We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than last year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Hill

Save Saved
You added Aston Maui Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aston Maui Hill
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2881 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off with #AstonLife
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Carrollton, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Better than last year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went back to Aston Maui Hill about the same time we went last year. WOW!! Tennis courts resurfaced...pool redone....absolutely wonderful. When we booked our trip, I called out there to see if we could have Unit 1 again. "Mr. Hires, we're gonna make it happen for you!" was the reply. Once again we were treated royally. The staff was great as always and we were easily granted a late check out. We are now in the every year mode here. Great price, great location and wonderful views of the sunset from our lanai. For the adventurous, take the West mountain drive around Kapalua. Thrilling views and a road that makes the Hana Highway look like 4 lanes.
Also we took the ferry to Lanai from Lahaina for a day trip....great side trip. Loved the Garden of the Gods and the beach there and Shipwreck Beach. Manele Bay has great snorkeling. Made some great memories again.

Room Tip: Always ask for Unit 1... it is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to write a review of your return stay here with us at Maui Hill Resort. Having guests return year after year because they consider our resort a “home away from home” is the best compliment we could ever receive. As our goal here is to provide unparalleled customer service and to be the #1 resort choice of guests travelling to Maui, we are so happy to hear that we have been able to provide a memorable experience for you. We will be sure to pass along to the owners of Unit #1 that you really enjoyed their unit, and we would be happy to accommodate your request to stay in this unit in the future. Please contact me personally if I may be of service to you.

Sincerely,
Dennis Costa, General Manager, Maui Hill Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    138
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
175
107
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our second stay at this property. The wife likes this place for the views and location in Kihei. The accomidations are very roomy and open feel. Nice pool and staff for help. They also have BBQs for use near the units.

Room Tip: Online gives a helpful hint on those units with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to write a review about your second stay with us at Maui Hill Resort. We truly appreciate your return business, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation. We would love to have you come back to stay with us again should you decide to return to Maui in the future. Please contact me personally if I may be of service to you.

Sincerely,
Dennis Costa, General Manager, Maui Hill Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Maui Hill resort is a combination time share/rental property.

We arrived at approximately 10PM and had an easy check in. The property, however, is quite dark. When the agent said simply to look at the numbers on the units... well. that doesn't work. There is no way way you can see the unit numbers from the road!

We stayed in a two bedroom. The unit was spacious and clean. A plus is the large lanai which runs the length of the living room and master bedroom... very nice!

It was a pain, though, to have to open and close the regular and screen doors every time we arrived or left. In addition, all the doors were old and the screen door had to be forcefully opened each time. My sense was that the resort had not done any renovations or updates in recent years,

Activities were virtually non-existent. The only one I could find was a lei making class that no one signed up for. The pool was standard, nothing to write home about.

With all the negatives, however, the total experience was positive. The grounds are well maintained, the units are large and the lanais exceptional.

Room Tip: By all means ask for an upper unit. Those on the bottom have virtually no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Maui Hill Resort. While we’re pleased that your overall experience was positive, please allow me to personally apologize that not all aspects of your experience met your expectations. Rest assured that had your concerns been brought to my attention, they would have been rectified immediately. As our goal here is to provide unparalleled guest satisfaction, we welcome all feedback from guests in our ongoing efforts to improve the service we provide. We would like to take this opportunity to address some of the issues you brought forward. All units at our resort are constantly undergoing maintenance as needed, however, the humidity of our islands does occasionally cause screen doors to swell and thus are harder to close. We do have a dedicated Activities Director in our office who is happy to provide information and make bookings for many activities on the island, so it’s unfortunate that you were not made aware of this service. We have recently installed new signage to facilitate guests finding directions to units from the road; however, we thank you for your suggestion to improve the lighting for the convenience of our guests. We know that Maui offers many choices for accommodation and we truly appreciate your business. Should you ever decide to visit our beautiful island of Maui again in the future, please contact me personally so that I may ensure your next stay with us is positive and memorable. I would be happy to arrange for you to stay in an upper level unit, if so desired, so that you may enjoy the ocean view.

Sincerely,
Dennis Costa, General Manager, Maui Hill Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pincourt, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were three couples that stayed at the Maui Hill from Oct 11th to 20th and loved it. From the grounds to the front office staff to the parking availability to the actual 3 bedroom condo, nothing disappointed! The ocean view from the main (huge) lanai is beautiful - we'd eat breakfast out there every morning and watch the boats heading out to Molokini!

The condo itself was a very happy surprise. I wasn't sure what to expect since web photos always look better than reality but what we got was exactly what was represented. We had three separate bedrooms and three bathrooms each with it's own shower/tub. The condo is very well maintained and super super clean. Did not see a speck of dirt or bug or stain or anything that looked like it needed cleaning or repairing.

