We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kamaole sands is great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Kamaole Sands to your Saves list
Castle Kamaole Sands
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2695 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Concord, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Kamaole sands is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Really nice staff! The beach is just across the street and the unit we stayed in had everything we needed for the beach including boogie boards! there was a very nice discount for groceries at the Foodland groceries store down the street as well. the TV was the only problem they didn't have the right remote for the t.v..just 2 remotes for two other brands of t.v...But we ended up just using our laptop to watch movies. When we make our next trip to Maui were are definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Manager at Castle Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Kamaole Sands.
I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Please let me know what unit you stayed in so that we may replace the TV remote(s) in question.
Warm regards,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    257
    93
    62
    43
See reviews for
272
186
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wow - what can I say that has not already been said positively. We got a nice ground floor room across from pool and the room had everything you need including a fully equipped kitchen (though Maui had a lot of eating out options too) :) ! Nice lanai with all the snorkeling beach going needs taken care of also. Only regret is we could not have stayed longer!!! Maui is awesome and so was Castle Kamaole Sands.

Room Tip: rooms across from pool for easy access!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We traveled to Maui in mid-September and it was HOT. The 2-bedroom unit we were given was on the top floor and the master bedroom was really a loft with a vaulted ceiling (read: no insulation). The sun beating down on the roof turned the loft bedroom into an inferno, and the tiny air-conditioning unit on the 1st floor was wholly inadequate to cool anything but about a 10-foot radius around it.

We contacted the front desk and they were able to provide a different room but, due to a miscommunication, it was also one of the units with a vaulted ceiling. It wasn't until the next day that we were able to get a single-floor 2-bedroom unit, but it was worth it. All the while, the staff was very understanding and accommodating. The woman at the front desk turned a disaster into a very nice stay. In any case, if you need a two-bedroom, you should request a single-story unit.

That said, this is a really nice complex with beautiful grounds, and it's located right across the street from Kamaole Beach Park III, which is nice for a quick swim or just hanging out. In addition, the road that bounds the north end of the complex leads directly to Pilani Hwy, so you can quickly be on your way to anywhere else on the island.

In short, I highly recommend Kamaole Sands and would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid the two-bedroom units on the top floor in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Spent a week here in August 2013 just my teen daughter and I. We felt very safe and comfy at all times. Bldg was right across from pool which offered a delightful mai tai mixer on Wednesday afternoon. Nice large spacious unit with all the necessities...beach chairs and umbrella...but no boogie board or beach towels. Right across from a very decent beach, but we are beach snobs, so we drove everyday down (11 minutes) to Makena beach. This condo is in Kiehi...but right at the southern tip and you drive two minutes you are in Wailea. Like staying in Wailea without the huge price tag! We were on the second floor, but try and get 1st floor for the big patio on the big grassy lawn areas instead of just a balcony. For all you tennis players...the 4 courts are in very good condition...no weeds and minimal cracks. We will stay here again as the location and price just can't be beat!

Room Tip: Ask for first floor to get a big patio instead of just a small balcony...the complex is gated and sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful upgraded condo 5-408 in June 13-24. Family of 4 (2 kids, one is teenager:) spent amazing 11 days in Maui. It was our first trip to the island of Maui and it took us some time to research vacation properties in the area. We found this property, talked to the owners (they've been amazing and 100% helpful - replied speedy quick, very understanding and provided tons of extra pictures and answered all our questions!), and finally arrived. We knew right away that it was the best choice possibly made. The location is prime, building 5 is the best, Kamaole sand beach itself is very beautiful. Even though we drove to see all the famous beaches nearby (it's true - the best beaches from every guide book are 5 min. driving at the most!), our kids preferred the one that is 2 min. walk from condo's door. Property itself is nicely upgraded and absolutely well kept and clean (nice housekeeping lady by the way - met her! and we forgot our iPhone charger - they send it back to us!). it has everything and more for great family vacation. We loved our lanai, we watched kids enjoying the pool just from it. It's so convenient! Food around is great. Couple of high class restaurants in walking distance from Kamaole sands, breakfast, lunch, dinner - anything you craving - very close - walk or drive 2 min. About car parking - just 10 steps from the elevator! But it's the opposite side from the view windows, no smoke or noise, really cool! Kids park, with playground, roller skate ring, picnic areas - very close. Shopping - grocery or gifts - 5 different locations, very close. Costco and Walmart (if you have to go there - 15 min. sightseeing driving! - no far at all!) We are definitely are going to stay here again and we recommend it to all our friends. You will not be disappointed. Promise.

Room Tip: room 5-408 is the best, building 5 with ocean/pool view. 4th floor - high ceiling, no one above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A few problems upon arrival were quickly rectified. The torn screen in the bedroom made the window not useable. This was promptly repaired the following day. Room was not ready until almost 4 PM - they indicated 3 PM check in time. The ceiling fan in the living room didn't work. Maintenance quickly arrived to fix the situation. After these issues, was smooth sailing. Great location with a swimming beach across the street from the complex that was also a great place to watch sunsets. Concierge hooked me up with a discounted snorkeling trip to Molikini & turtle bay. Very close to restaurants & bars. I'm an ocean person, but there was a pool & hot tubs on premise. The condo itself was nice - comfortable bed, safe in room, large living room opened up to a lanai. TV's in both the bedroom & living room. Full service kitchen & 2 bathrooms rounded out the condo. This is a condo complex, so there is no room service like a hotel - there is an extra charge for maid service. The one annoyance is petty - they charge $2 per day to use the in room safe. Should be free as it doesn't cost them anything. Would definitely stay here again when I return to Maui.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Last weekend, a group of four golfers including myself stayed at Kamaole Sands for two nights. We had stayed several times in the past and for the most part, everything was as expected. Two annoyances though. When reservations were made I requested separate sleeping arrangements. I was told the room would have two twins, a queen and a sofa bed. Perfect! But when we went to out room we were one bed short. The front desk remedied the situation changing our room to one which would accommodate everyone. The second annoyance was a resort charge of $26 which were not expecting. I don't take issue with the amount, simply the fact that I was not advised in advance. These kinds of surprises are unnecessary. Just tell us what all the charges will be up front. Don't surprise guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Kamaole Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kamaole Sands

Address: 2695 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kamaole Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamaole Sands is set amid tropical gardens with waterfalls and ponds, across from a scenic Maui beack park. One-, two-, and three-bedroom suites have full-kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and kids wading pool, jet spas, barbecue grills, and a weekly Mai Tai party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castle Kamaole Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Sands Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Sands Maui
Kamaole Sands Resort
Castle Kamaole Sands Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kamaole Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.