We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koa Lagoon Unit 603” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koa Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Koa Lagoon to your Saves list
Koa Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   800 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Koa Lagoon Unit 603”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We did a lot of research before picking this fantastic apartment in North Kihie. As a special treat to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary i wanted my wife to experience a tropical island (as well as ticking off a bucket list of flying around the world). I had previously been to Honolulu and cant say that I was all that impressed but had heard good things about Maui so decide to give Hawaii a second chance (glad I did). The fight from UK was pretty exhausting with a 5 hour lay over in LAX (glad I pre booked the business lounge) we finally arrived in Maui and after picking up a rental arrived at to Koa Lagoon about 10pm local (27 hours travelling door to door). My wife's face when she went out onto the lanai the next morning was proof that the planning, cost andjourney had been worth it. The apartment was perfect with all the amenities that were needed and the location was great. A small ABC store, just down the road had been able to supply us with the basics until we were able to do a larger grocery shop once we had located our bearings and explored the area a little bit. The pool area was used by my wife to catch the sun whilst I went scuba diving in the mornings and the we would go out in the afternoon/evening to various parts of the island. All in all Maui has redemed my thoughts of Hawaii and if I got the chance to go back I would definitley look at the Koa Lagoon again.
On the down side and this is very minor I needed to acquire a car parking pass, the instructions gave a contact phone number for which I left a message, only later bumping into Edward the groundman/maintance guy who explained that this had now changed and he issued me one there and then, and the fact the the exterior of the building was being cleaned and repainted by a couple of guys in a hoist that had not been communicated about, I felt that this was a bit intrusive but as we were only in the place for part of the day it was no big deal.

I would highley recomend this rental to anyone who is thinking about it

Room Tip: 603 is on the top floor and has panoramic views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    24
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The place is just wonderful, in front of the ocean. We found everything we needed and more! The apartment was very big, with washing machine, dryer, microwave, equipped kitchen, really everything. The only problem was a noice (24hours a day) which seemd to come from the ventilation system. We stayed in the 602.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights here after enjoying 3 nights on Kaanapali at a large resort. Really you can't compare the 2. Both were equally pleasant, but the better bang for your buck was this lovely oceanfront condo. We were able to book a 2 bedroom oceanfront condo here for the cost of a studio with a partial ocean view on Kaanapali. We, also, found the Koa Lagoon to be quieter and more relaxing which is so appreciated when you are on Maui. It's location is spot on being a short drive (about 20 minutes) from the airport; 30-35 minutes to Lahaina; and very close to beautiful white sand beaches (i.e. "Big Beach"). Also, the place was stocked with everything you needed for the beach: short beach chairs, a lounge chair and lots of beach towels. Nice to have a washer and dryer in the room although we didn't use it this trip. Loved sitting out on the lanai and reading with my favorite beverage while listening to the ocean. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and so the highway noise wasn't too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The fun part of staying at a condo is you could buy one someday, and if it's an affordable oceanfront, which all of the Koa Lagoon's units are, it's a real possibility. It's a home, just not yours yet, but it can make your trip feel like a trial run. Vacations can do that to you.

This property has 42 units that are all oceanfront, as opposed to many places that are separated from the beach by South Kihei Road, which is a fairly busy road. And all the units face west for those photographers and sunset lovers especially. The property is currently going through renovations and the completed units are called Deluxe and the ones that aren't yet done are Standard. The Deluxe are well worth the extra $10.00 a day, don't give it a second thought. The outdoor pool has barbecue right next to it and plenty of grass for kids to run on.

This is a central location on the island which shortens your driving time wherever you go. Many island tour companies pick up at the Koa. I took the all day Road to Hana tour, and I know just where I'd like to go back to next time. You can see Haleakala from the front of the building, and that is a trip that that you have to make if you haven't already. To park at 10,000' above the clouds is surreal.

It's a 20 minute drive or so up to Lahaina, which is a popular dining and shopping area, and you don't have to be a Fleetwood Mac fan (though I am) to enjoy Mick Fleetwood's 2nd & 3rd story restaurant on Front Street. He's known to drop in, I just missed him.

I'll have to drop in again, after I've bought a condo. Vacations can do that to you.

Room Tip: This is one of the few places where you really can't miss with any room. I chose a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Koa Lagoon is listed as a 'solid gold value' in the 'Maui Revealed' book (Wizard Publications). We were delighted to find that to be the case. We stayed at Koa Lagoon in 2005 and again more recently in unit 607 in May 2013. We came back for the central location with ocean and mountain views at a very affordable rate. We rented unit 607 through the vrbo website directly from the owner. The sixth (top) floor unit has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a full kitchen with washer and dryer, eating area, living area, and a very large lanai with straight on ocean and partial mountain views. The complex offered free parking and there is an elevator, a small koi pond with a waterfall, a well-kept swimming pool, and a very lovely back lawn by the beach, fully equipped with two large well maintained propane grills shared by the complex. We were quite pleased with the accomodations. We stocked up on essentials at Costco and Walmart, which are about 20 minutes drive from Koa Lagoon.

We spent our ten day trip touring the island, traveling to the top of Haleakala to see the sun rise, driving around the west side with it's blow holes and lava swimming pools, and taking the twisty trip to Hana, where we found the Seven Sacred Pools and Alelele falls, our own private waterfall in the jungle. Our favorite beaches were in Wailea, such soft sand, a few shady spots, great snorkeling, and a fairly short drive from the condo complex. The paved beach walk along the coastline behind the resorts in that area is lovely too.

We woke up each morning to a gorgeous beach view from a nicely private lanai, away from the crowds and expense of a typical resort. The owner allowed us a very late check out, very much appreciated as we had a late flight out, and no one really wants to leave paradise anyway.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, we liked being on a top floor with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Koa Lagoon April of 2013, unit 206 for 9 nights. The condo was perfect size, updated, spotless, and stocked with everything you could imagine, from every kitchen utensil to extra linens, hairdryer, beach umbrella, & plenty of towels. We could not have been happier staying at this resort. The view from lanai was breathtaking each morning and sunset every evening. Very convenient to restaurants, shopping, kayak & paddleboard rentals, many attractions,and beaches. The reviews state the beach is not good for swimming, a bit rocky, but if you wear swim shoes it's perfect for a dip. Our original booking was for 5 nights and 4 nights at a different hotel. Once we arrived at Koa we couldn't imagine staying elsewhere. We inquired about extending out stay, Linda, the manager, was MORE than accomodating and let us make the change with no problem. Our flight home wasn't until 9 p.m., we had no problem arranging a late check out so we could comfortably enjoy our last day in Maui. Again, we could not have asked for a nicer place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in unit 402 during a 4 day trip to Maui, our first ever trip to Hawaii. Very clean, with all the things we needed to cook and be comfortable. Close to the Pacific Whale Foundation just up the road, where we did both a whale watching trip and a snorkeling trip to Molokini Trip. Our trip was made easier by cooking our own meals and sharing dinner and conversation as the sun went down. The unit was reasonably priced and easy to book, close to shopping and grocery stores in Kihei. We had four people in a one bedroom unit (one of the kids rotated sleeping on a sleeping pad/sleeping bag on the floor each night), and we found it quite spacious.

Room Tip: Unit 402 was a good situation for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koa Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koa Lagoon

Address: 800 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Koa Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Koa Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koa Lagoon Hotel Kihei
Koa Lagoon Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koa Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.