We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Stay In Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Breeze Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Breeze Hideaway
Save Saved
You added Ocean Breeze Hideaway to your Saves list
435 Kalalau Place, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Activity tickets
Ranked #3 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Our First Stay In Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our first stay in Maui and we highly recommend this delightful Bed and Breakfast. Both Sande and Bob were excellent hosts with their knowledge of the area and the great breakfast they had for us each morning. On one morning, we had to leave earlier than the time breakfast was served, they were both very accommodating with packing up our breakfast so that we wouldn't miss out. The room was clean, tidy, quiet which met our needs and even more, with beach towels, chairs and a sun umbrella which we put to good use. We would come back for another stay in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    31
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
135
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent three nights with Bob and Sande at their Ocean Breeze Hideaway and had a lovely time! They are consummate hosts who provide delicious breakfasts, help to organize activities on your behalf, and provide excellent tips and advice on everything from yummy places to eat to the best beaches for swimming. We stayed in the coral suite and loved the comfortable king-size bed. Mahalo to Bob and Sande for such a wonderful stay and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for nine nights - wie loved it. Sande and Bob were so friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast, especially the fresh fruits, that mostly came from their garden. We could also try the last mango of the season.
We were glad to be allowed to use the beach gear (two chairs, umbrella, noodles, cooler, towels). That was great and made our beach experiences complete.
As guests of this B&B we were feeling that all our hosts were doing came from their heart.
Go to Maui and stay at the Ocean Breeze Hideaway - there can't be a better one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have just returned from our Hawaiian vacations and our stay at Ocean Breeze Hideaway was one of the high points of our trip. We stayed in the Coral room which came with off street parking, a king bed, ample storage space, a private bath and lanai. The room also comes with beach chairs, a cooler for picnics, beach umbrella and a small fridge for drinks and restaurant leftovers. Hosts Bob and Sande were wonderful – friendly, open, extremely knowledgeable about Hawaii in general and Maui in particular. They were ready with advice on the best beaches, places to eat, routes and timing to see various sights and were even able to reserve tickets for shows and other events. The breakfasts were “continental” nature, consisting of yogurt, granola, cold cereal, a selection of fresh fruit, homemade breads or muffins, coffee and juice – more than enough to start your day. Bob and Sande were also willing to pack an overnight breakfast on our early departure for the “Road to Hana”. Bob also has a link to Thrifty rental car on his site that I used to reserve my cars on all of the islands, at a very good rate. I would also point out that the location in Kihei is a great location to explore Maui, and the Ocean Breeze location has excellent access to the main highway. While Maui is not that large to begin with, the roads can often be clogged with traffic in one direction. Kihei is very central and made it easy to get to/frm the airport at Kahului, explore the road to Hana, travel to the volcano at Haleakala, Īao Valley, or explore the coastal beaches.

I hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all we aren's big B&B travelers having only stayed at one a few times. But staying in the Coral Suite was really a wonderful experience. Bob and Sande and both very friendly and very interested in providing a pleasant experience. They were also quickly point us to the right direction to parts of Maui that we otherwise might have missed. The place is centrally located so you can easily see all parts of the island. The Coral Suite has air conditioning which we definitely needed during July. It also has a separate enterance so you can come and go as you please without disturbing anyone. It also has a separate bathroom. This was a great transition for us from hotels to B&B's since it was just like a hotel for us. On Maui a B&B owner can't cook and serve hot food yet the breakfasts were more than adequate. If you shy away from B&B's but want to give one a try please book the Coral Room. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Can't beat the Coral Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stay for 4 days in September. Nice place in a good location. We enjoy it. Nice hosts. Good size room with ceiling fan and air conditioner. Quiet place to sleep and rest like a King in Maui, Hawaii. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The fresh fruit and breakfast here are stunning and healthy. It's such a warm welcome and great value for money, Bob and Sande could not have done any more. If you want to learn to surf on Maui kihei is the place with its gentle waves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Breeze Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Address: 435 Kalalau Place, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our peaceful Maui Bed and Breakfast overlooks Maalaea Bay and is just a 10-minute walk from Maui's longest beach. Enjoy a morning swim or snorkel in calm waters, walk or run along this undeveloped white sand beach. Return to a delicious Island breakfast served on our ocean-view lanai, surrounded by coconut palms and bougainvillea. Take in the view of Maalaea Bay while you enjoy fresh ground coffee and assorted teas; tropical juices, fresh island fruit; granola; muffins, scones and assorted breads; and island jams. We choose locally grown and organic at every opportunity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Hotel Kihei
Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Breeze Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.