We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Vacation...room #162” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Kamaole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hale Kamaole to your Saves list
Hale Kamaole
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   2737 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Vacation...room #162”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just got back from Maui yesterday. My daughter and I went on the trip and we stayed in unit #162. Great little unit, very clean and wonderful neighbours! We found everyone to be very nice and helpful when we were there. Pools are fabulous..not to many people..just enough and everyone was so friendly. Every evening at 6pm a group of folks get together at the front of pool 1 (if saying on top pool, they will gather there) to blow the conch to pay tribute to the sunset. They invited my daughter along and she ended up getting a t-shirt saying she was a memeber of the Hale Kamaole Conch band. It was amazing! I would recommend renting a car, although bus is great they only run every hour and last bus is at 8:30. Fabulous beach Kamaole Beach III great park and water is pretty calm in the morninngs and rougher in the afternoon. There are resturants withen walking distance..but if you want to go to the Mall or see other things.. I would get a car!

I have no complaints about the condo expect the walls and floors are thin and you can hear your neighbour above you if you are on a groud floor, but for how often we actually spent in the room it was fine. They pretty well went to bed when we did so there was zero noise at night.

I would recommend these condo's...you can also go on VRBO and rent directly from the owner which is what I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kamaole, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your review of Hale Kamaole. Our condo management company does not manage room #162, but we are glad you enjoyed the property, conch blowing sunset event, and convenient location close to beaches and restaurants.

Happy travels,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    52
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
52
31
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family and I just came back from vacation in Maui, where we stayed at the Hale Kamaole condos in Kihei. This is a great place to stay - centrally located to all the things to do on Maui, across the street from fabulous beaches, and walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Our condo was updated and clean and the complex was very well kept and managed. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Book it through the Hale Kamaole condo association. They do not charge a cleaning fee, nor do they r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

When we first got in our rented unit at Hale Kamaole, (unit #335)  Kihei area, it was well cleaned and vacuumed. We stayed there for 11 days. There was only  small air conditioners inside the rooms but the ceiling fans helped in cooling down the house. We found minor problems, like the fridge is not cooling enough, big cockroaches in the bathrooms( we killed 3!),  garbage disposal not working, leaky pipe in one of the bathrooms.  Everything was brought to the attention of the property management. They fixed the leaky pipe in the bathroom and garbage disposal,  the rest of the problems we had to bare with it. Our family had fun in our condo unit, with 2 bedrooms, loft and a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. :)) There was a sofa bed in the loft and in the  living room and a queen size bed in both rooms, a washer and dryer in the unit and a complimentary internet service. We we're in the 3rd floor and for the family of 6 with 2 toddlers, it's quite hard to move without making minimal noises. Our neighbor in the 2nd floor knocked our door twice and in a sarcastic way told us if there's an Olympic athlete practicing in our unit. Anyway, we apologized for the noises, it was our 2 toddlers running back and forth, hey, it's our vacation we don't want to stress out dealing with our kids who's just having fun! After the neighbor got irritated with our kids footsteps, every now and then we have to remind them of our upset neighbor... My 2 yr old said " neighbor knocked door!" lol . We even had a little confrontation with that neighbor because he gave us a little stress during our vacation. Anyway, if you have kids, it would be better to ask for a unit on the ground floor. ( just suggesting!) I would give Hale Kamaole Condominiums  3 stars! It was good but not that great! Not bad at all.. I can live with cockroaches as long as it wouldn't go to the kitchen and our food, and luckily we didn't find one in the kitchen. (of course, what we don't know won't hurt us!) get ready for your hydrocortisone and Benadryl, lots of biting insects in the unit and in he Island of Maui, that's because of the tropical weather and that would be part of your vacation. The beach is just across the street which is the Kamaole III, very nice to swim at and watch for the sunset. Don't forget your sunblock too and be ready for the commodities prices- everything's expensive in the island!  

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kamaole, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of a Hale Kamaole two-bedroom condo. It sounds like you family had a memorable trip to Maui and enjoyed the pool, nearby beach, and internet service. I am glad you let us know about the leaky pipe and garbage disposal so that we could take care of it promptly.

As for the bugs, Hale Kamaole tries to curb any problem by fumigating all condos once every three months, and we also can put bug killer in your unit to take care of any unwanted guests.

Mahalo, and we hope to see your family again for your next Maui visit.

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Pros - ease of use and central location in Kihei, comfortable, condo has washer/dryer, beach towels, cooler to take to beach, front and back patios, ceiling fans, assigned parking spot, and keyless entry. Appreciated Foodland discount card/coupon for groceries.
Cons - doors, walls, handles and light switches were so dirty so we had to do some cleaning and wiping at the outset, older decor, plug in internet access only.
Unit 108

Room Tip: No ocean or view from unit 108, patio faces other units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kamaole, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of Hale Kamaole. We do not manage unit 108 so I can not speak to the cleanliness of the condo, but I am glad you enjoyed the properties amenities such as in-unit washer/dryer, assigned parking spot, spacious lanai, and close proximity to the beach.

