We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful condo in an excellent location for exploring Maui” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palms at Wailea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palms at Wailea to your Saves list
Palms at Wailea
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3200 Wailea Alanui, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #18 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful condo in an excellent location for exploring Maui”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here (family of 2 adults and 2 kids) for 6 nights in October 2012 and we absolutely loved it.

The condo itself was a private rental and had 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms and everything we could possibly need, including snorkelling gear and a fantastic gas BBQ.

The condo was spotless and well appointed with the kitchen having absolutely everything. It was a huge treat to be out and about all day and then come home exhausted for a swim in the lovely pool and to have a home cooked dinner.

The Palms doesn't have a restaurant but should you choose to eat out, there are many top notch and expensive restaurants in the resorts near by.

Wailea is perfectly placed for touring Maui and we visited many beaches, including the spectacular Makena Beach. The North shore is an easy 35 minute drive away and we loved the road to Hana.

I can see why the Palms may not be an ideal choice for a young couple who want to be out in the evenings as it is very quiet with no real night life but for a family or those seeking a little R and R, it really is perfect!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    103
    26
    23
    7
See reviews for
103
81
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed this resort for honeymoon in September this year and realized that my wife's diamond wedding ring was missing. She left the ring on the sink top in the master bathroom. We called the reception at the night that we found it is missing, and the reception told us that the manager will call you to help next day. The next day was my departure date to another island and the manager told me to call the police and he can not handle this by himself, but only police. Also he told me that that nanny has been working for 17 years at the resort, but what does the 17 years working period do anything with the burglary??? We did police report right before flying to another island. So far I have not received any info from the manager, but the police department told that it is hard to do investigation because there is lack of evidence and witnesses.

It is part of our fault because we did not put the valuables to the safe box provided. But I highly suspect the room service (maids) that I had a day before I found the ring was missing. I am really a cautious person and check all the doors and windows close before I went out my unit. It totally screwed and ruined my honeymoon. Dear the room service or the thief, you luckily took the ring because you think it was so cute or would fit to your daughter or for selling, that ruined entire my honeymoon and made it nightmare. It is not for money, the wedding ring we lost can not be substituted.

I am sharing this information because I do not want anyone having the same problem at this resort. We still have been feeling anxiety and bad impression from Maui and the resort and will not forget this. I am not going to stay at this resort again, of course, and highly not recommend to anyone I know. Please save/put all of your valuables to the safe box if you happen to stay in this resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We love these condos but it is hit or miss in what you will get. The are owned units being rented out by Outrigger. Some are great and have been keep up very nicely. Others not so much. Our only issue this time is the cleaning of the unit. This time our unit #2206 was keep up but badly needed a deep cleaning. The carpets really needed cleaning. We kept our shoes on, if we didn't our feet would get almost black from the dirt in the carpet. Other areas of the condo seemed cleaner. But again this unit could use a deep cleaning. The pool is nice but they don't enforce the rules so when there are a lot of kids, it's out of control. Rafts, flying objects, running, yelling etc. The location is great and we do really like it here, just some improvements need to be made. I am going to write a letter to management when we get back home. We would stay here again and do recommend with the above warnings. We love Wailea and have stayed here many weeks in different locations. But all in Wailea and most here at the Palms. There are unit owners that rent out there condos directly. We have done this too. If you find an owner and unit you really like that's really the way to go.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

On our recent visit to Maui, we stayed at this resort. I had emailed reservations asking for air conditioning throughout our condo. When we got there, they told me they had a fully air conditioned unit, but it was dirty and I could come by the next morning when it would be available.

After our tour, I went back to the reservations desk and asked about the air conditioned unit and was told it was still dirty. Since they told me to come back the next morning, I thought 11:00 am would be late enough. We ended up staying in the unit with air conditioning in the master bedroom only.

This unit had a weird smell in it and the dishes had a horrible smell. We had to wash everything before using it. The unit was old and worn; the bathroom had cracks and mold. I don't recommend this unit at all, especially for the price they charge.

One more thing .... the beach is not across the street, it is across the street, down another street and then you can get to it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed Unit#1106 via outrigger palms at wailea. This unit was very luxury 2 bed room with 2 bathroom & full kitchen. We enjoyed BBQ and sunset at lanai. From Living room, you can see ocean & other islands. Only 5 min. to the nice quiet beach. Also major shopping center is just 5 min. drive from this place. Great deal to stay this ocean view unit.

I did not want leave there................Definately come back this condo :)
Thank you Outrigger for your good aloha &hospitality!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

These circa early 1990's condo units designed Norm Lacayo for the Japanese market continue to serve as Wailea's luxury condos. They are spacious by Hawaii standards and split level with a nice lanai. The kitchen and bathrooms in the unit we stayed is ready for an upgrade but still usable and spacious. Overall these are nice condo units and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: During the summer months I would strongly suggest that you request that the air conditioners be acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Condos units can be a hit or miss, depending on what unit you wind up with.

Our unit was not one with an ocean view, but the owners of the condo looked like they took great thought with the decor, furniture and furnishings.

Kitchen and Landry appliances inside the unit were up to date, which is a big plus (condo travellers can probably relate if they had ever had an old or barely functioning appliance),

As for the complex, there is no gym facility, just a pool area which is of a nice size but judging by the posted signs, it's definitely for quiet time ("no Marco polo games or pool projectile toys allowed")

No business center, but the front desk will print your boarding passes. Each unit is equipt with wi-fi which was nice too.

And the concierge desk was friendly and wasn't pushy (well at least we didn't have an agressive agent).

So in a nutshell: nice place, had a great experience in our unit that we stayed at, good location--beaches are a short walk away, and close to both Wailea and Kihei. No problems with staff; just wished it had a workout gym....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palms at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms at Wailea

Address: 3200 Wailea Alanui, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms at Wailea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Palms at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Palms At Wailea Hotel Kihei
Outrigger Kihei
Kihei Outrigger
Palms At Wailea Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palms at Wailea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.