We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely and adequate condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nani Kai Hale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nani Kai Hale to your Saves list
Nani Kai Hale
73 North Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very lovely and adequate condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at Nani Hai Kale for one week at the end of November. Here are some highlights.

Complex
-Older building. Probably constructed in the 70’s but overall well kept up. Each unit has varying degrees of renovation, which can usually be noticed in the virtual tours on their website.

-This seems like a seniors complex. The average age of the people there was about 65. We only met one young couple with a baby, who we found out was there to visit his grandmother who is wintering there.

-Front Units had beautiful sunset views of the ocean, however they look on the BBQ area where the regular retirees congregate in packs. The bedrooms face on to the pool

-Elevator is close to the parking area.

-Plenty of parking. We never had a problem looking for a spot.

-Easy access to North and South Kihei Roads

-Back units were closer to the road & parking lot so may be noisier than the front ones.

-3 BBQ’s in area and always very clean. Mini fridges were available for use at the BBQ area as well.

-Plenty of lounge chairs and tables available.

-Coin laundry available on each floor.

-We didn’t see any management staff around. There was an office on site, but we never went in so I don’t know if it was even open but we had no problems.

-Wednesday nights they have a Pupus potluck night for the guests. We attended and got some good tips from the regulars.

Pool
-The pool is fairly small but it was quiet while we were there
-There are two entrances into the pool area, one comes from the parking lot, the other from the front
-Only 5 lounge chairs in pool area, but more located on front lawn area
-On a couple occasions the seniors held their aqua-size classes for an hour or so in the pool

Beach
-The beach is immediately in front of the property. There is a bit of a lawn area first.
-Clean beach, clean water. Not a lot of rocks or seaweed in the water.
-You can walk down the beach for a long ways

Unit
-We stayed in #409 at the front of the building
-This unit is totally renovated. It’s very spaciously organized with lovely furnishings and brand new appliances (including a fridge with ice makers and water dispenser)
-The lanai has a higher table with two chairs. It’s not overly comfortable but adequate.
-Air conditioning and fans worked great
-There is a washer and dryer in this unit but it’s locked up. That was disappointing. We would have been happy to pay a little extra for the use. Waiting on coin laundry is so inconvenient.

Neighborhood
-Nothing much is really close except and ABC store, Farmers market (only on Fri, Sat I believe but very small) and Shave Ice stand
-This is in the intersection of North and South Kihei Roads, where it’s quiet busy
-Yes, there is construction going on next door. We did hear a lot of hammering and trucks while we were there but they were respectful not to begin before 9am and ended by 5pm’ish. It wasn’t unbearable and didn’t ‘ruin’ our vacation as another reviewer noted.

Overall we recommend this property, particularly Unit #409

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Oak, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

#303 is a very nice remodeled condo. I love to cook,so for me the kitchen was something to be desired.....very small and I felt very claustrophobic trying to cook. The kitchen amenties need updating....the refrigerator needs to go where the stove is at and thus will provide a "little more open" feeling. I checked out other condos in NKH and it really makes a difference for a more roomier feeling to switch these appliances in this railroad car kitchen.. There are no door numbers, and fortunately on my arrival, I ran into the manager who showed me to the condo....they were painting the doors.....but I still see no condo #s being put up since painting completed....must have to guess! Get our your crystal ball. It is very noisy with the traffic on N. Kihei Rd, so suggest you get a unit more toward the ocean to alleviate the traffic noise.
Construction is going on next door which no one advised was happening when I booked...I guess a Wedding Center is being built........could be an added noise factor in the future. The unit has air in living room and bedroom when needed (especially for a few hours when the trade winds are not blowing)....
I would stay here again, but much closer to the ocean to get away from the noise on N. Kihei. Check out the building layout. Beach is very nice, pool in good condition....not alot of folks on the beach in front of building compared to the Kam I,II,III.....so if you want "action" this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Get room closer to ocean away from N. Kihei Rd.(condos face north and south).....ocean is west....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui & Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'm responding to the construction review posted on 10/14/12. I'm guessing one reason the construction project NEXT DOOR to Nani Kai Hale was not disclosed was because no one knew when it was going to start. Another reason might be because the construction doesn't begin until 8am when most guests are already up and out of the complex enjoying Maui. A third possible reason might be that everyone has a different noise tolerance and why upset anyone unnecessarily?? They have been very good about having dirt barriers up and hosing down the dirt. Anyone who's stayed in Kihei knows because of the desert climate dirt is always blowing so it's hard to say whether it's from the construction or normal Kihei dirt.

