We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kula View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kula View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kula View
600 Holopuni Rd., Kula, Maui, HI 96790   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Kula B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Kula View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Three of us stayed here. The Room is actually quite large and comfortable. The breakfast is good as Sue makes fresh baked goods and leave in the room for you for the morning. This location is close to the entrance of Heleakai Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

no need many words to tell you that you've to go!
the house is located in a very quiet and nature place. Sue is so kind and loves flowers.
The room is independent from the house and deliciously decorated. You get a nice breakfast and has all the facilities to prepare your dinner after a long day of walk.
You got WIFI and wonderful advices.
You also can get some fins for snorkeling and pulls-over for climbing the volcano. Don't hesitate, you won't regret your choice !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

due to the previous good reviews. The studio is ok, but needs to be renovated. Everything is very old and is run down. We found the studio to be clean. The kitchen appliances are satisfactory but a few more plates, a cutting board and a proper knife would be recommended.

There is a view, but through trees.

The owner Sue is friendly and brings your breakfast up to the studio the evening before. Breakfast consists of a small portion of fruit and a small portion a self baked sweet item (which were good).

The yard needs to be organized, it seems very untidy with stuff lying around.

We would recommend the Kula View only for one night to go up the Helakala or even look for another accomodation in Upcountry Maui.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

this is one room in part of the owners' house. it is up a flight of stairs. you get a little verandah and the room has a kitchenette and fridge. the owners dropped off breakfast the night before you need it, so it's all fresh, but a little more sugar and less carbs that I prefer for breakfast. you make your own bed and do your own washing up. It is in a residential area with nice views and is about five/ten minutes drive from restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Nice view for sure,pleasant comfortable studio but...First,when you arrive there is a pathologic accumulation of potted plants everywhere and I mean everywhere.All sorts of garden tools ,old toys and bins and there is no curb appeal there.Stairway and lanai badly need a fresh coat of paint.Patio furniture need new and clean cushions or a coat of paint as well.

When you enter the studio,it looks nice and clean at first.Sheets and towels are clean.Soon you realize that only the basic clean up has been done.Floor is clean around and between furniture but not under.Baseboards haven't been wiped for a long time. Every knob or door you touch is a bit sticky.Small appliances,travel mugs and dishes are as clean as the ones before you left them...as well as the warm clothes that you can borrow...So glad we came prepared and had our own!Shower floor and counter around the kitchen sink with traces of those before you and yes bugs.Small ants running on ceiling beam that is one thing but scaring away a cockroach when I moved the small compost bin on counter top that's another.

Sue is very friendly,serves good breakfasts and will packed it to go if you leave early to go see the sunset.She proudly says that she runs a B&B for 21 years.She is full of good intentions but unfortunately for us it wasn't enough...I'm very surprised that people seem to overlook the all over uncleanliness and felt somehow cheated.After all we do pay to stay there!I'm not a clean freak but I would not recommend this place unless Sue does a thorough clean up.21 years is a long time.

Whatever you choose ,don't miss Haleakala!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Kula View B&B is a wonderful place to stay. Your room is similar to a studio with a separate entrance, bathroom, fridge, micro, coffee maker, toaster oven, sink, dining set, several sitting seats, a desk, and your own private lanai. It is located on the 2nd floor with views of the mts and ocean (partial view). Susan's garden are full of native plants as well as plants from all over the country. She had several tall trees where birds happily chirp on. it felt like you were in a treehouse. Yummy breakfast of fresh fruits, banana bread, fruit juice and coffee. Plenty of blankets and thick jackets for sunrise at Haleakala Crater. would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: susan accepts cash & personal checks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, AL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer in this lovely place! We were surprised to find that our very private room had pretty views on all sides, including one of the ocean. There was plenty of space for the two of us, and we especially enjoyed our large balcony and all the pretty plants and flowers on the grounds. The unit was well stocked with everything we might need. It felt like we were staying with a very thoughtful friend. At our request, breakfast was delivered the night before. The fruit and muffins were yummy. Best experience: At dawn, lying in the comfortable bed, with the breeze blowing through the open windows, I was awakened by the most amazing symphony of bird song I’ve ever heard! I would definitely recommend Kula View, and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kula View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kula View

Address: 600 Holopuni Rd., Kula, Maui, HI 96790
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Kula View Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kula View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kula View to your Saves list