We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, noisy, noisy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Maui Oceanfront to your Saves list
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2980 S. Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    254
    155
    75
    52
See reviews for
76
372
86
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is okay. If you enjoy going to the beach this Days Inn is in a good location. The lady who checked us in is very helpful. She told me about the 20% off you get at Five Palms and 15% off at Sorento's on the Beach, which was great weren't to Five Palms for dinner (the non hong was awesome) and Sarentos for breakfast. The hotel is a bit dated, and our room was very small, but we were only there for one evening so it was okay. Hotels in Maui are expensive so this place is a pretty good deal.

Room Tip: AC is a bit noisy, and the room is a bit small, but try to get a room on the upper floor, so you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed a night to prepare for our adventure around the island. Walking distance to the beach. Although outdoor showers were out of order during our stay. Can't say I expected more than what I paid for. Microwave, fridge, and safe in the room. Didn't use them, but it would come in handy. The place is dated, but adequate for a good night's rest and exploring Kihei.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor if you are staying a while. Footsteps could keep you awake otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I felt like I was 21 again, only able to afford the WORST of all possible places to stay. Yes, this place is on the beach, yes, it was cheap......but I would have gladly paid up in order to stay at a place that felt like I was in paradise. Instead, I was in a room that made me feel like I was in a horror movie. Cracks in the shower, a musty, mildew smell out of the bathroom, dirty canopys and of all things, PLYWOOD as the floor of the balconies which were elso extremely dirty. EVERY other place that we walked to on the beach in that area was significantly nicer than where we were. We booked last minute and didn't have much of a chance to really look, and I guess I was just fooled by the 3 1/2 rating here and thought it might be okay. It's a Days Inn, I know the Days Inn.....no frills but usually clean and nice. Oh, what I didn't realize is that Days Inn are INDEPENENTLY OWNED! So one is good, and another looks like crap! Beware, stay here only if you are deserate or are on an extremely tight budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We started off with 2 days at the Days Inn then 7 days in a condo in Kehei and finished with 2 days in Kaanapali.A wonderful vacation.
The Days Inn is small but well located on the beach on the south end of Kehei. quiet but nice.No bath tub and not much hot water in the morning.
We rented Beach Cruiser bicycles from Boss Frogs for $50 a week and they were one of the highlights of our Maui vacation.You can get around better on a bike than in a car if you are traveling up and down the main drag.bike lanes on both sides.
the beaches are beautiful and the weather is always good.
Kehei is centrally located for a tour of Maui.
Wailea is a mile to the south,great shopping malls and a few good restaurants.South of that is Big Beach .
We rented a Jeep for a week and toured the Island,headed over to Paia and south from the to Hana.a famous drive along the winding mountain road over single lane bridges and through Bamboo forests to Hana,an old Hawaiian village away from the touristy areas of Maui.
Our last two days were on the west end of Maui in Kaanapali.
I will review that seperatly at tthe Kaanapali Beach Hotel.A beautiful place to finish up an fantastic holiday. :)

Room Tip: Wasn't impressed but it was ok in a pinch.price was apparently as low as you can get.the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here January 16-20th, 2013.

The location of this hotel is good, I’ll give’em that. Unfortunately, I normally don’t write reviews on hotels but in this case I’ve made an exception.

The rooms are very small; but do come with a fridge, microwave, coffee & tea equipment, a hair dryer and safe. Yes, there was a Tempurpedic mattress in our room which was the only saving grace because we were cramped and it kind of had a weird smell!! The bathroom was small, with a shower (that didn’t drain for 15 min every time somebody showered), small sink and toilet only. To top it off you could hear the room above us walk, move furniture all night long, flush the toilet and shower… need I say more!

We had no cleaning service the last two days of our stay. In fact, I had to go to the front counter after we got back to the hotel from seeing the sites in order to get clean towels and coffee for in the morning.

Personally, I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Find some other hotel unless price is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Maui Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Maui Oceanfront

Address: 2980 S. Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Maui Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a splendid stretch of sand 2 miles from Kihei, this low-rise hotel is 3 miles from the championship golf courses of Wailea Resort; Maui Ocean Center is 8 miles away.With louvered shutters, tiled floors, ceiling fans, and island accents, all 87 guestrooms offer compact refrigerators, complimentary local calls, premium channels, coffeemakers, and in-room safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Maui Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Hotel Kihei
Best Western Kihei
Kihei Best Western
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Maui Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.