Regarding the "beautification project": That was done very quickly and did not prohibit anyone from getting to and from the beach. The pool was not closed as there are two entrances into the pool. The one entrance where they added a concrete walkway was closed for obvious reasons but the other entrance was open.

For anyone concerned about the 'Noise'....the construction has now been going on since approx June/July and the previous comment is the ONLY comment regarding it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert, Ca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We returned to the Nani Kai Hale on September 23, 2012 for our fifth year vacationing in Maui expecting to find the same peaceful, enjoyable, beachfront property that we previously enjoyed. Neither the website nor Bello Realty disclosed that a large construction project started on the property next to the Nani Kai Hale. If that wasn't bad enough a few days into our two week stay, they posted a notice regarding a "beachfront walkway beautification" project at the Nani Kai Hale for the next two weeks. All day long, everyday for 15 days we were bothered by drilling, pounding, equipment noise, blowing dirt, and filthy windows and furniture in the condo. When they started the "beachfront walkway beautification" project they closed the beachfront lawn, pool, and they cancelled the traditional aloha friday coffee and donut gathering. When we complained to the realty company, they denied knowledge as to the extent of the projects but then offered to move us or give us a partial refund. The available places we could move to were less than desirable, and the partial refund did not come close to compensating us for ruining our vacation. Whether it was the Nani Kai Hale or the realty company who failed to disclose the construction projects does not matter, the fact that they cared more about their rental income than being honest to returning guests is just inexcusable. Please beware that this constuction project, a wedding event center, will be ongoing for a long, long, time. Unless you are willing to hear construction noise all day long and can bear to breathe blowing dirt coming in the windows and door, STAY AWAY FROM THE NANI KAI HALE.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stayed here with a few friends, and split among us, this was a great deal on paper.
Pros: right on the water; located within easy distance of both Wailea and Lahaina; friendly owners/residents; inexpensive (considering the amount of living space).

Cons: older building; mostly older people living/staying there (it's quiet, but can feel kind of like a retirement home); beach isn't the best for swimming; not within walking distance of most restaurants or stores; on the far north end of Kihei; bathrooms left a lot to be desired (i.e. handle on shower fell off every day, tub needed a good scrubbing, etc.); sofa bed was so uncomfortable it was absolutely unusable (they shouldn't advertise it as a second bed -- at least in the unit we were in); ant problem in the kitchen.

I was pretty pleased with the condo until I visited friends at a resort in Wailea (not the fanciest, but still pretty nice). They paid the same price per night for their room (via Priceline) as we did for the condo, only they were on a great beach, with luxurious amenities and a really nice room. Next time I go to Maui, I'll probably go that route, since we didn't end up using the kitchen all that much anyway. For a family, however, a condo like Nani Kai Hale might work better.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed In # 306 on a business trip and found it clean, spacious with a great view.
I was particularly impressed by the layout of the unit which allowed it to be divided into two separate studios each with a individual entry door.
What really made the difference was the service. The manager Tony was on call at all times when we needed him. He went beyond what we would normally expect and provided us with extra beach towels and boogie boards.
Great experience! Great people. Thanks Tony

Room Tip: we have stayed at Nani Kai before and found it wise to take a unit in toward the front of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkerton, Iowa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I visited Maui for the 3rd time, this time without the kids. We were looking for a good location with beach access, comfortable living quarters, a nice view of the ocean, and amenities that would allow us to prepares some of our meals. We were not disappointed with Nani Kai Hale. The property was accurately represented and is located right on the beach. The beach is not crowded and often you might be the only ones in the water for a mile or so. The condo location is off the grill and beachfront proper, but still maintains a nice view of the Pacific. The lanai is covered with the deck above and located on the north side of the building which keeps you in the shade for half of the day and is quiet. You can see the sun set off the lanai. Your neigbors are a sod farm which creates no noise or commotion. The building has a nice elevator and there are carts available to help with bags or groceries. Parking was very ample and right next to the building. Nani Kai Hale is located just off the confluence of two major roads and therefore allows access to the entire island easily. There is considerable traffic on the roads, but that is the nature of the beast on Maui. There are few major roads and everyone has to take them to get anywhere. If you want the touristy thing, you can drive down Kihei road south from the condo. Anything you might want can be found there. I would like to conclude by saying that Jennifer was very nice to us and made sure that we were up to speed with everything one might need and answered any questions that came to our mind. Internet and cable TV was there and worked perfectly. I would very much recommend this property for anyone looking to come to the island.

Room Tip: Choose Room 404 Rolf and Jennifer's place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nani Kai Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nani Kai Hale

Address: 73 North Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Nani Kai Hale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nani Kai Hale Hotel Kihei
Nani Kai Hale Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nani Kai Hale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.