I hope you choose to return to Hale Kamaole for your next trip to Maui!

Mahalo,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights. Our unit 110 was dirty, plates were dirty dated decor, old noisy air con. Just 2 small pools and tennis court in complex. If booking ask for condo with views. These were nicer. Handy location to kehei, we hired bikes to get around as public transport is not good. We had friends staying here too and some of their condoms were very nice. I think ours was the worst in the complex. I still rate this place as good value for beach access and grounds are kept well. Just ask for a modern clean unit as ours was awful. We paved around $120 per night as did our other friend. We booked through condominium rentals as the complex is owned by 2 different letting companies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kamaole, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for bringing the cleanliness of the plates and noise of the air conditioner to our attention. I can assure you that we have a professional cleaning crew come in and clean all our condos before and after each guest’s arrival. I will send cleaners to this unit to inspect the dishes as well as maintenance to investigate the AC. I will also pass on your thoughts surrounding the décor to the owners of this unit. As you may or may not know, each owner can choose to decorate their condo differently.

I am glad however that you rated your overall experience as a good value that was walking distance to the beaches. $130 is a great price to pay for a night in the heart of Kihei at a great condo complex like Hale Kamaole!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed in unit 139 for 8 days in May 2012. The unit was a 1 bdrm bottom floor (the lanai faced the pool which was never busy) with a pull out sofa, full kitchen with plenty of dishes and cookware, apartment size washer/dryer with enough detergent for 3 loads. There was a window unit in the bedroom that we barely used(worked well) and ceiling fans in the bedroom/ living room. The unit could use a little updating, we blew a fuse twice when reheating food in the microwave. (We had the tv/lights/ceiling fans and stove on along with the microwave when it blew....we figured out the microwave is what did it, so we made sure not to have all that running when the microwave was in use...a minor inconvenience). This location is directly across the street from Kamaole Beach III--perfect location to watch the sunsets. There is literally no available parking near sunset so this was a great advantage. Lahaina is about 30-45 minute drive depending on traffic.If you don't rent a car, Maui has a bus system, bike rentals, moped rentals, etc. You have a beautiful view of the mountains on the other side of the complex. As with any bottom floor apartment, you can hear the people upstairs walking around and hear the water from the shower.Not really a huge issue. We live in the Midwest so we were ready for bed by 8-9pm Maui time most nights. We didn't have any real noise issues. I could tell the upstairs people had a toddler who ran around in the evening, it sounded like they were on the same time schedule as us b/c it would get quite around 8pm. It appeared most ppl in this complex went to bed and woke up around the same time. This unit also has a storage closet outside on the lanai that had boogie boards, snorkel equipment, umbrellas and chairs and misc. toys for children. Overall, this was a great price for the accommodation/location and would definitely stay here again. Keep in mind each condo is individually owned. Also, we never saw a single sugar ant, which was a concern b/c we had read alot of comments where ppl complained about bugs/ants. We also used Boss Frog to book all of our excursions they have 8 locations on the island and they also rent just about anything you need. Book before you leave for Maui b/c alot of activies fill up fast. Foodland grocery store is nearby and so is Long's Drugs (has food/alcohol, souvies, etc and is sometimes cheaper than Foodland). Groceries are expensive so be prepared, if you have reusable bags, bring them, there's no plastic on the island. They have paper bags and some places will give you a discount for bringing your reusable/paper bags. BYOB stands for Bring Your Own Bag, not Beer.... LIVE ALOHA !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kamaole, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for the kind review of Hale Kamaole and one of the units we manage (#139)! We are glad you enjoyed the close proximity to Kamaole Beach Park III and the storage unit that included boogie boards and other beach gear. Next time you return, I encourage you to take advantage of the special 10% OFF grocery card we have with Foodland, which will save you on some of those grocery visits.

Mahalo,
Allan
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My family and I have been to Hale Kamaole 5 times over the last 10 years and each time we have a great experience. Yes the units can be sometimes a little outdated (we have stayed in 4 different units) the grounds, location, and people we meet are exceptional .

The location is great because it is close to the beach (Kam 3) , but you are far enough away you dont have to deal with the wind that often comes up in the afternoon making the beach chilly and sand is blowing everywhere. The grounds are constantly kept in excellent shape and you see the workers outside everyday gardening and general upkeep. The complex is friendly and the barbecue pit and the pool side are the places to socialize! There are always kids running and the complex in general is very family friendly.

Most recently we were there over Christmas. My family usually goes in the summer so this was a new crowd and even more families were present, even though it was busier, it was a lot of fun! On Christmas eve we went around and sang carols in a big group of 30 or 40(all ages) and lots of people had strung christmas lights on palm trees and around there lanais!
Over the years Hale Kamaole feels like home, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Kamaole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kamaole

Address: 2737 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Kamaole 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hale Kamaole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kamaole Hotel Kihei
Hale Kamaole Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Kamaole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.