We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great condos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Kamaole Sands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Kamaole Sands to your Saves list
Castle Kamaole Sands
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2695 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Yorba Linda, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great condos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Excellent condo. We enjoy our stay in a 3 bedroom. Fully furnished, plenty of towels and washer and dryer for our laundry. The gate is a nice comfort gives you extra piece of mind. I thought it was going to be a nuisance but when we came at night is nice to just swept the card key and know that not every body have access to your car.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Castle Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for writing a review for Kamaole Sands on Maui’s South shore. This is a great property for couples, families or a single person traveling and security is taken very seriously. There is a security guard on duty and the two entrances that are on the sides of the property (not entering in front of the front desk) are secured with a gate for cars and foot traffic. I am glad that this feature helped to make you feel more comfortable while on vacation. We hope that you had a great time swimming at the pool and playing in the water across the street at Kamaole 3 beach. Please think of us when planning your next Maui vacation. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.
Mahalo, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    257
    93
    62
    43
See reviews for
272
186
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our place, unit 8-410 was just what we expected form the pictures. We were thinking it might be too good to be true but that was not the case. We went in went in Sept., which is a low season so we go the place for $120 per night. The kitchen and baths were totally updated and the furniture was comfortable. The kitchen was very well stocked with most anything you needed. The play things were well stocked as well (snorkel gear, boggy boards, beach towels, etc.). Even though the master is a loft style room it felt private. We would like to have something other than 2 twins in the second room but knew when we booked that that was the set up (2 couple went). Beds were a bit hard for my liking but everyone else seem to think they were fine, guess that is a personal preference. The pool area was very nice with a family spa as well as an adult spa, which we liked since we were kindles. Going in September, there aren’t really many children other than babies. There was a fantastic grill area. The beech was very nice just across the street. We did have an ant problem but they had a notice that they would be exterminating on the day we checked out. All in all, I would recommend unit 8-410 and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Castle Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for your review of unit 8-410 at Kamaole Sands. I am a manager with Maui Condo and Home, the rental management company for this unit. One of our services for our guests is having photos and descriptions of all of our units on our website so you know exactly what you are getting, which in your case worked out perfectly. I am so happy to hear that you were very satisfied with the accommodations that you chose. This property is great for couples and families and I am glad that your party really enjoyed the pool and bbq areas. The beach gear must have come in handy on days when you are relaxing at the beach. We would love to help you plan your next Maui vacation and if you call us we can help recommend a unit that fits all your needs including two queen or King beds instead of twins. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.
Mahalo, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We rented a very nice unit with a decent view. Our first disappointment was with the office staff...rude and unhelpful. Fortunately, we only had to deal with them one other time.

Ingress and egress into the property is not easy and parking is tight; especially if there is a full-size vehicle next to you. Even if everyone parks dead center, not much room to get in and out of your car.

The poperty is directly accross the street from a popular park. Convenient for those who have kids with them.

Our unit, and several we considered, only had A/C in the living room. This turned out to be a MAJOR problem. We had an ocean view which meant the setting sun shined directly into the unit; including the master bedroom. The bedroom traped the heat from the sun. Even with the ceiling fan and three other fans going, the bedroom did not cool off enough for a comfortable nights sleep. One us had to sleep on the couch under the only A/C and the other had to tough it out. Opening the windows did not help. Leaving the air and fans on all day did not either. It is just uncomfortable in the bedroom....period.

Also, we had construction next door for one day. Very annoying. Also, we learned management changed something with the plumbing about a year ago which has caused toilets to stop up. Also, annoying.

If I could find a unit with full A/C, I might consider staying here again but given everything, I recommend staying elsewhere.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a response. I'm not sure you stayed in a unit that we manage, but we do manage the front desk staff and we will address your rudeness comments with them. We apologize if you felt slighted in anyway. It is your comments that help improve our service. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our first stay at Kam Sands and we were very excited to be just across the road from one our favorite beaches Kam Beach 3. The unit we stayed in was very close to the pool and also just a short walk to the beach. It was nicely updated and had great decor throughout. However, the property management and staff were a constant nag and seemed to be right there when we were above a whisper be it in the pool or in our own condo. I have a 10mo old and 2 & 1/2 yr old and on our 2nd night the kids still hadnt adjusted to the time change and so we were up very early and decided to go for a walk instead of making noise while everyone else slept. On our return we were harrased by managment above our unit and then she proceeded to call our condo 2min later. I was trying to be respectful of others and be as quiet as possible by leaving with my two little ones, yet still managed to make too much noise in doing so. So I guess if you are retired or are traveling with no kids this spot will work just fine. But still keep in mind the staff will be on you for any loud noise at all...that goes for enjoying the pool. We were in the baby pool with just my husband and 10mo old and no others around and they still had to tell us to be quiet. (I dont consider us to be a rowdy bunch...really!) In talking with others at the pool I found out we were not the only ones who had "been in trouble" with the staff. So in the future we will be staying at a different place that is more kid friendly and not so stringent with their noise level. It is a vacation after all and we should be able to enjoy ourselves and not have to walk on eggshells the entire time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments. We do understand your concerns re: noise. I will ask the staff to be more understanding/considerate when approaching guests with young children. We are a wonderful complex and do not want guests to feel uncomfortable at any time. We do, however, let guests know at check in that quiet hours begin at 10 pm for the comfort of all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

