We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tired Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at the Maui Banyan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Aston at the Maui Banyan to your Saves list
Aston at the Maui Banyan
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Maui Banyan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #34 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Tired Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This property, like most Aston Hotels is a very tired one. Exterior and interior updates have not been done for years. The mattresses and pillows are very inexpensive, old and uncomfortable. The shower is actually not a tub shower and is larger then expected with a good water stream. Old TV's, with small screens, are still used. They don't mention the resort fee of $15 on their website. A good plus, is the location of the hotel is across the street from the beach and is close to most restaurants in Kihei.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent review. We do have a wide range of options to accommodate most travelers and it appears that you might have been booked into a standard room that has not been renovated. Our deluxe category rooms are partially to completely renovated and have been done within the last 5 years.

We would love the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next trip to Maui. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so we can discuss what you are looking for and what we have to accommodate your desires.
Mahalo Nui Loa

Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    209
    96
    36
    25
See reviews for
138
181
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in early August and really enjoyed the easy beach access. The hotel is directly across the street from Kamole Beach and has easy access to the highway. We were able to book a good deal on the hotel and had a nice 1 bedroom room with a kitchenette. It was a decent hotel but for the price we couldn't really ask for more.

A couple things we had issues with were the resort fee and the daily room service. We were charged a $15/day resort fee which was supposed to include daily linen service, laundry soap (for in-room washing machine), dish soap, coffee, newspaper, parking, pool access, dvd rentals, etc. The resort fee wasn't spelled out anywhere in the fine print so it was a bit of a surprise when we got there. Despite being told of all the things that were included with the fee we still ended up having to go out and buy our own shampoo, detergent, and coffee. The room service was spotty at best. Parking was always full (except for the top level which isn't covered), unless you were back in your room by 7 PM. The front desk service was also not what you would expect. After not getting coffee or soap on the first day we called down to the reception desk and asked if we could have some sent up to our room but instead were told that we could walk down and get it ourselves because nobody was available to bring it to us.

Overall, despite the poor service, the hotel was nice. It was very convenient to have a kitchen, washer/dryer, and living room at the hotel. As stated above, the location of this hotel is the real selling point. Easy access to the beaches and highway were the best parts of this. It is also only 1 mile away from South Maui Bicycles so you can walk to the bike shop if renting bikes for the week. There are also a lot of good places to eat, get coffee and dessert nearby.

Room Tip: 1-bedroom with kitchenette is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Aston at the Maui Banyan. We are so glad that the room and location met your expectations and that you enjoyed your vacation.

I apologize that you did not receive exemplary service. Rest assured that we take all comments seriously and I am currently addressing your mentioned concerns. When you book your next visit please feel free to contact me so that I can personally ensure that we exceed your expectation’s.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading the reviews and going to the location - I now get why the reviews were all over the place! The property is mostly owner occupied and there are 19 timeshare rooms that are managed by the property mgt company. And managed means literally, they hand you a key. They are not responsible for what is going on in your unit. So it is a crapshoot in terms of what you get. I asked if I was getting a good unit and the front desk person shrugged. I was in a studio Building G Room 208A. It was perfectly fine. Unit was clean and kept up well. Mini kitchen with a small fridge, microwave, dishes, glasses and utensils. For just wanting to go to Kihei, it worked.

Location is literally right across the street from Kamole II beach - awesome. Short walk to shops and eateries. They have a small pool and hot tub - looked better than the pictures they have online. The concierge from the sister property reaches out and offers discount pricing on tours. I thought that was worth it too. If you are looking for hands on mgt, someone to handle your requests, this is not the place. If you want an inexpensive but clean place to rest between activities, nail on the head.

I put up some pics as I didn't see any for this type of studio room.

Room Tip: Building G is midway through the complex - Room 208A was fine but faces the garage. A problem if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed the location, property and your time here on Maui. We also appreciate you explaining the various rental options, as they are all a little different.

Aston Hotels & Resorts manages the property and front desk along with over 140+ rentals at the Maui Banyan. We provide daily housekeeping, various amenities, maintenance and complete management services to all of our units. Although we do not manage the 19 timeshare units you wrote about, we are on property and, as an added convenience, provide the check-in/key service to them.

Regardless of the unit you stay in we feel honored you chose Maui Banyan and look forward to your next visit.

