We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreaming of coming back..We miss you Dennis!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Maui Hill to your Saves list
Aston Maui Hill
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2881 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dreaming of coming back..We miss you Dennis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We were here in February and have been traveling ever since. We have yet to find anywhere that can even come close to our stay at Aston Maui Hill in all our travels. We were treated like family and its so rare these days to find a place like this. Chicago, New York,San Francisco...great cities and beautiful hotels but just don't leave you with the same warm feeling we got while we were here. It's almost six months later and my fiancee is scanning for flight deals so we can come back and do it all over again. If you are in Maui it would be a shame to over look this Hotel. Truly our favorite so far this year..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (thank you very much) for taking the time to write such a positive review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort to share with the Trip Advisor community. We are so pleased that your visit was so enjoyable, and that we were able to provide the aloha spirit so unique to our beautiful islands. It is guests like you who make our jobs here so worthwhile, and we would love to have you stay with us again. Please contact me directly so that I may personally ensure your next visit is every bit as wonderful. We miss you, too!!

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    145
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
188
118
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Good things:
The hotel room is big. There is BBQ grill box outside the hotel room.

Bad things:
The interior of the hotel room is old-fashion. The room is smelly. The air-conditionar is noisy.

The worst of all, there was no cleaning after we use the kitchen!!
How come?!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort. We value all feedback in our constant striving to improve guest satisfaction, and I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that had your concerns been brought to my attention during your stay, I would have immediately rectified the situation to your satisfaction. Should you decide to return to our beautiful island in the future, we would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again so that we have a chance to provide the memorable and positive experience we are known for in the industry. Please contact me personally if I may be of service to you.

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just returned from another great stay at the Maui Hill (6/25-7/2). This was our 4th time there. We are timeshare owners and swap our week for the Maui Hill whenever we can. While it is most definitely an older property, it is well-maintained and fairly recently renovated (as was the unit we had back in 2010 as well). I will say as I did in 2010, the renovations are very nice (tiled bathrooms, granite countertops for bathroom sink areas and kitchen, tiled flooring in kitchen/dining area/bathrooms, newer carpeting for living room and bedrooms, island style furnishings) and made for a comfortable homey feel.

We also love the location of the Maui Hill. It's at the quiet end of Kihei, just a stone's throw from the upscale hotels and shopping of Wailea. But, most importantly, it's 1/10-mile from our favorite beach: Keawakapu. Just make a left out of the driveway and you'll come to a gravel parking lot on the right. Also close by are the Kamaole Beach Park beaches. Kamaole III is the closest, but Kam II is also nearby. Guests with young children and/or older adults will want to drive to any of these beaches, but just know that they are very close by and are all nice beaches.

Maui Hill's pool area is both popular and inviting. Nice views from the pool area. And there is also a hot tub as well.

Important to my husband and me is the tennis court; it is well-maintained and has a nice location on the property. I love that there are palm trees surrounding it.

I also want to acknowledge Maui Hill's manager, Dennis Costa. He is very hands-on and always wanting to make sure his guests are enjoying their stay. The front desk staff, in general, were all very friendly and helpful. I don't recall his name, but the tall man with the deep voice did well in recommending Shaka Pizza to us.

The Maui Hill is a good, solid choice for a condo stay on the quiet end of Kihei, but still close to a wide variety of restaurants and shopping. I will be glad to elaborate on these things if anyone would like to contact me.

As always, looking forward to going back to the Maui Hill next time we go to Maui.

Room Tip: Request an ocean view, which are units towards the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (thank you very much) for taking the time to write such a wonderful, detailed review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort to share with the Trip Advisor community. We are honored to hear that our resort is your timeshare destination of choice, as we know that guests have many choices with respect to accommodation on our beautiful island. We are so pleased that we were able to once again provide a positive experience for you and that you enjoyed your time with us. I will most certainly be happy to pass along your glowing comments about the staff at our next team meeting, most notably to Sia, the front desk clerk you made special reference to in your review. We truly appreciate your return business, and would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again. Please contact me directly so that I may personally ensure your next stay is every bit as memorable and enjoyable as this one.