In general, the Kam Sands is fine in that it does the trick for thise in need of a resort-lite experience near the beach. Some dos and don'ts:
Do: expect your mixed grill of vacationers, time sharers and locals of all ages.
Do: buy some ant traps while you're making your grocery run.
Do: head to the pool, especially on windy days. There's a little reception on Wednesdays, and the pool is large and clean.
Don't: Take a unit near the stairs or elevators, unless you want to hear foot traffic outside your bedroom as if it's IN your bedroom. (Due to the way the bedroom is vented.)
Don't: expect repair issues to get fixed right away--or ever.
Don't: play Marco polo at the pool. No joke; pool security shuts down any attempt at this game, no matter how nicely or quietly your children may play it.

Nice grounds, so-so units that are badly formatted for the flow of cool air. One bedroom units are fine for a family of 3, considering there's little closet space. Front desk staff are on the off-putting side; you might find the gated parking lot a comfort or a pain, depending on your temprament for such things. Not too close nor too far from S Kihei Road and Kam 3 beach, but not as close as stumbling distance to restaurants and bars as some other offerings.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Castle Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for your helpful review of Kamaole Sands. You did not specify who you booked through, but we are Maui Condo and Home, a vacation rental management company who manages many units at Kamaole Sands. Thank you for sharing your do’s and Don’ts as I know many readers appreciate it. Kamaole Sands has always been a Family Friendly property and it may have been that in the past the noise complaints have been very strong from other guests, so games such as Marco –polo are now frowned upon. I do agree that this property is in great proximity to Kamaole 3 Beach, which is a favorite beach for many. As a property management company we do try our best to make our guests feel welcome and feel as though they are at their home away from Home. We thank you for staying at Kamaole Sands and we hope that you return on your next Maui Vacation. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.
Mahalo, Marina, Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The grounds are very nice. Can't complain about access to a great beach right across the street. The units are spacious and almost all of them fact the garden or partial ocean view. Problem is having the bedroom in the back with no air conditioning can make for a warm or noisy night. Other minor complaints, no wireless access in the units and poolside tile becomes scorching hot during the day. Otherwise a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are great for kids to play on the grass and access the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your response. Kamaole Sands does have great and spacious units with the 1 bedroom being the smallest at 818 sq. ft. which includes 2 bathrooms, full kitchen,spacious livimng room, and washer/dryer. WIFI property wide is coming soon. WIFI is currently available at the pool and the registration lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay within walking distance to great beaches and restaurants. This was a mom and daughter trip that was packed with activities.Our unit was ground level with a partial ocean view. We sat outside in the afternoon and read while having cocktails. We walked right across the street to sun and swim at the beach. There were many snorkelers that saw turtles too. It does get very windy around 1 o'clock in the afternoon, so we walked back to the pool or went shopping. The condos are individually owned and so we had very nice furnishings. Our unit had boogie boards, two sizes of ice chests, rattan beach mats, noodles and beach umbrellas. The only thing we missed were beach towels which we ended up buying. The staff was very attentive and we did have housekeeping once as we stayed for 7 nights. If you are planning to do alot up in Lahaina or Kaanapali it is quite a drive, about 35 minutes.

Room Tip: Pay more for the garden or partial ocean view it would be well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MauiCondoMarina, Manager at Castle Kamaole Sands, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for your review and for sharing your mom and daughter trip to Kamaole Sands. I agree that the Kamaole Sands is in a Great location and is within walking distance of restaurants and kamaole III beach, located across the street. It is very exciting that you got to see Honu’s (Sea Turtles) while snorkeling. I still get excited each time I see them while snorkeling. I am not sure if we were your rental agent, but we are happy that you and your daughter had a great trip to Maui and that you enjoyed Kamaole Sands. Please consider Kamaole Sands on your next relaxing trip to Maui.
Mahalo, Marina, Maui Condo and Home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Kamaole Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kamaole Sands

Address: 2695 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kamaole Sands 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamaole Sands is set amid tropical gardens with waterfalls and ponds, across from a scenic Maui beack park. One-, two-, and three-bedroom suites have full-kitchens and washer/dryers. Amenities include tennis courts, a swimming pool and kids wading pool, jet spas, barbecue grills, and a weekly Mai Tai party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castle Kamaole Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamaole Sands Hotel Kihei
Kamaole Sands Maui
Kamaole Sands Resort
Castle Kamaole Sands Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kamaole Sands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.