A hui hou (until we meet again)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have been to Maui several times and this time choose to stay at the Maui Banyan - UNIT Q208 - We are travelling as a family (there are 2 adults and a child 16 years) this unit is two bedroom, (two king beds) two bathroom - and is a great condo It's on the second floor overlooking the tennis courts (palm tress in between) We have stayed in condos years before and the kitchen is VERY well equipped with utensils - Fridge, Stove, Microwave and Dishwasher - we usually ate dinner and breakfast in the unit. Nice kitchen island with 2 barstools and a table with 4 chairs in dining area- the living room has a nice big tv complete with dvd and Play Station 2. Washer and dryer - plenty of hangars and daily maid service and lots of room to put your clothes. The swimming pool is steps out the back way - where the BBQ's are located - The Maui Banyan is across the street from Beach ll - convenient - nice place to watch the sun go down. We parked in the outside parking lot that is adjacent to the condo - convenient. The lanais are a bit narrow - but we didn't spend lots of time in the condo except to eat and sleep and watch a few dvds. Easy access by car to local grocery stores - one day we'll be back again! Great Maui vacation.

Room Tip: WE stayed in Q208 - very nice and convenient - towards the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha, we are extremely pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your vacation and stay at Aston at the Maui Banyan. We know how much future travelers rely on these reviews and appreciate that you took the time to write such a positive and detailed one.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Mahalo nui loa and a hui hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 days with the family. We were lucky to get a newly renovated unit so it was very comfortable. The hotel is not fancy but its good enough. We got a quick look at the older unit and its a big difference. If you get a new unit, it will be a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to write about your stay at the Aston at the Maui Banyan. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the deluxe unit.

We hope to have the opportunity to provide future accommodations to you and would love for you to stay longer than 3 days :o)

Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

we were 5 friends traveling together we booked thru hotels.com and booked a 2 brm 2 bath wth pull out sofer bed as we are 5 females...when booking in we were advised that we had a 2 brm 2 bed only not good for 5 ladies the manager on duty was not very helpful and said that what we had payed for was not guranted[sorry spelling]she basilcaly said thats what we have to take.she finaly had a unit under a make up for us ..we had a look carpets were wet as just cleaned 1 shower not working not good for 5 ladies and other little things but had to take it oh and the pillows were just teribble.We all work in the travel industry and would not book this hotel again or recommed it.

Room Tip: pls ring the hotel direct if u can if booked thru other means as what u pay for is sometimes not wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. We did reserve/guarantee a Standard 2BD/2Bath unit, as booked on a third party website. Since the bedding varies between rooms we try to accommodate all requests but bedding configuration cannot be guaranteed, especially during high occupancy times such as this. After other options the only unit we had open to fit your needs was not yet ready for arrival, as the carpets were still wet from being shampooed. We not only advised you of this but I personally showed the 2 representatives of your group this room to ensure you were completely satisfied.

We truly felt we had been quite accommodating I would have been glad to address any other concerns regarding the shower and pillows had they been brought to my attention while you were here. I was completely sincere when offered for you to let me know if there was anything else we could do to make your stay more enjoyable. It is not only our goal but we take great pride in providing a good product with good customer service.

We really hope that you otherwise enjoyed your vacation.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I wasn't expecting a full kitchen when walking in to our hotel room! We had an oven, microwave, full size fridge. Perfect for a nice family getaway. It was a large room within walking distance to the beach, absolutely perfect. Our closet was full of goodies, and our friends across the hall had different goodies in theirs! Combined we came out with chairs, snorkel gear and tons of other complimentary gear! The lady working the front desk was hilarious and extremely kind and patient. Everything about the hotel made me feel like I was comfortable at home, only on a tropical island! I didn't want to leave! I will definitely be back. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astonmauibanyangm, Manager at Aston at the Maui Banyan, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to write about your recent stay with Aston at the Maui Banyan. We are thrilled to hear that your expectations were exceeded and you truly felt what we call “Aloha”. Making this your home away from home is something we all work very hard at and truly appreciate you sharing how much you enjoyed the property location, complete condo, it’s amenities and our staff. We look forward to your next visit!

A hui hou (until we meet again)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at the Maui Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Maui Banyan

Address: 2575 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Maui Banyan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Maui Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious suites across from the beach. This affordable condominium resort on Maui's South Coast is within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Access to swimming pools, outdoor barbecues and tennis courts and proximity to golf and the beach make this modern resort especially popular with families and larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston at the Maui Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Maui Banyan Hotel Kihei
Resortquest Maui Banyan Kihei
Resort Quest Maui Banyan
Aston At The Maui Banyan Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at the Maui Banyan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.