We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Koa Lagoon to your Saves list
Koa Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   800 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Ogden, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view of the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Koa Lagoon is right on the ocean so you don't have to walk far to get to it. I stayed in room 503 and this condo was in beautiful condition. King size bed, the kitchen was well stocked if you wanted to make a meal. All condos face the ocean with great views. Nice lanai to relax on watching the sun set. Only minutes away from down town Kehie. I had a perfect visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    24
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bed/2 bath condo for 3 adults and 2 kids for one week. We had rung up to see if we could extend out stay for another few days but the price of the car rental and flights were too expensive. We went to safeway and bought our food so we could have meals and pack lunches for our day trips. Having the washer and dryer was very handy with little kids and we used to pool most days. It was whale season when we were there so we would watch them on our lanai every day.
it is a beautiful and relaxing condo right in the middle of the island so driving to kaanapali and wailea wasn't too far.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent 6 nights in unit 505 of KOA Lagoon. The complex is small, private with beautiful ocean views...and was perfect for us! We didn't use the pool...and while it was not very big, was sufficient for the amount of use it got...and was clean with chairs and tables available. Linda (property manager) was great to work with...very responsive! The location was easy to get to and pretty central for many of the things we wanted to do. There are a couple of very nice beaches nearby (10-15 minutes) and Big Beach, one of the nicest beaches I've ever seen) was only about 20 minutes away. The beach outside of the property is nicer to look at than to walk on as it is pretty rocky (small rocks, so with shoes it is fine). Unit 505 is a lovely one bedroom one bath condo. You have great views from the kitchen and living room...and of course the spacious lanai. I spent the first day sitting on the lanai reading a book and enjoying the views and sounds from the ocean. The owners of this condo are very organized and thoughtful...they have provided everything you could possibly need and the furnishings are wonderful...definitely not typical beach furnishings...2 great recliners in the living room!!! The only reason for 4 stars over 5 for this property was the bed. It was a wonderful King size bed...but was way too soft for us...and even seemed to have a little indent on one side . We travel quite a bit and are really not very picky...but really couldn't get a very good night sleep while we were there. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend KOA Lagoon complex...and would also recommend unit 505 if they replaced the mattress.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Room 507 was delightful. Tastefully decorated and very well located. Every single room has a direct view of the ocean. I loved the views, the beautiful beach and the well maintained pool and grounds.
We had a 2 bed, two bath unit and we were very comfortable. We were convenient to everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Absolutely love the Koa Lagoon! I have stayed here many times over the years and would not even consider staying anywhere else! Linda (property manager) is the best there is! She is so great to work with and makes you feel like you are part of a family! This trip we stayed in 501 and loved the unit! Koa Lagoon is not a fancy resort, but all the rooms are ocean view with fabulous lanais looking over the grass and beach. Nice pool for those days when the trades are just too strong for beaching it! Beautiful sunsets from your own unit every night!The beach is not one that calls for lounge chairs and swimming, but with so many beaches to offer in the area why limit yourself to just one anyway? We love the location, and you can't beat the price. Plus these units are airconditioned, and each has washer and dryer in the unit! Best deal on Maui!

Room Tip: Opt to go for the "deluxe" units. They have been more recently updated. I prefer the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have stayed in many hotels, condos and visited friends at their VRBOs (the third condo in just this trip) and nothing compares to comfort and quality of #605.

The location is great, last trip we stayed on the NW cost near Kahana but we much prefer North Kihei. Not as busy, nice walking beaches, lots of amenities, close to Kahului. Linda the Manager was very nice, easy to chat with and helpful.

The grounds are nice and well kept, the building is well maintained and very clean and the area is quiet, could not hear any street noise from inside the room, out on the lanai or on the lawn.

Unit 605 is IMMACULATE, view from the lanai WONDERFUL, the décor IMPRESSIVE, Unit is LARGE for a beach condo, BEST equipped condo we have every stayed in, King bed COMFORTABLE, cool having TWO AC units and lots of fans, handy having a fridge with ICE dispenser in the door, lots of cable channels, FREE long distance to US and Canada,
GREAT price/quality.

The air conditioner by the bed can be bothersome but if the fan is set to low and the air deflector pointed towards the floor it’s no problem, just comfortable and cool.

LOTS of HELPFUL instructions, books and brochures were available in the room and the lobby.

Some other reviews have commented about the noise from the air circulation system. It’s a building system intended to keep the moisture level in check. We didn’t consider the white noise an issue at all, some units may be better than others, after thinking about it we realized it was GREAT not to have clammy sheets, towels, clothes and no musty smell. Good onya Koa Lagoon.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter & have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed in 304. there ws bsolutely everything you need fo a home wy from home. The only thing we needed to supply for ouselves was our clothing, toiletries & food if we were to eat in. there was beach chairs, beach towles, boggie boards, books on the area - things to see & do, the list is endless!!!

There was lots of room, there was 5 staying & space was not an issue. Lovely condo in a lovely spot. Can't wait to go back Mahalo Maui

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koa Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Lagoon

Address: 800 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koa Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Koa Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Lagoon Hotel Kihei
Koa Lagoon Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.