We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place - very interesting for plant lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kula Botanical Garden

Kula Botanical Garden
638 Kekaulike Avenue, Highway 377, Kula, Maui, HI 96790
808-878-1715
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Kula
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Very nice place - very interesting for plant lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I visited the Kula Botanical Gardens during our recent trip to Maui. If you like plants (we both do) then it is a great place to spend a couple of hours. The gardens are laid out on the side of a hill so some up hill and down hill walking is required. But you should go slowly as there are a lot of things to see. The gardens contain a wide variety of native Hawaiian plants and a nice selection of proteas (exotic flowering plants from South Africa). They also have a couple of Nene (Hawaii's goose which is coming back from near extinction) While in this are you might also want to visit the AKL lavender farm (not just lavender) which is nearby or Kula Lodge for lunch (also nearby)

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    46
    25
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very peaceful waterfall!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Wonderful selection of orchids! The location is a beautiful backdrop for some of the more exotic plants and trees, my husband and I had ever seen. The bird of paradise are gorgeous! They have some plants that produce flowers that look like little fairies! I had to take several photos for my granddaughter!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fascinating sight for plant lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful plants. A lovely place to visit. No crowds, relaxing, good value. You might not enjoy it if you're not into plants, but I loved it. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Nice to visit while in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We visited the gardens just before Christmas after seeing sunrise at Haleakala. It's not terribly fancy but it was certainly well maintained for our visit. I think it's around $10 pp so it wont break the bank. Most of the gardens are viewed from paved pathways that were all neat and clean. The entire garden is on the side of the mountain so it all on a slope. Start at the low end past the gift shop, walk up to the top, then back down on different paths. Not hard to walk but would be tough on a wheel chair. Lot's of flowering shrubs, trees, an open orchid "house" and a few lookouts to the small adjacent "gorge" (big ravine). A few of the smaller paths are mulched for view of the less formal areas, some larger tree specimens, and the small water falls and stream (I believe it's pumped). The back of the Koi pond was covered with water lillis and the large koi will all swim up to you when approaching probably looking for hand outs.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Beautiful landscaping and views of the ocean, waterfalls, and flora.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kula Botanical Garden also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Kula Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kula Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.