We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Relaxing Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort to your Saves list
Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   551 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Your Entire Stay!
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Very Relaxing Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was visiting Maui for the first time. Hawaii was the last of the 50 states that I needed to visit. Rather than staying in a high priced chain resort, I decided to stay at a smaller hotel. When I saw this an LGBT property, I made my decision.

The staff is wonderful and friendly. They are full of helpful hints to make sure that you enjoy your stay. All of their restaurant recommendations were perfect.

The hotel is conveniently located. Nothing in Maui is really that far away and you can make all of the day trips from here that you want.

The property is very nicely appointed and has many places that you can relax.

I will definitely be returning to the Sunseeker when I return to Maui.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunseekerChuck, Owner at Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Aloha Paul EBNJ,
First off, congratulations on reaching a milestone of visiting every one of the 50 United States. It's something that I put on my bucket list a couple of years ago and was thrilled when I crossed that last state line.
And what an honor that you made Hawaii, literally the 50th state, to be your 50th as well!!
As you've obviously traveled extensively, we are so appreciative to be held in your esteem with 5 star rankings all around.
Mahalo nui loa for the excellent ratings and for taking the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor readers & prospective guests. It means so much to me and to the staff here that works very hard to be sure every guest experience is perfect.
We sincerely hope that you will come back to paradise soon and that you'll make this your home every time you come to Hawaii, for now you too are a member of the Sunseeker Ohana!
A hui ho!
Chuck the Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    87
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
207
63
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

After doing a bit of eco-tourism around Hana we returned to civilization for a few days by staying here. We upgraded to a one-bedroom ground floor room off the pool in the back of the property. Our room was extremely well appointed, very well thought out with great attention to detail. Everything was new. We are two gay friends on a Hawaiian adventure - one male one female. She got the bed, of course, and ranted and raved about how comfortable it was. I was on the pull-out sofa and it too was very comfortable. The hotel staff was truly fantastic. We LOVED having access to snorkel gear, beach chairs and coolers that we took to all the beaches an snorkeling sites we explored. We loved having a kitchen for doing up meals from produce as local as we could get and used one of the two top-level BBQ's as well. As a world traveler - I'd give this property a top rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunseekerChuck, Owner at Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha Turbine99,
I noticed that you've done numerous reviews on TripAdvisor which definitely confirms your Senior Reviewer status and the last statement in our review about being a world traveler.
Not to discount the wonderful reviews we've received from others, as we cherish every word our guests say, but to be held in esteem at the top tier of all the places you've been says volumes.
I've proudly shared the review with the rest of the Sunseeker Ohana who remember you both very well and wanted me to express our deep appreciation for the rave review and for taking the time to share the good news about us. It means so much.
We sincerely look forward to your return to this paradise and hope that it will be very soon.
A hui ho good friend!
Chuck the Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from staying 13 nights at the Sunseeker. What attracted us to this property was its location, the fact that it had a full kitchen and that they offered a nice spacious one bedroom for our longer stay. Our room faced the pool and was close to the hot tub. The only time there was some activity near our room was in the early evening when people socialized in the hot tub. It was never noisy. The bed was one of most comfortable beds we ever slept in. Room and beach towels were changed daily. The staff were extremely helpful in answering our questions and often made suggestions for dining or touring. The guests were friendly and while we didn't often see them during the day, as everyone was touring, we often saw them at night. The beach across the street is great for long walks and for watching the sunsets and the occasional whales. We would certainly consider staying at this property if we return to Maui in the future.

Brian and Rob, Toronto Canada

Room Tip: Rooms off the pool are are very quiet. Having a kitchen is a bonus for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunseekerChuck, Owner at Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Aloha Brian and Rob,
Q: What is better than having wonderful guests like the two of you? A: Having wonderful guests that give back with a rave review and 5 stars out of 5.
Mahalo nui loa! We sincerely appreciate your thoughtful review and the time you took to write it.
We are also grateful that you decided to 'give us a try' instead of the large resort that was your trusted vacation. As we are on the verge of starting construction on the new building that will include a café, you can imagine how excited we are to finally be able to add the missing component, a restaurant. We look forward to your return and your trusted opinion about the café that we hope to have finished in late 2013!
Chuck the Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Sunseeker! Our room was very nice, comfy bed, nice kitchen and bathroom. The staff were great...took good care of us, very friendly and good tips for places to eat. It's a little ways away from the restaurants and larger grocery stores, but a short drive. There is an ABC store within walking distance. The beach is just across the street...nice for walking and watching for whales.
One of the best things about Our stay at Sunseeker was the people we met. We made new friends to hang out with back home!
We would definitely go back again!
Also should say they are very hetero friendly :-) again, everyone was great!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunseekerChuck, Owner at Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Diane P
We always feel so fortunate to have great guests like you make wonderful comments and give such glowing reviews. Mahalo....the staff and I sincerely appreciate your kind words.
What's even better is when we hear that you've connected with other guests and made friendships that continue on beyond your vacation, regardless of whatever path in life that you come to us from. We really groove on just seeing everyone getting along so well and respecting each other here. Its the best reward in the world.
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us and future guests of your experience. It makes our hearts sing.
A hui ho! (Until you return to us)
Chuck the Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We didn't know what to expect--it's an LGBT resort which seems sort of retro to us, and we're part of the LGBT community--so we were a teeny bit worried how it would work out. But curious! And we're so glad we gave it a whirl--the atmosphere was so welcoming, so homey, so lovely, we'd definitely go back again. The whole community staying there, as a well as the staff, could not have been better--we looked forward to our deck visits and our morning coffee out in the common areas. And it's on Sugar beach which is now a new fave of mine--both for running and sunset watching. The spirit of aloha is alive and well here--check it out!

Room Tip: The standards are small, but fine for the price. And anyway, who stays indoors in Hawaii?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunseekerChuck, Owner at Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha seacats!!
Mahalo nui loa for such a wonderful and warm review. We really strive to make sure everyone is respected, no matter what demographic of ours they represent. Not easy to do because we get some people who want to just chill and enjoy the beauty. We get others that want to party hearty and others that want to see everything and do as much as possible. I've found that just giving each person the respect they deserve as an individual and providing the property tour allows us to achieve a nice balance.
We are thrilled that you noticed and appreciate the stay with us.
Mahalo for taking the time out of your busy schedule to give us the rave!
We look forward to your return to us!
Chuck the Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our room was essentially a 1 bedroom apartment right off the pool. It was peaceful, clean, everything (appliances, plumbing, etc) functioned perfectly and was kept in great shape. It was nice having laundry facilities on the premise. Witnessed some beautiful sunsets from the rooftop patio. I have to mention how amazingly comfortable the mattresses are! We were very surpised. The staff is terrific, warm, and friendly. They also had plenty of off-street parking. I know they're working on adding a cafe, which will be a wonderful addition when finished. Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunseekerChuck, Owner at Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Kevin_StPaul---wow mahalo nui loa for the rave review! We love when our guests notice everything we offer and appreciate the value of the quality of their stay for the price they pay.
One time we had a 'secret shopper' critic for a travel magazine come to stay with us and they said we gave Four Seasons service at very reasonable room rates. Your comments remind me of that review and says we've still got it going.....mahalo.
We LOVED having you here and so look forward to your return to us!
A hui ho!
Chuck the Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed in the penthouse with a private hot tub with my partner and had a wonderful time. We decided to splurge for privacy because we read some reviews saying that the hotel was having a decrease in LBGT clients as well as some squeamishness from some straight reviewers about nude sun bathing. In order to avoid that we picked the penthouse suite facing the ocean and LOVED IT. That said, the other guest were cool, some perhaps in the TLGB spectrum and I am sure it just depends on timing of other guest. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this location. After being featured on HGTV great reviews may not even be necessary! Staff was very accommodating to my slightly OCD (regarding planning), partner. My deepest apologies lol and many thanks for coordinating Haleakala, Adventures with Wade and the awesome Sunset cruise-random people from all around, we were the only interracial couple and only queer couple and had a GREAT time. Next is my review for the cruise-great food the crew was unbelievable. Thanks Sunseekers!

Room Tip: Penthouse suite with private hot tub was very quiet with the doors closed and not noticeable when it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunseekerChuck, Owner at Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha bknurse8!
And a big MAHALO for the rave review. We are so thrilled that you stayed with us and enjoyed your entire stay here. We really strive to keep the place in balance with clientele without forgoing our main demographic, the discerning LGBT traveler. That's why your comments are so appreciated and helpful for us.
We look forward to both of you returning to us soon...and we love OCD partners.......it keeps us on top of the game. If we can get every detail right enough to satisfy all, we know it will keep us outstanding in our rankings, but more importantly achieve our main goal, high guest satisfaction.
Mahalo nui loa!
Chuck the Owner...... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort

Address: 551 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawaii's largest LGBT Resort located right on Maui's south coast in Kihei. We cater to a discerning gay and lesbian clientele but welcome all. Our guests know they can expect rooms that are impeccably clean with a fun group of guests. We are an adults only property. Rooms have breathtaking ocean or lush garden view rooms with private lanais. Junior suites and above have full gourmet kitchens. Clothing optional roof deck with jacuzzi in the sky as well as a healthier saline pool. Great free amenities. Free parking. Unlike renting a condo, we provide daily housekeeping. Treat yourself to luxurious 1000 sq ft Oceanfront Penthouse suite and wake up to amazing views. If you prefer luxury for the price of a regular room at other resorts, we recommend the oceanfront penthouse suite 221. Come experience our aloha spirit and e komo mai to 'Your Home Under the Rainbow'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sunseeker Kihei
Maui Sunseeker Hotel Kihei
Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sunseeker LGBT Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.