We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Maui Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Maui Hill to your Saves list
Aston Maui Hill
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2881 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

A great stay here. Very nice grounds, lush! Little newts running all over the place, that too cool. Nice flowers too. I really thought the security at the entrance was a great touch. Very clean rooms, everything worked. Price was average for the area. I would stay here again for sure

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    152
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
205
128
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Located just past all the crowds of Kihea it is very relaxing We have a 2 bedroom ground level ocean view room. I am sure the views were better from the top floor, but enjoyed our large lanai with a view of Lanai and molokini. We were in unit 43 and our lanai was very private, as it overlooked the back of the property with no walk ways. Very close to a set of stairs that lead to the street, which made it very convenient to walk down and across to the boat dock for early morning diving trips. Is also a short walk to the beach and 5 Palms restaurant which offer happy hour from 3-7, with 1/2 price appetizers and beautiful views of the ocean and the sunset.

The unit is very large and clean, with a well equipped kitchen. The beds are comfortable and as were the pillows.

Room Tip: Top floor in the same building as unit 43, beautiful view, private lanai and not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is my fourth stay at the Aston Maui Hill and I love it more that the first time.
The grounds are fantastic and perfectly kept, the gardens are really well kept this resort is huge but you don't realize, every unit has its own privacy, the buildings are built in a way that when you are on your big lanai you have the feeling to be alone in your own home (this is the feeling I like the most..it's home...).

My unit this year was completely refurbished, one bedroom, two bathrooms, one kitchen with everything you need, one big lanai from the living room and a small one from the kitchen, and one extra bedroom in the loft - plus everything you need to feel comfortable.

From the living room lanai we could see the sunset on the ocean, and ours was not an ocean view unit, therefore when you rent a condo you have all those amenities, but what really makes the difference at The Maui Hill is the fantastic staff & management, the space, the fact that the resort is slightly above the sea level, the comfort of the units and the overall atmosphere that makes you feel home.
The swimming pool is not small and is absolutely clean, it’s perfect when you return from your tours or beaches in the afternoon.
Kihei is a perfect location on the island, it’s convenient for almost everything, Pilani highway is a couple of minutes away from AMH, you have restaurants, grocery stores, Foodland and also Safeway at the Pilani Plaza where you can find some stores and some restaurants.
I love this restaurant 808 bistro in South Kihei, very good quality of food and reasonable prices.
You will enjoy Aston Maui Hill and Kihei, years ago I used to be fond of Kaanapali, not any more now I love Kihei.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

What a great resort. Rooms are super clean, and very spacious. The service is outstanding and management is on top of things. Highly recommend this place for anyone interested in visiting Maui. Great price for the quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Maui Hill for a week and what a pleasant surprise to find this gem in Maui.  When we drove in, we were not sure, after getting into the room, wow, what a nice place, we stayed in a 1 bedroom unit.  Not even 15 minutes from Kahului Airport. 

The unit was incredibly spacious, with enough room for four people to enjoy comfortably. The large lanai is definitely a selling point which is great for enjoying coffee, checking the email and seeing and hearing tropical birds. The kitchen was stocked with equipment needed to cook and we appreciated the washer-dryer, ironing board, and dishwasher in the unit. The decor was nice, with HD tv we had boogie boards and beach chairs plus beach towels.  The pool is also nice and well maintained.  Surrounded by luscious tropical greenery of pal trees, coconut, banana and flower plants.

The location is excellent, walking distance to the beach and close to shopping and restaurants, without being in the middle of nowhere.  Close and walking distance to a beautiful beach with life guard.  This is in Kihei and about 30 minutes from Lahaina/Kaanapali and Wailea is right next door.  There is a 24-hour Foodland is a short drive away and with you cell number, you can set up a discount rate on food.

We got it from our timeshare but it is also part of Aston Hotels. great hotel compared to he lousy stay at the Imperial Vacation Club in Waikiki.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends for a few nights for a wedding. We had two two-bedroom, two-bathroom units, so I was able to see more than one unit.

The units themselves were incredibly spacious, with enough room for four people to enjoy comfortably. The large lanai is definitely a selling point as others have pointed out -- great for enjoying coffee and a good book. The kitchen was fully stocked with equipment needed to cook for ourselves and I appreciated the washer-dryer, ironing board, and dishwasher in the unit. There were some differences between the two units, but mostly in decor and unexpected bonuses (one unit had boogie boards!).

We did not use the condo complex facilities that much, but we definitely appreciated the beach towel service so that we didn't have to constantly worry about dirty, sandy towels. The location is excellent -- walking distance to the beach and close to shopping and restaurants, without being in the middle of the high-end resort or shopping areas (which I don't personally enjoy). There is a 24-hour foodland a short drive away.

In all, a great stay for those wanting a more independent and affordable alternative to overpriced hotels

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dupont, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Maui Hill 9 times now and love it every time. Our first time here was also our first time to Maui and we didn't know how to compare Maui Hill to other condo resorts. Having explored many other south Kihei condo resorts, we now have a good idea how it stacks up. It stacks up well. What Maui Hill is not, is a five start resort hotel complex. If you are looking for a five star beach front resort experience where the staff knows what you want before you do, then stay at the Grand Wailea or Four Seasons (You will pay $600-$1000 a night with no kitchen).If great 4 star service in a condo at a great price is what you are looking for, then Maui Hill is it. Complex is set amongst well manicured landscape across the street and down a block from Kamaole 3 beach. It is a short walk to the Wailea resorts and their great beach walk and beaches. Service is always solid for us. One major benefit to Maui Hill over other condo resorts in the area that we have stayed at is the large lenai's. Some places like Kamaole Sands have tiny lenai's where you can barely fit two chairs and a small table. At Maui Hill you have room to stretch out on a couple of chaise lounge chairs with a nice view down to the ocean plus a table with four chairs if you want to sit outside for dinner. The rooms are larger than other places too. Nice pool, tennis court, shuffle board, put put golf etc. Plus a weekly free Mai Tai pool party to meet other guests if you are the social type. All around just a very relaxing mid range place for those who want to spend less then $300 per night (We paid $180 this time). Wailea feel at Kihei prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Maui Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Maui Hill

Address: 2881 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly ResortQuest Maui Hill)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Maui Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great ocean views with warm aloha service. This private oasis, just minutes from the premier resort area of Wailea, offers extra-spacious condos with private lanais, and the amenities and activities of a hotel in a tropical setting. Golf, shops and dining nearby. A perfect alternative to more expensive Wailea super-resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Maui Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Maui Hill Hotel Kihei
Maui Hill
Resortquest Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Maui Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.