We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely View and Right on the Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Kai O'kihei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hale Kai O'kihei to your Saves list
Hale Kai O'kihei
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1310 Uluniu Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely View and Right on the Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in #307 in August 2012 for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. I was determined to stay right on the beach, rather than across the road from the busy beaches further south in Kihei. It was a perfect location, literally 2 minute walk to a good grocery store, and central location for traveling around the island. Our unit was clean and had everything we needed, including deck chairs and beach mats in the closet. Kihei itself (further south) was not our 'cup of tea', mostly bars and restaurants and beaches perhaps more suited to young families and teens. So we were pleased with the location. As for the remarks about the beach in front of the condo not being great, we thought it was beautiful and perfect for swimming, long stretches of beautiful sand, with no one on them, very quiet. (We live on the west coast so compared to our beaches covered in driftwood and seaweed, it was heaven to us.)
We had no interaction with the building manager, so cannot comment. The wifi worked best in the living room and on the lanai, but that was fine with us. I would recommend this unit. We are already saving up to return. Mahalo to Hale Kai O'Kehei.

Room Tip: I would definitely avoid the main floor. Everyone walks past to the beach or sits on the lawn in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Mahalo for your great review of Hale Kai O Kihei. Although we do not manage the exact condo you stayed in, we are glad you enjoyed the property, the fun beach in front, and the nearby stores such as Times Market. We are glad to hear you are already planning your return trip!

Happy travels,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stay here several times a year. We have mentioned several times to the Rental company that the propery manager is rude, non-ALOHA spirit, and frankly, we have rarely seen him "manage" anything except for making guests feel not welcome.

This trip is no different. We are staying in unit 101, and the entire property is advertised as having "free wi-fi". Well, there is, if you want to take your computer or mobile device out on the lanai or out into the lawn. Within the unit there is NO wi-fi signal at all. We called the condo rental company (CRH Maui) and we were told it is a property management issue, they gave us the managers number. We reported the issue to the manager who stated that it was "not my problem" and that "im NOT climbing up a tree to fix it..." He went on to state that there are antennas at both ends of the property that "point into the middle" of the property!! Geeee, do you think that may be a problem for the units on the ends??? When I told him that I work in IT, he said "I don't need Bill Gates..."

Don't get me wrong, we love this property and have been here many times, just not sure if we will continue to come here if the same manager is in place!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your repeat visits to Hale Kai O’Kihei. I am glad you enjoy the property! We are not aware of any other complaints about the onsite building manager, but will pass on your comments to the association president, who he works for.

We will also work with the association to see if they can improve the quality of the WiFi signal by adding more wireless routers.

Mahalo for bringing this to our attention.

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and i shared a 2 bedroom condo with my parents last Nov (unit 116) and got what we paid for. We had been very happy that we had secured a 2 bedroom on a oceanfront condo for only approx $129 a night. My parents and myself stayed at this complex 33 years before so we had an idea of what to expect. Yes the complex is older but it was clean and has magnificent views of the nightly sunsets. It is in an ideal location, on the beach with a short walk to groceries and restaurants. The unit we stayed in i knew would be somewhat older and no frills based on the pictures and I was prepared for that, however the unit was much more worn that we expected, filthy carpet, marked walls and very outdated kitchen. We are very low maintenance people and did not let the condition of the condo effect our vacation. I would not hesitate to stay at this complex again, however I would find another unit unless i knew that it had been renovated. Many of the other units I did see looked very nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Aloha,

I am glad you would not hesitate to return to the Hale Kai O Kihei on your next vacation. We agree that the location is great (right on the beach and walking distance to groceries, shops, and restaurants).
I am not sure if you stayed through our condo management company or not, as we hire professional cleaners to thoroughly clean our condos after every visit. For your next visit, I encourage you to work with your travel agent or one of our agents to look through photos and condo details to assure we find you the perfect unit that meets your needs.
Thanks again for the review!

