gone. We left it on the table and it was in white old envelope, and it was worth about $1000 in America. We were very nervous and started looking everywhere to find it but we had no luck. We ended up with calling security but it was hard for us to communicate. Luckily there was Korean manager who worked in the hotel. I believe his name is Erik. He assisted security guys and they were looking for money but still had no luck.Erik explained this doesn't happened in Hyatt and he apologized for inconvenience and he said security will contact housekeeper in case it got mixed up with trash or towels.
Next day, my husband and I were waiting for response. But no one follow up with us and told us what was going on with this incident. We were very disappointed. I understand that it was our fault to leave the money on top of table instead of cage box, but i thought at least someone would tell us what is going on. with frustration we were having lunch in Umelu? restaruant. That is the time when Erik came and turn everything around. He was asking us if we found money or if we got any call from security or housekeeping. We told him no and started telling him about our frustration. Erik said "it is not exceptional, there must be miscommunication. I will find out what's going on and i will be right back with you." After 30 minutes he came back, and explained us that housekeeping or security couldn't find anything. He apologized be half on the hotel, then he started entertaining us, bought us lunch and sent wine to our room.
I am not here to complain about my money, and I am not planning to get it back. What I want to mention to you is Hyatt is known for best service hotel in Asia but not here for sure... But after Erik came and helped us, I felt like I was back in Hyatt which is known for best service oriented hotel. I also work in the hotel industry in Korea, and that's what exactly you need to serve guest. He is the best guy you can get, I wouldn't come back if Erik isn't there. But just because of him I will give word to my friends and I will also re considerate to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I recently honeymooned here. The staff were all so lovely, the pool area was very nice, beach area wasn't great. We had to pay more for a room with a view and it was worth it as they allocated us a room overlooking the car park. Not generous with free upgrades for honeymoons, everyone is on there honeymoon. Lol. Would recommend.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Nicole1000:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. Congratulations on your recent wedding and honeymoon celebration. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed relaxing by our fantastic swimming pools. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for many anniversary celebrations to come!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.