We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had everything we wanted in a nice setting and convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort to your Saves list
Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   551 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Your Entire Stay!
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had everything we wanted in a nice setting and convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

The room was fine, maybe a little dated, but everything in working order. Who spends that much time in their room anyway when in Maui? The staff was very helpful and suggested many points of interest to see, as well as helping us find anything we needed while in Maui. It is the small things that stand out and made a difference to us in our stay. The availability of the beach chairs, coolers and umbrellas is a nice touch. Much easier to go to the beach. Yes, it is across the street but we loved it. Not full of people or screaming children like the other beaches and has both sunny and shady area with beautiful views and places to swim....perfect area to relax and enjoy. Internet in room did not work but was fine in the gazebo which made it much easier to meet and get to know other guests. The sun deck is a great place for catching the sunset. We loved this place and constantly compared it to the miserable Sheraton we stayed at next on Hawaii.....there you are nickeled and dimed to death and were not allowed to enjoy the property after dark.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    87
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
207
63
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

If you want to get away from it all this is the place. Rooms were newly furnished with small kitchen area and coffee maker (even provided me with Chocolate Nut Coffee). I was there for three days alone. Had the entire roof top to myself, which was a great place to watch the sunset. The staff was welcolming but not intrusive.

The only drawback was the beach across the street was small and not particularly nice. So if you want a beach you will need to drive. But everything else is close by.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

Having stayed here in 2009 for 10 days it is hard to believe any of these reviews. The rooms are run down, the motel is on a busy street that you must cross to get to the beach, the beach is itself not a good one for swimming or hanging out (you need to go into down into town beach) the service is not that great either. Please do not rate the place just because it is "gay friendly" since people do rely on your comments - most hotels in Hawaii are gay friendly - This place is actually really bad - book somewhere else and then stop by and compare.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Traveler
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Location: Great location away from the high rise condo jungles. Walk right across the street to the beach. Centrally located to visit other parts of the island. In the "real" part of Maui. In many parts of Maui. beach access is tough if you don't know the ropes. There are tons of easily accessible beaches with public parking in the Kihei and Wailea areas. Many offer incredible snorkeling just steps from the shoreline.

Rooms: Rooms to fit just about any budget, from a basic studio to a luxury penthouse suite. All have a kitchen. (Nothing in Maui is cheap,but this place is definitely reasonable.) Very clean and well-kept. Some of the showers are built for elves, but there's a nice outdoor shower on the roof deck, if that bothers you.

Amenities: Awesome very private courtyard with an outdoor cooking, eating and mingling area. Large rooftop deck with a big hot tub. Guests gather here to watch the legendary Maui sunsets. They have a nice stock of beach chairs, umbrellas, coolers , etc for guest use. Don't rent any beach gear until you see what's available.

Staff: The best thing, though, is the incredibly helpful and friendly staff. We would have missed out on a lot of great stuff without their willingness to share their local knowledge. I'm serious. You're gonna love these guys!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

I've stayed here a few times before but it looks like the owners are putting some nice investments into the place to improve the guest experience. The only gay venue like this on Maui is worth visiting and enjoying the fantastic sunsets from the nude roof and hot tub.
and just a few miles from Little Makena nude beach as well as whale watching from the deck during the season.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Sunseeker. The location in Kihei is ideal and with the exception of hearing the guest above me trample across his/her room, the room was otherwise quiet. The king bed was quite comfortable and the complimentary parking and wifi were an added bonus. It was also nice having access to beach gear (umbrella, chair, cooler, towels)...was able to spend hours relaxing on the beach. Definitely recommend the Sunseeker!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This was my second stay at the Maui Sunseeker. The first time we had just a standard ocean view room and this time we went with a Jr. Suite with an ocean view, both rooms have everything only the Jr. Suite has the full kitchen to help you save some money on meals. Not only is this hotel easy on the wallet but it has a much more personal touch. I always say it feels more like a friend loaned you their beach house rather than a hotel. The staff is super friendly and will tell you the best activities for you to do and help you book them. They even give you some local spots / hikes to visit. Not only does the office have tons of guide books and some Hana audio tours to loan out; they also have tons of beach stuff for you borrow for the day including chairs, coolers, umbrellas, boogie boards, mats, and even sunscreen most of the time. Last but not least the clothing optional rooftop deck with a hot tub is the perfect spot for a quiet night with the moonlight and the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort

Address: 551 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii's largest LGBT Resort located right on Maui's south coast in Kihei. We cater to a discerning gay and lesbian clientele but welcome all. Our guests know they can expect rooms that are impeccably clean with a fun group of guests. We are an adults only property. Rooms have breathtaking ocean or lush garden view rooms with private lanais. Junior suites and above have full gourmet kitchens. Clothing optional roof deck with jacuzzi in the sky as well as a healthier saline pool. Great free amenities. Free parking. Unlike renting a condo, we provide daily housekeeping. Treat yourself to luxurious 1000 sq ft Oceanfront Penthouse suite and wake up to amazing views. If you prefer luxury for the price of a regular room at other resorts, we recommend the oceanfront penthouse suite 221. Come experience our aloha spirit and e komo mai to 'Your Home Under the Rainbow'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sunseeker Kihei
Maui Sunseeker Hotel Kihei
Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.