We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 217 rocked!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Kai O'kihei

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hale Kai O'kihei to your Saves list
Hale Kai O'kihei
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1310 Uluniu Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Marshalltown, Iowa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Room 217 rocked!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We booked our room, which 217, for our stay from Dec 3rd through the 10th. It was awesome! We have stayed in other condos in other areas and this was so perfectly stocked. I forgot our beach towels, and looked in the linen closet and there were 4! There were spices and olive oil. We felt that because we appreciated what others had left, we were honored to leave what we didn't use for others to use. Our ceiling fan remote for the bedroom didn't work, but after reporting it to CRH, it was fixed the same day. We were very pleased with the location of the condo and can't wait to get back there! Every night we looked forward to the beautiful sunsets off the lanai. It didn't get any better than that!!!!! We want to go back now!

Room Tip: The view from the lanai was awesome. We were right on top of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for the kind review of unit 217 and also Condominium Rentals Hawaii! We agree that Maui can cause visitors to already start planning their next trip. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,
Allan
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at Hale Kai O'kihei over the holidays in unit #217 and had a fantastic time. We had all the comforts of home: fridge, stove, coffee maker, pots and pans. Plus, everything you could want at to bring to the beach. The building was three flights, and faced due west, we had a fantastic view of the sunset each night. The complex was very quiet, as it was mostly extended families hanging over Christmas. The location was fantastic, we were able to walk to Times (the local food mart) and it was a short drive (5 minutes) to many beaches and other restaurants/bars. The only downside, which for us was incredibly minor, is the beach in front of the complex isn't really a swimming beach. That being said, there are a ridiculous amount of beaches five minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in unit 217! We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the owner. We look forward to hopefully hosting you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Allan
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed in Room 313 for 9 days in December and really enjoyed this place. The complex is three floors high and all rooms are ocean front. The views from the third floor where we stayed were breathtaking. This is not a luxury resort, however, with all the bad and good that comes from it. The complex is very quiet, and would be great for anyone who wants to enjoy spectacular views without crowds. On the other hand, the pool is tiny, and the beach was hardly suitable for swimming - it is very shallow, rocky and covered in seaweed. There is a grocery store right around the corner, which was very helpful, and some decent restaurants within 1 mile range. At the same time, all the fun places and activities and good beaches are not within walking distance - 1.5-3 miles away. Staying in this complex will only work if you rent a car or don't mind taking the bus. The bus stop is one block away from the condo complex, and the bus will take you anywhere (e.g. the airport, Wailea, etc.) but it takes a very long time.
I would recommend Room 313. The furnishings are somewhat old, but the place was spotless, and the owners have been renovating the condo throughout 2011. The kitchen has all the necessities, although anyone looking to cook a 5 course meal will certainly find something missing. The unit comes well stocked with sheets, towels, beach towels, beach chairs, cooler, etc. This unit would be perfect for people who are looking for a place with a "home" feeling rather than luxurious amenities.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor have fantastic views, but there is no elevator. Rooms on the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

For the money we paid this was a really good value for Maui. The beach was OK but there was seaweed on the beach which we did not notice at any other beaches. Location was very good, close to shopping and walking distance to the grocery store. The unit was very well stocked with pots, pans, glassware, and other basic items. The pool was small and the water was quite cool, but why use a pool when the ocean is 50 feet away.

Again, good value for Maui.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in unit 119 from October 14-29th. This is an older condo, built in 1969, each unit is individually owned, so units vary. Our unit was bright, fresh and clean. The first floor had pros & cons. The view was ok, but higher floors will have a better view. We loved being able to walk out the sliding door and be at the beach in seconds! The beach is not very deep in this area, but fine to set up a chair and enjoy the scenery! Sometimes you'll get a bit of seaweed washed up, but it comes and goes with the tide and size of waves. The beach here is very quiet. If you like a more lively beach, it's just a short distance away. There are a lot of great public beaches in Kihei. The location of the building can't be beat! You can walk to shopping and restaurants within 5-15 minutes. This is not a luxury building, I'd give the property a 3*, compared to some of the other properties in Kihei. But we gave up some of the "ritz" to be ocean front and not across the street. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Find a website to try and book directly from the owners, you'll get a better deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed here with our two kids (9 and 7 years old) for 11 nights in August 2011. It was a beautiful view, right on the beach. Many restaurants within walking distance and short driving distance. The beach in front of the condo was not a good swimming place due to lots of seaweed but there are MANY good beaches within a short driving distance. The pool was on the small side, and we were paranoid because of all the signs to not splash, jump, be loud, etc. but we didn't come to Maui to stay in a pool so that didn't bother us too much. Only one air unit in living room of the condo but our kids (who slept in the bedroom in the back of the unit) complained they were "cold" so obviously it worked well. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in 316 for 7 nights and had no complaints. The location was great, close to beaches, restaurants and grocery stores. The place is fully furnished with everything that you need! The interior of our unit could use some updates but that is probably my only complaint. We would definitely come back again!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Kai O'kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Address: 1310 Uluniu Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Kai O'kihei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.