We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unit 1220: Garden view room with a peak of the ocean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Vista Resort to your Saves list
Maui Vista Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2191 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unit 1220: Garden view room with a peak of the ocean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

As it is individually owned condominiums each unit is decorated differently. We had the luck to stay in this unit and it was more than we expected. Up-to-date technology (2 TV, ipod CD player) AC, fully equipped kitchen (with a rice cooker!), and basic amenities. Nothing lavishing as you would expect a 5 star resort but remember this isn't what you paid for! Instructions are listed out clearly for each piece of equipment. Would definitely love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Maui Vista Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for your review of unit #1220 at the Maui Vista. I am very happy to hear that this unit met your needs and exceeded your expectations. We do post photos and descriptions of all of our units on our website so if you are not able to book #1220 we may have something else that would fit your same requirements (including rice cooker!) We would love to have you stay with us again on your next visit to Maui. Please let us know if we can be of assistance to you.
Mahalo Nui Loa, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    64
    30
    21
    27
See reviews for
52
60
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in June 2012 in unit 1417. This is a two story 2 bedroom condo with two bathroom's. It was not cleaned before we got there. It doesn't look to have been painted in a very long time. The furniture is sparse but the beds were comfortable. The pool is very small but clean and when the sea waters got rough we were still able to entertain the kids. The cost was great as it was nice to have a home base since we didn't seem to sit still for long. The street outside the condo is very busy when you want to open the door at night to get fresh air you can't hear anything but traffic. However the beach across the street was a great break from driving everywhere. The second floor loft was warm all the time and we couldn't get it cooled down. Office staff was great. BBQ are nice. Pretty spacious inside. Good Cost

Room Tip: All 2 bedrooms are in a loft style. When talking with some owners they said the 2nd floor is always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal OAk, MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Maui Vista unit 3316 from May 1st through 21st 2012. It was out 5th trip to Hawaii and our second time staying in the Kihei area. Although Oahu is my favorite island, I cannot deal with the traffic so I come to Maui where traffic is light and beauty is abundant. Kihei is a centrally located beachside community where the best beaches on Maui can be found. Most of the accommodations are condos. Although each condo unit is of a different caliber prices can range from about $50 a night to $250 depending on the location, and whether or not you get a one or two bedroom unit. I literally look at hundreds of units on the web before I choose a spot to stay. I chose this until for a number of reasons: location, price, view, and décor. We rented the unit directly from the owner through VRBO.com. It cost $75 a night. I have rented condos with similar amenities for a much higher price. They were no more attractive or closer to the beach than the Maui Vista. The pictures on the website and YouTube video are accurate, if not understated. The condo had recently gone through a number of upgrades including new countertops in the kitchen and bathroom, as well as a new shower. I was especially impressed with the new shower. It has a clear glass floor to ceiling glass or wall, as well as a black polished stone floor. Towels are large are large fluffy and oversized. The kitchen was well stocked and even had a blender. The cookware is pristine, which is essential to make a good omelet. It was clean and very well maintained. In addition much appreciated was a wide variety of spices to cook with. We cooked most of our meals with food purchased from Costco. Often times using one of the grills that were available for each building. There was a pool, but we did not use it, as we prefer to swim in the ocean. The view from the lanai was beautiful. While I have read in other reviews the advantages of being in unit three, none have mentioned the beauty. Building three is more abundant with flowering landscape. Not only is there one flowering tree, but three, as well as hedges of hibiscus and other flowing plants. No worries, the trees do not block the peek-a-boo ocean view, but enhance it by providing a frame. , we did not try it. This condo gets a lovely cross breeze and does not need air conditioning. Although the owner told us it had a new energy efficient air conditioning unit would recommend this unit to anyone. It is in a convenient location and comes with all the extras to make an extended stay cost effective and convenient, as well as aesthetically pleasing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed two weeks at the end of March for a family vacation in a two bedroom / two bathroom suite at Maui Vista Resort. Although our unit was a bit dated in its decor (all units are individually owned and decorated/furnished) it was clean and functional with everything we needed. Cant really complain about anything. The pillows were clean but not very soft/kinda lumpy, so we picked up a couple soft ones for just a few dollars at a nearby Walmart that we just left behind when we went home. The views from our lanai/balcony were fantastic. The area was quiet and peaceful yet close to everything. The grounds were kept impeccably clean and tidy, security was on duty 24 hours, management at the office were helpful, friendly and informative. The location was perfect, directly across the street was a wonderful beach that was never crowded (easy to cross the street, low speed limit and crosswalk in front of hotel ) and within easy walking distance from many restaurants, shops and grocery store. The concierge offered a great deal of free advice about the surrounding area, points of interest and available activities or excursions. The pool areas (there are three) were small but clean and adequate and never crowded. The grounds were full of beautiful trees, plants and flowers as were all the surrounding areas. The large newer gas BBQ grills were always clean and easy to use. There are 3 double courts for tennis which we didnt use but looked in good condition. There is no smoking allowed in the condos, on the balconies/lanais or by the pools or anywhere on the grounds except in the designated smoking area set up with tables and chairs for smokers on a small grassy area just off the parking lot....and this area was also kept quite clean. I do not smoke but my husband smokes ....so occassionally we would take a drink and go to sit in the smokers area in the evening and there were often other vacationers sitting there having a drink and sharing stories about different experiences they were having on their vacation in Maui which was nice. We toured the road to Hana which was amazing, went on a whale watching cruise, took some surf lessons, had a luau dinner, drove to the top of Mt. Haleakala and to many of the surrounding areas and towns and spent some wonderful days on the gorgeous beach accross the street. We had a fantastic stay. We never had any trouble finding parking at the resort. We never had to wait long for an elevator. It was very easy to explore the entire island from this location. There is much to see and do all around Kihei and the rest of Maui. It is a beautiful island and we cant wait to go back again. It was a wonderful neighborhood, everyone was friendly, there were police everywhere we turned in the area but everything was peaceful while we were there, we went for many walks and we never felt unsafe. We would definately go back to Kihei and stay at Maui Vista again. There are many units available for rent at Maui Vista from many different owners and you can look them up on websites like vrbo and check out photos and reviews before you rent. I found the rates here very good for most units compared to others in the area. Some of the units that have had more recent upgrades or remodelling can be a little higher priced than the older more dated units but are still seem to be usually a good value. We met many other travellers on the grounds and everyone we spoke to who was staying at this condo resort seemed very happy with their accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I reserved directly with the owner Dorli and she was great. Very organized and made our visit to Maui effortless down to detailed instructions on how to get to the condo from the airport.

