We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in Hawaii” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine On Sale
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“First Time in Hawaii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I was so disappointed that we were not lei'd upon arrival!

The Front Office staff had them there behind the counter when we showed up with our suitcases. Was it not made clear that we were checking in even though we said that we were checking in? As if we were going to ask for them! By the end of the trip I was lei'd countless times so this is not a deal breaker. But if the Hyatt wants to call themselves a five star and they have the staff right there and the lei right there - and I say "Hi Im checking in" - they need to be on the ball.

The Deluxe Ocean View rooms are recently renovated and they do have a nice view of the sea, Lanai in the distance as well as lush garden-like grounds below. Ask for a room on a higher floor to receive the best view possible. These rooms are nice and tastefully decorated; not "too Hyatt" and not "too Hawaiian". Good large sized closet and robe, but no slippers. Private triangular balcony with table and two chairs.

The staff were nice and mostly from the mainland USA. For example, we met so many people from Boston, all wonderful and very friendly. The restaurants we tried at the hotel were too expensive and not very good. Even the breakfast buffet; not very good. Plus it is inescapably indoor/outdoor and therefore there are lots of birds flying around your food. (We had a delicious dinner at the Honua Kai down the beach, prices much more reasonable in comparable if not better location.)

The hotel is way to big something like 800 or so but it feels like thousands and thousands. Took me 10 minutes to hustle from my room on the 8th floor down to the main lobby area. But because the hotel is too big there are many shops including a large Macy's and everything you could require.

The expansive grounds are gorgeous, very well maintained, floral and lush. Meandering pathways, Asian Gardens and penguins. So many amenities here to choose from. A great number of pools - though not always open - and a groovy Grotto Pool Bar!

Valet was friendly; efficient.

One thing I must mention that truly impressed me: housekeeping.

We took the Haleakala Sunrise Volcano tour and had to leave the hotel at 2:30am. I was so happy to find my room had already been made up - upon my return to the hotel about 10:00am. Could hardly believe it! It makes sense though. People who take these tours do not like having someone interrupt them while they're trying to catch a few zzzz during prime maid service hours. Clearly the hotel listened and has found a away around this. Fantastic, well done!

Room Tip: Request High Floor for Best View :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    990
    436
    210
    108
See reviews for
804
1,643
41
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

By far one of most favorite hotels ever. Everything about this hotel is great. Service, Food, Pools, Bars, and Employees

Room Tip: Stay in the club rooms views are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Mahalo! We appreciate you taking the time to share your review. It's great to hear our hotel is one of your favorites. We work hard to ensure every aspect of our hotel is worthy of this kind of praise. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngtown
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

You listed the Sheraton Maui as one fo the top 10 pools - did whoever do that review ever go there??? It is a nothing blah pool - go downt he beach to the other end of Kaanapali and take a look at the Hyatt pool - waterfalls, bridges, cave bar; fabulous kids pool - this should have been on your list. !!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms - it is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
We're delighted to hear you enjoy our pools. The pools are a favorite to many of our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have travelled to over 40 countries and I can't understand how anyone can give this hotel a negative review. My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt from Feb 3-12th and absolutely everything was perfect!!!

We travelled to Maui with 54 of our closest friends and family to celebrate our wedding on the 8th! Only half the group stayed at the Hyatt but all we heard from our guests was how much they enjoyed the Hyatt! Not once did we hear a complaint, a testament to a truly outstanding hotel!

My husband and I were upgraded from ocean view to ocean front ( see attached pics) and we couldn't have been happier with our room. The rooms were much more spacious than we imagined, equipped with a fridge to store drinks and snacks and the lanai perfect for two! Most mornings we would sit on our lanai with our coffee watching the whale show below! Wow we must have seen 10 whales every day we were there!!

My Maid of honour and I visited the heavenly spa the eve before our wedding. Loved the massage and the thermal bath/steam rooms. I also worked out at the gym every day prior to our wedding and it was top notch! Love the little extras like cold face cloths and lemon water!

The Hyatt grounds are absolutely breathtakingly beautiful. We have visited some really nice places, from Asia to the South Pacific and we both agreed the Hyatt and the Kaanapali strip was one of the most beautiful areas we had ever seen, after 10 days I was still in awe!!

The pool is fantastic, the service top notch and many of the waitresses remembered my favourite drinks from day to day. Although the drinks were expensive we didn't find the pool side restaurant too pricey and the food was delicious, especially the tuna salad! We only ordered room service once to the room and although we loved our breakfast on the lanai, at $85 for two we only did it once as a morning after our wedding treat!

