We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Elk Burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ulupalakua Ranch Store & Grill

Ulupalakua Ranch Store & Grill
Hwy 37, Kula, Maui, HI 96790
+1 808-878-2561
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Kula
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch
Description: When you come on up to visit us at Ulupalakua, you'll find it's not just about the drive. These days, it's about the food. "We're becoming a food destination," says Will Munder, Executive Chef of Ulupalakua Ranch Store & Grill. Mosey up to the counter, and you'll still find all the classic Ranch favorites, but the good stuff just got better. Now everything is made from scratch and as local as we can get it. The Ulupalakua lamb, beef and famous elk are part of our commitment to serve only meat from the Ranch or from Maui. And thanks to Upcountry's abundance. The bustling Grill gets crates of fresh local lettuce, onions, tomatoes, mushrooms, pineapple, herbs and more, every morning. Reminders of times gone by are everywhere inside the Ulupalakua Store, from the sepia-toned photos on the walls to the cowboy hats on the shelves. The Store is a happy place of simple things, good things. Our motto here at Ulupalakua Ranch is: "Happy People." Plain and simple.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy Elk Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A great stop if you are driving through the farm country around Kula. They cook your burger on an outdoor grill and you can sit at a picnic table to enjoy. Some fun, unique gifts in the shop as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    47
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“good burger fresh hot off the grill.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Burgers were great! nice to support locally grown/raised products. Fascinating history. Staff patient polite and helpful with directions and information.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ulupalakua hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The best Hamburgers in Maui that I've had so far - A great gift shop -
and on special events - the best ambience..
Definitely worth a stop on the way back from Hana -
or out for a Sunday drive..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STOP!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stopped here on our way back from the Hana Highway. While we did not eat here we did shop in the gift store for some truly amazing things for both us and as gifts to bring home to Toronto. The place was well decorated, the staff were both helpful and pleasant. They do sell drinks and ice cream to go. Across the road from the Winery!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula, Hawaii, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“cowboy country”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Its simple, fun, colorful, great for basic meat eaters and souvenir shoppers. I love the view and the basic, cowboy country ambience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulupalakua Ranch Store & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ulupalakua Ranch Store & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulupalakua Ranch Store & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.