Everything was at the condo, beach towels,chairs,cooler, even toys for kids to play with on the beach. We were across the beach from Charley Young beach which is great. Not crowded and you don't have to drive to it.

The bed was super comfortable, the condo super clean.

Only complaint, nothing to do with our condo but with the front desk. These people hate their job, the lack luster service, and the fact the older lady was complaining openly to the younger girl about a condo owner was just so unprofessional. She didn't acknowledge my existence in front of her, just plan rude. If this is your first impression it would really ruin your trip. My advice, sign in, get your parking pass then proceed to your room. If you are lucky you can book a room with Dorli, check out her site. http://vacationinmaui.net/

Room Tip: Room 1424 - great for a family with kids, 2 large bedrooms with king size beds, or can make 1 bed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Maui Vista Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are not the management company for this unit, but we certainly are happy to hear that you had such a great stay at Maui Vista. Just like Dorli, our owners take pride in their units and want their guests to have the best possible stay. We have noted your comments about the front desk agents. These are not our employees, but we can pass your concerns along to the manager at Maui Vista. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have you stay at Maui Vista again. Mahalo, the management at Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

When we pulled up in the car, it was perhaps the most underwhelming experience I've had with first impressions as far as accommodations go in years. the key didn't work properly. The place was no well represented in pics on the Internet presentation. We were sandwiched between the loud highway only 100 feet away and the party-harders in the back. Don't bring a family to this place. Dirty. Loud. Tiny. No views. Not worth $140/night. Stay away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Maui Vista Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your feedback. We appologize for your unpleasant stay while at Maui Vista Resort. The Maui Vista is in a great location as it is just across the street from charley young beach, one of Maui's most popular beaches. There are three buildings on the property, building 1 being in the front nearest to the street. Each building has its own swimming pool and tennis courts. Though it is not clear who you rented your unit through, our website does have many photos of the property as well as photos of the inside of our units so our guests can choose the unit of their liking. Guests can also choose a unit in one of the back buildings to ensure there is no road noise. Being able to see exactly what you are going to get will help alleviate any surprises. Our website features many photos and descriptions to help our guests have the best vacation possible. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns. Mahalo, the management at Maui Condo and Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentine, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We chose Muai Vista because of the location, easy access to all the Kam beaches, and pretty much central in Kihei.
That being said, if you decide to rent from Paradise Vacations, be cautious. we originally rented a 1 bedroom with ocean views, after we had made deposit and received contract we were told that the unit we had reserved had been sold! They gave us a different unit with " garden views" this really means your looking at the parking lot.
We thought, okay no big deal, we don't spend much time there anyways.
When we got to our condo, it was FILTHY!! The shower curtain liner was so moldy I had to wash it immediately, there were cobwebs everywhere, and the carpet was stained and sticky. We put a large beachtowel on the broken down sofa so we could sit on it.
The hot water was lukewarm and only lasted thru one shower. We called to ask them to look at the hotwater heater. We were told that someone would come in the morning, and I think they did, they lukewarm water lasted thru both of our showers.
I did send an email to Paradis Vacations and was told that they didn't have time to clean the carpets, but if I wanted to leave the condo for a day they would come in and do it while I was there. Wait, what?! Where was I suppose to stay?
The condo did have comfortable beds, nice towels, decent linens. Also the kitchen was well equipped. They had some beach chairs, a cooler and beach towels, which was nice.
Overall the owners were trying, ( I think), but the cleaning service was definitely subpar. the best part was when they told us we had to be out by 10 a.m. to give them time to clean the unit. We saw some of the houekeeping "staff" while we were there. Thier cleaning equipment consisted of a mop, a bucket and whatever cleaning supplies they could fit in the bucket! I kid you not.
Next time I will stay at the Maui Banyan or Pacific Shores.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Maui Vista Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Aloha and Thank you for your feedback. We, here at Maui Condo and Home, were not your vacation rental manager, but we are truely sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at Maui Vista. All of our units are cleaned by licensed cleaners and each unit is inspected by one of our arrival inspectors before the guest arrives to ensure the unit is clean and in proper working order. We pride ourselves on this service and if a guest is not happy for any reason we will do everything within our power to remedy the situation. Maui Vista is a great property equipped with three swimming pools and six tennis courts and it is conveniently located across the street from one of Maui's most popular beaches, Charley Young Beach. We hope that you consider staying at the Maui Vista again. Our website does show photos and descriptions of all of the units we manage. Mahalo, the management at Maui Condo and Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Vista Resort

Address: 2191 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Vista Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Vista is for all visitors. Located right across the street from several crystal clear beaches with warm water and sand. We offer one and two bedroom condos with individual lanai's overlooking garden or partial ocean views. Each room including a full kitchen. We have amenities such as pools, tennis courts and BBQ areas. Come relax and enjoy Maui Vista Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Vista Hotel Kihei
Maui Vista Resort Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.