Many reviewers have complained about the beach at the Hyatt but after spending an afternoon at the beach in front of the Sheraton we all agreed that we loved the beach down our end better. Although the beach is narrower it was way less crowded, the ocean much calmer and just a more peaceful atmosphere with less people around.

We walked by all the hotels on the boardwalk and besides the Westin which looked very nice, we thought the Hyatt was the best looking hotel on the strip!

We have allready raved to all our friends about our fabulous stay at the Hyatt and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!! Thank you very much for a wonderful memorable stay and for all the little honeymoon extras we received at check-in.

Mahalo,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Congratulations on your nuptials! We're thrilled you had a fantastic time at our hotel. The spa has some amazing treatments and we're delighted you and your maid of honor were able to try it out. It's great to hear you enjoyed the many different food opportunities our hotel has to offer. Your recommendation is our highest compliment. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance. We hope to welcome you back for your anniversary!

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mainz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We just spent a week a the Hyatt in Maui with a three year old and we loved it! All of their rooms are well outfitted and spacious. Our favourite room was the ocean view room beside the kids pool where you could just walk out your lanai to the grass and take in the ocean sunsetting. Really convenient to go in and out all day long. The kids pool is fantastic for toddlers, you can really kick bac k and relax as they play in the sand, go on the slide, jump in all the little tide pools and all not more than in a foot of water. Together or with a life jacket you can venture under the waterfalls to the large pool, swim up to the bar or play some pool basketball. The kids menus were very reasonable and to their palates. We had a couple of dinners at Japengo but for fish/suishi I preferred hopping in the car and going to Roy's. The luau is one of the best if you want to take one in as well. For a more lively scene and cocktails etc I would head up to Whaler's Village. Lunch at Leilani's or the Hula Grill. Also before 7pm you can do a three course at Leilani's for a good deal. I liked their macadamia mahi mahi. Their desserts are a disaster. I also totally recommend to go down to baby beach in Lahaina, you can walk out forever it is so shallow!

Room Tip: Go for oceanview or ocean front. It makes all the difference to hear the waves crashing. Having a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We're delighted you and your family had a wonderful time at our hotel. Our hotel has a number of fun activities for toddlers and the whole family to enjoy and we're glad you were able to take advantage of a few of these. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester Essex UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Situated on a nice but small beach alongside a few other hotels and close to a shopping and restaurant area. The building is a bit austere with open air atrium "airport style" around which rooms and noise rise. Variety of pools suitable for families with young children , external areas were a bit tight when we were there as hotel was full. Reasonable size rooms but bath/wc small with separate vanity area. Sonz restaurant was very good for food quality and service, Two Swans breakfast ($30/head) buffet restaurant was also nice with ocean view and fish pools. Its an ok hotel suited for families and as we are a couple I would not use again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We just spent part of our honeymoon at the Hyatt Regency and would go back in an instant. We booked an oceanfront room and it was a TRUE oceanfront room. The view was wonderful, we could see the sunset, AND we could see several whales out in the water. It was awesome. Room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The front desk staff has to be commended for their HIGH level of excellent service. In particular, Jeff from the front desk needs to be promoted immediately. We have never enjoyed the high level of customer service he showed to us. We had had a not so great encounter in Lahaina with a crazy homeless man and Jeff made sure we received a gift basket to cheer us up and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. Thank you Jeff! Henry was also a great pleasure to talk to.

Loved how accessible and close the hotel was to the black rock beach, PERFECT for snorkeling, and to the Whaler's Village. Pool was great. We were down around 9am to the pool and got two seats right next to the edge. My own criticism was that the food prices were very expensive. $14 for a BLT sandwich and $18 for fish tacos, but they were definitely tasty.

We would GLADLY come back to this hotel. It was fun seeing all the different birds at the hotel and the hotel grounds were very clean.

P.S. If you're looking for something fun to do, make sure to go to the Dragons Teeth formation, about 10 minutes north from the hotel, near the Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Go Oceanfront in the atrium. It's close to parking and the view is TRUE Oceanfront room. Gorgeo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
I am honored that you chose to spend your honeymoon at our resort. I am glad we were able to be a part of your special occasion. It sounds like you really enjoyed your oceanfront room. We have some of the most breathe taking views. I will be sure to let Jeff and Henry know that you found their service to be excellent. Our staff wants to provide the most comfortable and memorable experience for all of our guests. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests enjoy exquisite dining, extensive recreation facilities, international shopping, a collection of asian & pacific art, unique wild life & nightly entertainment and Hawaii's only oceanfront spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.