Allan
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I was relocated to this complex for a 3 week stay in February 2012. I prefer not to stay in Kihei, but this place was great. It is directly oceanfront and has a great view of the ocean, Molokini, Kooholawe, and Lanai. I was able to see whales from my lanai. I'm a huge fan of palm trees, and there are many of different types between the building and the beach. The grounds are very nicely landscaped and well kept. Parking is available and free if you have a car. There is no elevator, so if you have a problem with stairs, choose the first floor. The rates are great and everything you need is within walking distance.
Large grocery store, drug store, Ace Hardware, fast food restaurants, farmers markets, clinic.
You do not need to rent a car if you stay here, the bus route is close and inexpensive, and there are rentals for scooters, jeeps and cars within walking distance. Even tho there are many things going on in the area, the street this complex is on is out of the way and quiet. One downside is that many of the rentals do not have a washer and dryer, but they are located centrally on site for a fee.

Room Tip: This is a low profile building, 3 floors. The higher floors have a slightly better view, but if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshalltown, Iowa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We booked our room, which 217, for our stay from Dec 3rd through the 10th. It was awesome! We have stayed in other condos in other areas and this was so perfectly stocked. I forgot our beach towels, and looked in the linen closet and there were 4! There were spices and olive oil. We felt that because we appreciated what others had left, we were honored to leave what we didn't use for others to use. Our ceiling fan remote for the bedroom didn't work, but after reporting it to CRH, it was fixed the same day. We were very pleased with the location of the condo and can't wait to get back there! Every night we looked forward to the beautiful sunsets off the lanai. It didn't get any better than that!!!!! We want to go back now!

Room Tip: The view from the lanai was awesome. We were right on top of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for the kind review of unit 217 and also Condominium Rentals Hawaii! We agree that Maui can cause visitors to already start planning their next trip. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,
Allan
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at Hale Kai O'kihei over the holidays in unit #217 and had a fantastic time. We had all the comforts of home: fridge, stove, coffee maker, pots and pans. Plus, everything you could want at to bring to the beach. The building was three flights, and faced due west, we had a fantastic view of the sunset each night. The complex was very quiet, as it was mostly extended families hanging over Christmas. The location was fantastic, we were able to walk to Times (the local food mart) and it was a short drive (5 minutes) to many beaches and other restaurants/bars. The only downside, which for us was incredibly minor, is the beach in front of the complex isn't really a swimming beach. That being said, there are a ridiculous amount of beaches five minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in unit 217! We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the owner. We look forward to hopefully hosting you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Allan
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in Room 313 for 9 days in December and really enjoyed this place. The complex is three floors high and all rooms are ocean front. The views from the third floor where we stayed were breathtaking. This is not a luxury resort, however, with all the bad and good that comes from it. The complex is very quiet, and would be great for anyone who wants to enjoy spectacular views without crowds. On the other hand, the pool is tiny, and the beach was hardly suitable for swimming - it is very shallow, rocky and covered in seaweed. There is a grocery store right around the corner, which was very helpful, and some decent restaurants within 1 mile range. At the same time, all the fun places and activities and good beaches are not within walking distance - 1.5-3 miles away. Staying in this complex will only work if you rent a car or don't mind taking the bus. The bus stop is one block away from the condo complex, and the bus will take you anywhere (e.g. the airport, Wailea, etc.) but it takes a very long time.
I would recommend Room 313. The furnishings are somewhat old, but the place was spotless, and the owners have been renovating the condo throughout 2011. The kitchen has all the necessities, although anyone looking to cook a 5 course meal will certainly find something missing. The unit comes well stocked with sheets, towels, beach towels, beach chairs, cooler, etc. This unit would be perfect for people who are looking for a place with a "home" feeling rather than luxurious amenities.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor have fantastic views, but there is no elevator. Rooms on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Kai O'kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Address: 1310 Uluniu Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Kai O'kihei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.