It is very spacious and well thought out. We each had an AC unit in our room so we could adjust the temperature according to how each couple liked it. As well, we each had a separate balcony (lanai) off of our room so it was nice most nights to sleep with the patio door open and get the nice breeze through the room.

There's a radio with a iPod docking station, a TV, DVD player, washer/dryer and all the kitchen appliances needed. They also had 6 beach chairs and 3 parasols in the closet for us to take to the beach and use for our trip. Very nice addition and very useful!

There's a fully stocked kitchen with all the plates, glasses, utensils, and anything you can think of that you'll need which was great. We had our breakfast here most days and dinner in a few nights as well. BBQs are spread across the resort and were very convenient.

The resort has one timeshare section and one rental section so we met many people that were in the timeshares that come back year after year and only raved about the place. I can see why.

I would not hesitate to return to this great little gem of a place that is well located and well priced.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Maui Hill Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation, and we thank you for choosing our resort. As we pride ourselves on providing unparalleled guest satisfaction, friendly service, and the unique hospitality known as the aloha spirit of our beautiful islands, it is wonderful to hear that we have been able to provide a positive and memorable experience for you. We will certainly pass on to the owners of the unit you enjoyed that it surpassed your expectations. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort should you decide to return to Maui in the future. Please contact me personally if I may be of service to you.

Dennis Costa, General Manager, Maui Hill Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I went to Maui to dive the clear blue waters! We got more than we expected by staying at the Maui Hill. The accommodations were spacious, clean and convenient. The internet access in the room was appreciated. We utilized both balconies AND everything was very clean. The best part was being right across the street from the beaches and the activities director scheduled all of our dives out of the Kihei Boat ramp.....so we were able to walk five minutes to get to all of our boats. It was fantastic. We really appreciated the fact we could use the propane grills in the evening to grill our dinner.
Great hospitality, very friendly staff and very convenient location to beaches, shopping and wonderful places to eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at Maui Hill Resort. We truly appreciate you choosing our resort and writing such a detailed, thoughtful review to share with the Trip Advisor community. As we endeavour to provide unparalleled satisfaction and a memorable experience for all our guests, we are so pleased to hear that your vacation with us exceeded your expectations. We will certainly pass on your positive comments to the owners of the unit you stayed in. We would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again should you return to Maui again in the future. Please contact me personally if I may be of service to you.

Dennis Costa, General Manager, Maui Hill Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

For our vacation, this year we decided on going to Maui. After reading several lodging reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to book a package and stay at Aston Maui Hill. I chose this site mainly on the reviews complementing the property manager Dennis Costa. Everything that was stated was true and even more. Dennis made us feel at home and the staff was superb. The beach was just across and we were close to everything. The room was to die for see photos. We has such a wonderful time, we extended our vacation and additional day. We will definitely return next year, twice in May and again in September.
Johnny and Renee B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
A sincere “Mahalo” (thank you) for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Maui Hill Resort. We strive to ensure the utmost satisfaction of all our guests and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation. We will certainly pass on to the owners of the unit you stayed in that it felt like a “home away from home”. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your lovely wife, and we truly welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again when you return to our beautiful island in the future. Please contact me personally if I may be of service to you.
Dennis Costa, General Manager, Maui Hill Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

for our trip to Hawaii we asked for an ocean view room for our party of 6. At check in they gave us a first floor room with no ocean view. When asked to change they said they did not have any availability for the room we booked for. Personnel at desk was not able to settle the matter with us since the manager was not on duty (it was a Sunday) at the end they paid in cash the differnce between the two rooms.
Apartment was clean and confortable, air conditioning was really noisy and we were missing shades on the windows. No direct access to the beach: walking path down the hill to the beach it was not advisable with kids and older persons due to the sun shinining on your head and the road to be crossed. There sure are better places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis C, General Manager at Aston Maui Hill, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Please allow me to personally apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that had this issue brought to my attention, it would have been rectified immediately to your satisfaction. Our goal here at the Maui Hill Resort is to not only meet but to exceed the expectations of all guests, as we know Maui offers many choices for accommodation and we truly appreciate your business. As we are constantly striving to meet our goal, we welcome any feedback during your stay so that the issues may be dealt with right away. The issues you have brought to our attention have been addressed with our maintenance department, but unfortunately too late for your enjoyment. Should you ever decide to visit our beautiful island of Maui again in the future, please contact me personally so that I may ensure your next visit stay with us is positive and memorable.
Sincerely
Dennis Costa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Maui Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Hill

Address: 2881 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Hill 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great ocean views with warm aloha service. This private oasis, just minutes from the premier resort area of Wailea, offers extra-spacious condos with private lanais, and the amenities and activities of a hotel in a tropical setting. Golf, shops and dining nearby. A perfect alternative to more expensive Wailea super-resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Aston Maui Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Hill Hotel Kihei
Maui Hill
Resortquest Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.