We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kula Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kula Lodge
Save
You added Kula Lodge to your Saves list
15200 Haleakala Hwy. Route 377, Kula, Maui, HI 96790   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kula
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I didn't stay here but made a stop here to eat and it was my favorite place in Maui. Great view, nce gardens, and the best brick oven pizza! They seem to use fresh ingredients right from their garden.

Stayed September 2011
Helpful?
Thank GB657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
oahu, hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great pizza, great view, high prices. We knew going in that this place would be expensive. We were hungry after doing the poli poli redwood loop hike and needed something… fast. A friend had recommended this place to us based on the view so we took her advice and checked it out. The view does not disappoint. The deck is beautiful with an amazing brick oven for the pizza (yes they really cook the pizza in it!). I literally took pictures in order to build this in my future dream home. The gardens around the restaurant/lodge are also stunning. Take your time to walk around a little after your meal. The pizza was delicious (margarita) but needed sauce (doesn’t everything??) and the server gladly obliged. The sauce was amazing as well. We also got the simple garden salad… simple yes…. But the dressing was nothing short of amazing. The drink prices are reasonable if not cheap (for Maui) and we got to try the Maui wineries pineapple sparkling wine (which the winery was out of when we visited a year and a half ago). Over all high prices for a great view and good pizza!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thriftingspaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I had driven my family around Kula visiting various places and decided to stop for pizza. It was delicious. The employees were friendly, and the service was fast. We also ordered their spinach salad with bleu cheese, macadamia nuts, strawberries, onions, etc. The salad was amazing.....

The prices were appropriate, and it was a beautiful restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in these cabins for 1 night as they were the only ones close to the Haleakala crater where children were allowed. The cabins are rustic but totally adequate for 1 night. They are double story but only 2 have a proper upstairs area with 2 single beds( Ekahi Chalet and Elua Chalet). There are 2 others with a ladder going up to a small area with a sofa bed (Ekolu chalet and Eha chalet). We stayed in Ekahi. There is plenty of room and a small balcony with good view. The heating is good and there is an alarm clock to get you up for the sunrise trip up the crater. You must park in the front car park to be able to leave at 4 am or so. It takes about an hour from this lodge. It is sub zero at the summit (in the middle of summer) at that time of the day so come prepared!

The best part of this hotel is the restaurant with spectacular views of Maui right to the coast. There are windows from roof to floor. There is also great looking seating outside but it wasn't open when we were there. We had dinner and then breakfast after returning from our summit trip.
Reasonably priced, good food, good service and brought the children colouring stuff straight away when we sat down. Loved it.

Room Tip: Choose Ekahi or Elua for family of four, or Ekolu or Eha as second choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stopped here for lunch while exploring up-country. The views from dining room were lovely. And the staff (ROY!) were extremely nice and friendly. Located higher up where there are lots of trees and birds, it is a great way to escape the hot sun and beach crowds! Outside dining is available too.

Did not stay here. Just had lunch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaneCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place has a restaurant with good eats, a beautiful view, and sits on grounds that are nicely landscaped. They also has a small market and art gallery. This was a nice stop to eat after going to the summit of Haleakala. We tried the pancakes topped with macadamia nuts and coconut cream syrup...very tasty! I'm glad that it was good because it is pretty much the only place to eat in the area, although I think I did see a cafe across the road. By the way, a nice surprise were the two Jackson's chameleons we spotted on the pines near the picnic tables.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eric2000f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
313 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We ate breakfast at the Kula Lodge on our trip down from watching the sunrise at Haleakala. The lodge sits several thousand feet above sea level on the side of Haleakala. The views are just unbelievable from the dining room. The breakfast was great. It was a bright, sunny, cool morning and we just loved it. We didn't stay at the lodge, but I would love too. One of the must do things on your trip to Maui is to go see the sunrise from the summit of Haleakala. And then another must is to stop at the Kula Lodge for breakfast. You will not be sorry.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank glhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kula
20.8 mi away
Travaasa Hotel Hana
9.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
13.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
3.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
11.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Maui Kahului Airport
7.9 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kula Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kula Lodge

Address: 15200 Haleakala Hwy. Route 377, Kula, Maui, HI 96790
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Kula Hotel Kula
Kula Lodge Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing