We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time in #506!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mauian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Mauian to your Saves list
Royal Mauian
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2430 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Stroudsburg, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Had a great time in #506!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here June '13. The best part of the unit is the view - perfect ending to busy Maui days takes place on your lanai, watching the sun set over the ocean. Spectacular.

Condo is in nice location, placed between Kam I and II and convenient to many nice restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Complex has nice oceanfront lawn, nice small oceanfront pool, and cool rooftop deck for grilling and sunsets with fellow guests.

Unit 506 is nice, with two AC units that keep master bedroom and living area cool, although second bedroom doesn't get much air from these units. Some wear and tear is showing in unit (slat on blinds in master bedroom broken, stains on carpets, molding to lanai carpet hanging off balcony edge), but these are fairly easily overlooked. Unit is also home to "Maui ants," but this is apparently a problem everywhere on the island. They're hardly visible, but if you leave crumbs on the counter you'll see them for sure.

Overall we had a teriffic stay, and would return in a heartbeat. Not perfect like staying in a high-end resort - more like staying in a friend's beach house that has been in the family for years and is well lived in...

Room Tip: Do your homework, as unit's are individually owned and vary significantly from each other!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
34
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 14 days and will definitely rent this unit again. Everything has been upgraded and you couldn't ask for any more. The unit is immaculate and everything you will need is provided. This is certainly a quiet type building so if you plan on partying do not stay here as you will not be welcome. We enjoyed the quiet environment as you get up early to enjoy the ocean before the trade winds pick up around noon. The unit is equipped with AC which is nice because not all units have it. For those writing negative reviews about other units or the front desk staff... You are renting a privately owned property in most cases. This is not a hotel so expect to possibly buy some of your own toilet paper or garbage bags. I'm not sure why anyone would need to talk with the front desk staff anyway, we never once spoke with them as we were simply having a great time for two weeks. I think we paid around 275 per night for this unit. You might be able to find a less expensive unit but be prepared to lower your expectations as well. I would recommend this unit to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Mauian #505 the end of June. Having never been to this condo, or the Kihei area, we weren't sure what to expect. We have stayed in the Lahaina and Kaanapali area in the past, but hadn't traveled over to Kihei. My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and our daughter and her best friend were celebrating their graduation, so we wanted everything to be perfect. We knew we didn't sign up for a 5-star resort, that was on purpose, we wanted our own private condo where we could just relax and unwind and enjoy the island. After doing a lot of research this looked like the place for us. Upon arrival we were happy to find shops and restaurants across the street, entering the condo we had a gorgeous water view from both the kitchen/living room as well as the master bedroom, and plenty of room for the four of us in this 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom condo, and the multiple shower options in the master bathroom were a nice touch! Also available for our use were beach chairs, a cooler, snorkel gear (and other beach toys if you have younger kids). The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. There were plenty of bath towels as well as beach towels, and having a washer/dryer in the unit was great! We enjoyed meals on the lanai, and were up early every morning having our coffee and reading and enjoying the ocean waves, we even snorkeled right out in front of the condo a few times. You can see a side view of the road from the lanai, but the traffic noise didn't really bother us as it was covered up by the sound of the waves. It also was a bit windy during the afternoons, but that didn't bother us at all, enjoyed opening the windows and letting the tropical breeze come through. We thought we'd enjoy the pool, but we didn't go to the pool once, we had two great beaches on either side of us. As for our island activities, we drove out past Kapalua to snorkel Honolua Bay, up to the top of Haleakala, out to Makena Beach, we were up and down the entire side the island, we also enjoyed a luau, ziplining and the Maui Magic snorkel cruise. Fabulous vacation had by all of us, we can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is our second year in unit 209 at the Royal Mauian thru VBRO. The one bedroom suite is exactly as shown in the pictures. Master bedroom with window to the ocean is a fabulous site to wake up to in the morning. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need - fridge (ice maker), stove, microwave, dishwasher - you can cook every meal in if you so wish. You can also BBQ up on the rooftop for some fantastic sunset views at supper. The lanai is a great place to unwind for the day or breakfast in the morning. You have in suite laundry so you can travel light on clothes. The common area is meticulously cared for and the management staff very helpful.

The location is between Kamaole Beach 2 and 3 - you are steps away from the beach and the lava outcrop in front of the hotel is an excellent place to snorkel in the mornings - many sea turtles!

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 11 days in February. Its right on the ocean, 1 minute walk to the beach. We had a ground floor unit so it was easy walk in, walk out. Like every where else in Maui you probably want a car if you're going to go out and do/see things. It definitely could have had more towels and we weren't given enough toilet paper or garbage bags to make it through the 10 days, other than that it was a good experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Mauian at least ten different times and unit 106 was terrible. The place was dirty, poorly equipped. stinky towels, dirty furniture, terrible floors, totally over priced,dirty bathrooms, at least 30 different notes telling you what to do. PLEASE do not rent this unit.

Room Tip: Make sure to really check out the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We really felt this was a first class place. The condo is so conveniently loafed and the grounds are meticulous. Great views and our specific condo was first rate. The roof can be used to cook with four weber grills. A lot of people eat there but our condo is on the six floor and the lanai is a great place to eat dinner.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the specific condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mauian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mauian

Address: 2430 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Mauian 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Mauian is a unique six story oceanfront property located in South Kihei offering unobstructed views of the clear blue Pacific. The property and adjacent Kamaole Beach together provide excellent locations for stunning sunsets, snorkeling, swimming, romantic beach strolling, and seasonal whale watching. Royal Mauian features an oceanfront pool area giving you the comfort of a pool setting with the beauty of a day at the beach. A roof top garden area with gas barbeques & panoramic views of the island as well as free parking are available to guests. A variety of shops and restaurants are within walking distance. The unit interiors include fully equipped kitchens, washer & dryer units, cable television, free local phone service, private lanais and luxury linen supplied directly by Ali'i Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Mauian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mauian Hotel Kihei
Royal Mauian Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mauian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.