We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wines are that great but the area is beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui's Winery - Tedeschi Vineyards

Maui's Winery - Tedeschi Vineyards
Hwy 37, P.O. Box 953, Kula, Maui, HI 96790
+1 808-878-6058
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Maui's Winery - Tedeschi Vineyards like an insider
Top Rated
$239*
and up
Small-Group Maui Tour: Haleakala National Park...
Ranked #9 of 22 things to do in Kula
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ulupalakua is home to Maui's Winery which offers one of the Islands' most enticing products - wines that carry the essence of Hawai'i, the spirit of Maui. Maui's Winery welcomes you to taste the fruit of the island in wines made from their 23 acre vineyard on the slopes of Haleakala, as well as the tropical wines made from the famed Maui Gold pineapples - all grown right here in Upcountry Maui. Visitors to Maui's Winery gather in the tasting room located in the King's Cottage, built in 1874 specifically for the celebrated visits of King Kalakaua, last reigning King of Hawai'i. Guests are invited to follow in the footsteps of Ali'i (royalty) and Paniolo (cowboys) on a guided tour of the historical grounds. A journey into Ulupalakua's illustrious past, a tour of the Makee estate, and a glimpse at the creation of Maui wines are all a part of the experience. Welcome to Ulupalakua... where the storied history blends with modern day agriculture, creating the perfect setting for the islands only winery and vineyard. Time Well Spent
pjpowers82
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wines are that great but the area is beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The wines are average, but the views and area are beautiful. You'll be extremely relaxed walking around. Stop across the street and get some pulled pork for lunch. It's worth the drive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    122
    80
    29
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wine goes bad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

there are no dates on there bottles of wine because they will sour after a period of time. I bought over 40 bottles to save in my wine celler every bottle was bad when I opened them. I tried maui splash, maui blanc, upcountry blush, @framboise( raspberry dessert wine ) all went bad. I gave my best friend 20 bottles to celebrate his 40th wedding aniversery and was very embarrised when he told me they were all sour . I tried my bottles and they were bad as well. My advice to anyone buying this wine do not ship it home drink it when your in hawaii.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ideal spot upcountry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The setting is very beautiful. It is worth a stop if you are heading upcountry. The Hula O'Maui wine is very good. I would buy it again. The staff is friendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Skip this place, don't even waste your gas money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

VERY very small. They shuffle you through like it's a cattle call. Did not stay for the tour as I was not impressed, and I know all about wine making to begin with. They give you two flight options to taste from. All but one sucked big time. The passion fruit was decent. I would not go as far as to say it was great. But decent. The stewards did not seem to know much, they acted as if they were reading from a pre-scripted note card on each wine.They lacked the education to do their job. They had a small gift shop with some wine accessories. Basically I find it to be a good stop on the way to Hana or the way back for a pee break. If you do happen to enjoy their wine, do not waste the gas and drive all the way out there. Pick it up at an ABC store and save yourself the trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I'll Skip It Next Trip...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If your just in search of a winery and don't concern yourself with the wine.... make the trek. Otherwise, save the gas, pick out a nice bottle at the ABC store and enjoy it on the beach - money far better spent.
The grounds are disappointing as vineyards go, wine is questionable at best and the facility is very small and un-appealing.
The wine steward's were knowledgeable but unprofessional. Overall all it just felt like you were being hustled through a tourist trap rather then enjoying a local crafted wine...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui's Winery - Tedeschi Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Maui's Winery - Tedeschi Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui's Winery - Tedeschi Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.