We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, peaceful lovely location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kula View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kula View
Save
You added Kula View to your Saves list
600 Holopuni Rd., Kula, Maui, HI 96790   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Kula B&B and Inns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful lovely location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Loved the privacy of having a private entrance & our own deck. The kitchenette is nicely decorated & info on local restaurants & activities is provided. A great place to stay while doing Haleakala.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is a nice and cozy little place, great location if you're up for the sunrise at Haleakale. Yet I wouldn't recommend this place for those who want.. well, a minimum amount of room service. I didn't mind the bed not being made, but I was concerned that Susan didn't take out the trash daily nor provide clean towels for us. I'm sure she was happy to provide towels if we had asked, but we got in late and didn't want to wake her... Another concern is the bug problem. We saw two roaches during our stay, which is never pleasant.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We chose Kula View BB as our base for exploring Haleakala, which was only ~1hr drive away. The room was comfortable and had everything in it that you would need for day trips to Haleakala. There was a microwave, small fridge and a toaster over in the room. Free wi-fi. Relaxing cds with instrumental music or hawaiian songs. furnishings were new. She even had the 'the road to hana'-drive CD. TV was old and small, had like 3 channels (but we didn't have time to watch any tv). The bathroom was clean and there was a very nice-smelling coconut shower gel. However if you were a tall person then the shower might be a problem. The ceiling of the room was slanted and the bathroom was located on the low part of the slant, so is a bit low. Lots of mosquitoes outside, so every night it was always a mad dash from the car up the stairs to the room.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton nj
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We loved being up high and away from the crowds. Everything we needed, and more, was provided -- even a CD with native bird songs, so relaxing. We were really looking forward to the Haleakala sunrise, and Susan packed a wonderful breakfast so we could get there in plenty of time. She even has the warm clothes needed to keep from shivering in the 4 a.m. frigid air. I felt really sorry for those from hotels who arrived, shivering, under a blanket. It's close to lots of sightseeing but what we really wanted to do was LOLL in the comfortable, attractive room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

The owner was super nice and as others mentioned thought of EVERYTHING for our Haleakala sunrise trip - she had our breakfast all packed and ready, and gave us jackets to wear along with mittens and everything. WE LOVED the room, very unique and charming without being overly "girly" as my boyfriend would say :-) You do feel as if you're in a treehouse. Great deal for those who want do to the Haleakala sunrise.

The only thing to mention is that this is CASH ONLY. We had to make a pit stop at an ATM to pay for the place, but otherwise, everything is perfect!

Room Tip: Need to call her to reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

This was a quick hit for us - only one short night and we left at 5AM for the sunrise, but it was cozy, pretty and convenient for heading up to Haleakala. Close to our little Paia for a great dinner. Comfy bed, and everything we needed was right there for us - down to travel coffee mugs. The banana bread was wonderful and we traveled with it for days - still enjoying it as it turned more into a bag of crumbs than bread.
Would really recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We wanted to go up Haleakala for the sunrise while in Maui on our honeymoon but are not early risers, so we decided the best thing to do would be to camp out close to the volcano and not have to worry about traveling halfway across the island so early in the morning. Kula View was perfect- a clean cozy room in a quiet town. The breakfasts were great and Susan provided great instructions and recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kula View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kula View

Address: 600 Holopuni Rd., Kula, Maui, HI 96790
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kula
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Kula View Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kula View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.