We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem found upcountry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enchanting Floral Gardens

Enchanting Floral Gardens
2505 Kula Highway, Kula, Maui, HI 96790
+1 808-878-2531
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 22 things to do in Kula
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the botanical splendor of the Enchanting Floral Gardens. Nestled on the slopes of Haleakala at 2500ft, lies Maui's premier botanical paradise. With over 2000 species of breath taking tropical and semi tropical plants, some of which are endemic to the Hawaiian Islands, as well as many others from around the world. Spread amongst 8 glorious acres, the Enchanting Floral Gardens beckons photographers and nature lovers alike. Take the meandering path, and let the natural beauty of every step be your guide. A paradise within paradise. "In my nostrils still lives the breath of flowers that perished twenty years ago." -Mark Twain in Letters from Hawai'i
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A gem found upcountry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hopefully they will be opening soon. This place was remarkable and we certainly found ourselves enchanted by the variety of remarkable specimens to be found. While we originally intended this as a morning side-trip, it became one of the highlights of out visit to Maui.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Now apparently closed to the public”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

While this was a gem of a botanical garden that's off the beaten path, it now appears to be closed to the public. When we visited before Christmas, 2011, they were scheduled to close to the public at the end of the year. I believe they were hoping to find a new owner, but I would definitely check before planning a visit here.

The gardens themselves are an interesting collection of a variety of plants (not limited to Hawaii natives). Clearly a labor of love, the plants have grown a bit beyond the original designs. It is a delightful visual bounty with occasional gazebos and benches interspersed throughout to make a thoroughly enjoyable amble through the grounds.

The gardens present an intriguing opportunity for the right buyer. We were glad to have had the chance to visit before they closed to the public.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef E, Owner at Enchanting Floral Gardens, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Enchanting Floral Gardens, Kula, Maui.

Yes, the garden and property are currently closed and are undergoing an extensive rehabilitation. All of the wonderful tropical and semi-tropical plants, trees and vegetation are healthy and thriving. The intent of the rehabilitation is to prune old growth, redefine new growth, develop new areas and refresh the gazebos and buildings.

Completion and reopening of the garden is slated for November / December 2012.

We would love to have you back for a tour.
Please drop us a line at anytime and thank you again for the review.

Aloha,
Joe E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

A little bit off the beaten path and worth it. Amazing flowers and trees. Bring your camera and bug spray.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Truly Enchanting for Flower Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Beautiful garden to explore, and see various types of plants and flowers. Great photo ops. The garden is also a nice place to stop, leisurely walk and stretch your legs after the drive down from Haleakala. It can get hot in the middle of the day, so you may want to bring a hat or umbrella to shade yourself.

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkinston, MS
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden, but needs some tending”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

While we enjoyed the many unusual and lovely plants, we couldn't help noticing that the place needs some tending to. My friend is a gardener, and she said she would love to work here and help restore what was obviously a magnificent garden.

Visited July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enchanting Floral Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Enchanting Floral Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enchanting Floral Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.