We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kula View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kula View
600 Holopuni Rd., Kula, Maui, HI 96790   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Kula B&B and Inns
Quesnel, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We found this bed & breakfast through TripAdvisor and have not regretted our selection. We are leaving here today for Molokai and hope our stay there (and on the other islands) will be as nice.
In response to some issues raised about cleanliness, breakfasts, and room services...
There weren't any critters that gave us pause. Yes, there are the traps for insects that someone mentioned--if there weren't, I'd wonder why. This is the tropics. There will be bugs and it appears Sue is vigilant about that issue.
We were careful to not leave food out and to wipe up the counters--we removed garbage if it contained food scraps. (For that matter, it is our practice to take our garbage with us each morning so there was never garbage sitting around.) I'm sure Sue would do it as a couple of times when she brought up our breakfast the night before, she would look to see if there was some she could take. So I'd say that is something she usually does.
She didn't make our bed because we always did. We do this in our own home so we do the same when on holiday.
There were ample clean towels. Two large bath towels for each of us, and two smaller bath towels as well. Plenty of kitchen cloths and wash cloths.
The room has everything we needed: coolers for our lunches, ice pack--two large beach towels. She has two very nice (heavy and warm) coats for when we made the trek up the mountain for sunrise. There is a nice coffee maker and plenty of very good coffee; a microwave and a bar-size refrigerator.
The bed is very comfortable. We like to have more than one sleeping pillow each, so we went to Costco and purchased a set which were quite nice for less than $15. (They may still be there when you come as we will leave them.)
Breakfasts: we always had fresh fruit (papaya filled with fresh sliced strawberries and/or strawberries and another kind of cubed fruit; or bowls of mixed sliced fresh fruit). One morning we had scones, other mornings--large muffins, banana bread, lovely [large!] cinnamon rolls--and a carafe of juice.
We wish we could have been here when the trees and landscape were in full bloom. The grounds and general landscaping could be described as "rustic" rather than "manicured"--if you want "manicured" then you will want to go to the resort. We loved the birds singing and the tropical feeling.
The view to the ocean isn't expansive, but if the weather permits, you get a glimpse. We liked the view from the terrace of the mountain.
The photos of the room Sue posted are accurate [the updated images; I think at one time I saw images of the place before remodeling...look for the new ones. Quite a difference.].
Sue is a thoroughly nice person who genuinely cares about her guests. We are glad we came, and would do so again.

Room Tip: Just know that this is NOT a resort. If you love (crave!) peace and quiet--this is the place. If n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

Loved the privacy of having a private entrance & our own deck. The kitchenette is nicely decorated & info on local restaurants & activities is provided. A great place to stay while doing Haleakala.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is a nice and cozy little place, great location if you're up for the sunrise at Haleakale. Yet I wouldn't recommend this place for those who want.. well, a minimum amount of room service. I didn't mind the bed not being made, but I was concerned that Susan didn't take out the trash daily nor provide clean towels for us. I'm sure she was happy to provide towels if we had asked, but we got in late and didn't want to wake her... Another concern is the bug problem. We saw two roaches during our stay, which is never pleasant.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We chose Kula View BB as our base for exploring Haleakala, which was only ~1hr drive away. The room was comfortable and had everything in it that you would need for day trips to Haleakala. There was a microwave, small fridge and a toaster over in the room. Free wi-fi. Relaxing cds with instrumental music or hawaiian songs. furnishings were new. She even had the 'the road to hana'-drive CD. TV was old and small, had like 3 channels (but we didn't have time to watch any tv). The bathroom was clean and there was a very nice-smelling coconut shower gel. However if you were a tall person then the shower might be a problem. The ceiling of the room was slanted and the bathroom was located on the low part of the slant, so is a bit low. Lots of mosquitoes outside, so every night it was always a mad dash from the car up the stairs to the room.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We loved being up high and away from the crowds. Everything we needed, and more, was provided -- even a CD with native bird songs, so relaxing. We were really looking forward to the Haleakala sunrise, and Susan packed a wonderful breakfast so we could get there in plenty of time. She even has the warm clothes needed to keep from shivering in the 4 a.m. frigid air. I felt really sorry for those from hotels who arrived, shivering, under a blanket. It's close to lots of sightseeing but what we really wanted to do was LOLL in the comfortable, attractive room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

The owner was super nice and as others mentioned thought of EVERYTHING for our Haleakala sunrise trip - she had our breakfast all packed and ready, and gave us jackets to wear along with mittens and everything. WE LOVED the room, very unique and charming without being overly "girly" as my boyfriend would say :-) You do feel as if you're in a treehouse. Great deal for those who want do to the Haleakala sunrise.

The only thing to mention is that this is CASH ONLY. We had to make a pit stop at an ATM to pay for the place, but otherwise, everything is perfect!

Room Tip: Need to call her to reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This was a quick hit for us - only one short night and we left at 5AM for the sunrise, but it was cozy, pretty and convenient for heading up to Haleakala. Close to our little Paia for a great dinner. Comfy bed, and everything we needed was right there for us - down to travel coffee mugs. The banana bread was wonderful and we traveled with it for days - still enjoying it as it turned more into a bag of crumbs than bread.
Would really recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kula View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kula View

Address: 600 Holopuni Rd., Kula, Maui, HI 96790
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Kula View Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kula View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kula View to your Saves list