We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Awesome staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Maui Oceanfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2980 S. Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Location, Awesome staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

In all I spent 4 nights at the Days Inn Maui Oceanfront and I was very happy with the experience and service. We rented a car on Maui and from the airport the drive to this hotel was around 25-30 minutes. Parking is free at the hotel and there's more than enough spots. Another great feature of this hotel were the beach towels provided by the front desk, and the laundry room where using their coin operated machines I was able to get a considerable amount of laundry done!

The staff at the Maui Oceanfront is wonderful. Very helpful and ready to answer any questions you may have. The hotel is about a 5 minute drive to great restaurants, beaches, grocery stores, pharmacies, gift shops, surf shops, and parks of Kihei. Not exactly walking distance to all the action, but there's a lot of parking near the restaurants and the beaches of Kihei. Theres access to the beach from the hotel too, but the beach wasn't my favourite because there wasn't much shade.

Overall, the stay was great! I should warn any one staying here though that each morning there were several dozen dead gnats in front of our hotel room door that I guess got into the room somehow overnight. They didn't bother us while we were sleeping and only noticed them in the morning. I just choked up the bugs to being so close to the beach. They were completely harmless and did not bite.

If anyone were to ask me where they should stay when visiting Maui I would definitely recommend the Days Inn Maui Oceanfront primarily because of its location and service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback, we are happy to know our staff showed you the customer service we strive for at Days Inn Maui and that our location met your expectations; we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    222
    148
    67
    49
See reviews for
64
329
72
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Kentucky
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I are not anxious for the tourist resort areas, and we don't spend many hours in a hotel. We go early and come back late. This Motel was comfortable and clean. It worked good for a base as we only stayed in Maui 2 days. It was close to ocean, a simple walk through a restaurant (or around it) -- total maybe 75 yards. The room was not large, but the arrangment of the rooms (almost like a multi-unit apt), with outside entrances. The drive in either of the directions (NW toward Lahaina, SE into Wailea, or N to Kahului and road ot Hana), was convenient for us. The restaurant next door -- a few feet away also give a discount (5 Palms) and was excellent.

Room Tip: The parking is tight (no fee), but we had a bigger car (since they were so cheap). So, if you rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are delighted to hear our hotel was comfortable and met your cleanliness during your visit to our Days Inn location. We are also glad to know you enjoyed our beach location just walking distance from our doors; we hope to serve and your wife again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Days Inn in Kihei in our first trip to Maui. We really didn't know the area so were going by reviews, price and google earth maps to help decide where we wanted to be. We chose based on location and that it was on the beach side. The property is very small and parking is limited and shared with a restaurant. So be sure to park early to get a spot. We had good service at the hotel, the staff was friendly. The rooms are pretty small, king bed in main area with a bathroom that is about it. There was a decent size fridge that we filled stuff from the grocery store. The bathroom pretty basic and functional. We had a room nearest the ocean so we couldn't complain about location. There is a shared beach right out in front and only a few lawn chairs owned by the hotel. For the price we paid and the location we though it was a good value for the money, but nothing to really blow you away. There is no swimming pool on the property. We thought the window air conditioning units were pretty loud keeping us from sleeping at night at times.

Room Tip: I think rooms are assigned on first come first serve basis. We picked the Maui building as it was t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we are happy to know our location and price met your traveling needs and that our staff was helpful during your stay. We hope you and your wife enjoyed Maui and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I loved the location of room, but it could be a little bigger with a porch. Very friendly and clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for being a Wyndham Rewards member and choosing our hotel for your recent travels, we are glad to know our staff showed you the customer service we strive for; we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Everything was so close and the cleanliness of the room was top. Comfortable and affordable and staff was helpful. Verónica was my housekeeper and sweet she always left my room in top condition. I got to talk to her and everyday left me kind words that made my stay happy. God bless her as she always bless my. Thank you Verónica. I will be back to same location and enjoy Maui beaches and attraction.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay J, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the five star rating after your visit, we are glad to know our housekeeping met your expectations and that our front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Maui Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Address: 2980 S. Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Maui Oceanfront 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a splendid stretch of sand 2 miles from Kihei, this low-rise hotel is 3 miles from the championship golf courses of Wailea Resort; Maui Ocean Center is 8 miles away.With louvered shutters, tiled floors, ceiling fans, and island accents, all 87 guestrooms offer compact refrigerators, complimentary local calls, premium channels, coffeemakers, and in-room safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Maui Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Hotel Kihei
Best Western Kihei
Kihei Best Western
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.