We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Sunset Condos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Sunset Condos to your Saves list
Maui Sunset Condos
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1032 So. Kihei Rd., Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Saukville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay! The unit that we stayed in had a great view of the ocean. On one of the last days that we were staying on Maui we saw some whales playing in the ocean at sunset! What a sight! Whenever the whales are playing in the area you can see them from the porch! If we were given the chance we would stay here again! The pool is very nice and it is close enough to walk to most stores. It is also not very far from a beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauiforall, Manager at Maui Sunset Condos, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Aloha, Thank you for your review! Next time rent one of the paddle boards in the morning and go out about 1/4 mile...you'll find the Turtles there and the whales jumping further out in the bay. Amazing.
Mahalo,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    87
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
81
84
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Avoid this unit and Maui Holiday as your booking group. We are regular visitors to Maui and this the the only time I could not wait to get back home. Unit 302a is disgusting:
- filthy carpets, walls, linens
- everything says cheap about this place from dishes, knives to linens or should I say Rags!
- once Maui Holiday has your $$ they don't want anything to do with you and have limited knowledge of this unit
- mystery stains, mystery smells plus a bright light right outside the bedroom windkw that is on 24/7
Go somewhere else so you don't spend part of your vacation washing blankets and walls like I
had to
- open drug use on the beach outside just an added bonus
Maui Holiday and ow ers here should be ashamed - this place is an unpleasant experience all around.

Room Tip: Do NOT book with Maui Holiday and defs not Maui Sunset 302a
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauiforall, Manager at Maui Sunset Condos, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Aloha, Your experience is not typical of the Maui Sunset, and I thank you for taking the time to post a review. Even though I don't manage the condo you mentioned I reached out to the booking agent and the management company that rented the condo to see what more I could learn.
Here is there abbrievated response "(The guest) called...18 days prior to arrival date, and no one else had accommodations available – It was not a unit within our rental program, and I distinctly remember not hyping or over-selling what the unit was: a standard unit that had not been upgraded by the owner. I even sent photos of the condo. If we had been given notice about any of the items addressed we would have made every effort to rectify the situation – or refunded money..." ~ Maui Holiday
I do hope you decide to return to Maui Sunset and try out one of the other vacation rentals. Perhaps by booking directly through a management company that specializes in Maui Sunset you will have a better experience .
Again, Mahalo for your review.
Steve







Vacation rentals at Maui Sunset remain the best option for beach front accommodation. During the winter months the property is 100% full. There is not better place to enjoy the manicured lawns and watch the whales in the bay.

Mahalo,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for three days before getting married in Kauai last summer. We went through VRBO to book our room which was very easy. The condo we stayed in was nothing fancy and not particularly modern, but we didn't need any more than what we had since we didn't spend much time in it. We loved the lanai and took advantage of the pool and hot tub. The grounds were beautiful and were extremely well manicured. Our power went out one afternoon/evening after using the hair dryer, and since it was the weekend and later in the day, the front office was not open. We went down to try to call maintenance, and after awhile someone showed up and we were able to correct the problem. We couldn't find the electrical box, otherwise we would have fixed it ourselves. We found out that it was hidden behind a small portrait in the living room (the one place we didn't look). We received a phone call first thing on Monday morning from the local rental agency that the owners use and they were very kind and apologetic.

We enjoyed visiting with the people who lived there full-time, who stayed a few weeks as a timeshare, and with other vacationers like us. You obviously don't receive the same service as you would at a hotel, but we enjoyed our time here very much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We love Maui Sunset! Very peaceful, wonderful Sunsets! Upper floors are better if you don't want a lot of kid noise. They do book kids so next time we will request a room on 4th floor or 5th floor (if available).

Room Tip: I would rather of had B side and 4th floor or above. Not as much sun on B and the higher the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
192 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Staying in Maui, we made sure to not spend so much money, so instead we found these condos. The room we got was OK. Though if we left bread crumbs on the table for about an hour, out of no-where the ants came? That was strange! But overall the service and the sleeping was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

My family and friends have all stayed here many times and this is will be the last year we stay here. It is the least kid friendly condo I have ever stayed at. The lady who runs the pool area is very unpleasant and kids can't even play and have fun without getting in trouble. It's a great location but what makes this condo is the location and accessibility of the pool. Feeling like your children can't even use the pool and have fun anymore is a real turn off and we will be staying elsewhere for our next Maui trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Maui Sunset. The beautiful grounds, buildings and pools are very well maintained. Our unit (304B) was nice - a 1 bedroom / 2 bath, with a murphy bed and pull-out sofa in the living room. As there were only two of us, I can't speak for the comfort of the additional beds, but the queen bed was very comfortable. The location of the Maui Sunset is perfect, close to shopping and restaurants and it was easy to get to the highway to visit other parts of the island. We will definitely be back to stay at the Maui Sunset.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Sunset Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Sunset Condos

Address: 1032 So. Kihei Rd., Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maui Sunset Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Sunset vacation condominiums are one of the best deals Maui has to offer. Maui Sunset offers low rental prices for a quality oceanfront property with all of the vacation amenities. Why stay in a hotel when you can have a vacation 'suite' for half the price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maui Sunset Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sunset Condos Hotel Kihei
Maui Sunset Condos Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Sunset Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.