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at Maui Hill. Our 2 bedroom condo unit had all the basics (stove, fridge, microwave, dishwasher, washer and dryer). We had to pay $2.50 per day for usage of the safe. It was a decent sized safe and fit two iPads, two laptops (diagonally), and our travel documents. This is an older property so no stainless steel appliances. There is a nice pool and the staff were all nice and polite. We found a few things wrong with our unit the first night and they were fixed immediately. It was appointed with all the necessary pots, pans, dishes, utensils, etc. Very good free WIFI (no issues at all) and free parking. No work out facilities but there is a swimming pool, hot tub, putting green, tennis court and shuffle board. The gardeners were always out working on the property.

I noticed that the box springs were sagging onto the floors. Hopefully, they have the budget to do some upgrades of the beds in the near future. I would have preferred nicer sheets on the beds, more comfortable beds and a newer, modern decor. All in all, a pleasant stay in a large sized unit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort. We are so pleased that you found your stay pleasant and that overall we were able to provide a positive experience for you. Rest assured that had your concerns about the beds in the unit been brought to my attention during your stay, I would have immediately rectified the situation to your satisfaction. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again should you decide to return to our beautiful island in the future. Please contact me directly so that I may personally ensure your next visit exceeds your expectations in every way.

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The staff was friendly and attentive to making our stay comfortable. Centrally located. The room was large and open. Lots of sunshine and fresh air. The kitchen area was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. Because the restaurants are so much more expensive, we did most of our meal preparation at the resort. The bed was comfortable but the pillows needed to be replaced. The room was very clean throughout. The television was large and there was free internet connections in every room. The only thing that was negative to us was the unit A.C. unit that ran continually which bugged us. We still would choose to stay here again. The grounds and the pool was inviting and we enjoyed every minute. There was free fruit waters at the office. Small but worth grabbing a little drink on your way to the pool. The beaches nearby had ample parking areas and were very nice. We recommend Aston Maui Hill! We would have given it 5 stars had the A.C. and furnishings been updated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort to share with the Trip Advisor community. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that overall we were able to provide a positive experience for you. Rest assured that had your concerns about the pillows and the air conditioner in the unit been brought to my attention during your stay, I would have rectified these concerns immediately to your satisfaction. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again should you decide to return to our beautiful island in the future. Please contact me personally so that I may ensure your next visit is every bit as enjoyable as this one.

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A group of about 50 family and friends stayed here recently for my cousins wedding. The location was great and the views were amazing. All of the rooms were very large but had different extras to offer as they are owned by different individuals. We had a huge deck with an amazing view. My only complaint was that housekeeping came very late in the day which can be a problem when you go to the beach in the AM and then need to shower for the evening. All in all it was a great place and I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (thank you very much) for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort. Thank you also for choosing our resort for such an important family event; we are honored to have been able to host the family during your visit to our beautiful island. We are so pleased that we were able to fulfill your expectations, and we thank you for your valuable feedback regarding the timing of our housekeeping service. This will be brought up with our Executive Housekeeper as we are constantly striving to improve guest satisfaction. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again; please contact me directly so that I may personally ensure your next visit is every bit as enjoyable as this one was for you.

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Third time at this property. Management friendly, rooms ample and clean. Great houskeeping folks. Beautiful grounds and amenities. Highly recommed. Ample parking and security. Beautiful views of the Pacific. Wonderfully located between Kihei and Wailea. Your travel dollar is absolutely well spent at Maui Hill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (thank you very much) for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Aston Maui Hill Resort. We sincerely appreciate your return business as we consider returning guests to be our biggest reward and compliment. We are so pleased that we were able to provide a positive experience for you, and that our property fulfills your every expectation. We would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back again the next time you visit our beautiful island. Please contact me directly so that I may personally ensure your next visit is once again an enjoyable, memorable one.

Sincerely, Dennis Costa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Maui Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Hill

Address: 2881 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Hill)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great ocean views with warm aloha service. This private oasis, just minutes from the premier resort area of Wailea, offers extra-spacious condos with private lanais, and the amenities and activities of a hotel in a tropical setting. Golf, shops and dining nearby. A perfect alternative to more expensive Wailea super-resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aston Maui Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Hill Hotel Kihei
Maui Hill
Resortquest Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.