We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Older building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Kai O'kihei

Save Saved
You added Hale Kai O'kihei to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hale Kai O'kihei
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1310 Uluniu Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% OFF 2014 Rates!
Ranked #40 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Sudbury,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Value, Older building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

For the money we paid this was a really good value for Maui. The beach was OK but there was seaweed on the beach which we did not notice at any other beaches. Location was very good, close to shopping and walking distance to the grocery store. The unit was very well stocked with pots, pans, glassware, and other basic items. The pool was small and the water was quite cool, but why use a pool when the ocean is 50 feet away.

Again, good value for Maui.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in unit 119 from October 14-29th. This is an older condo, built in 1969, each unit is individually owned, so units vary. Our unit was bright, fresh and clean. The first floor had pros & cons. The view was ok, but higher floors will have a better view. We loved being able to walk out the sliding door and be at the beach in seconds! The beach is not very deep in this area, but fine to set up a chair and enjoy the scenery! Sometimes you'll get a bit of seaweed washed up, but it comes and goes with the tide and size of waves. The beach here is very quiet. If you like a more lively beach, it's just a short distance away. There are a lot of great public beaches in Kihei. The location of the building can't be beat! You can walk to shopping and restaurants within 5-15 minutes. This is not a luxury building, I'd give the property a 3*, compared to some of the other properties in Kihei. But we gave up some of the "ritz" to be ocean front and not across the street. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Find a website to try and book directly from the owners, you'll get a better deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed here with our two kids (9 and 7 years old) for 11 nights in August 2011. It was a beautiful view, right on the beach. Many restaurants within walking distance and short driving distance. The beach in front of the condo was not a good swimming place due to lots of seaweed but there are MANY good beaches within a short driving distance. The pool was on the small side, and we were paranoid because of all the signs to not splash, jump, be loud, etc. but we didn't come to Maui to stay in a pool so that didn't bother us too much. Only one air unit in living room of the condo but our kids (who slept in the bedroom in the back of the unit) complained they were "cold" so obviously it worked well. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in 316 for 7 nights and had no complaints. The location was great, close to beaches, restaurants and grocery stores. The place is fully furnished with everything that you need! The interior of our unit could use some updates but that is probably my only complaint. We would definitely come back again!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Spent four excellent days in unit 312 here, booked with Expedia. The complex is oceanfront but very low-key in a residential neighborhood just off the main drag. We were pleasantly surprised by the exterior, which looks dated in pictures but is actually kinda funky and really clean and well kept. The interior of our unit was superb, completely updated and high-end title treatments in the bathroom and kitchen. The view was amazing and the beach is great for walking. Our only complaint is the small AC unit did not reach to the bedroom, which is parking lot side, but we were able to sleep on the futon. Also there is not an elevator so it could be difficult climbing three flights of stairs for some people. We later spent a few days in a mega-resort on West Maui and regretted leaving this little hidden gem. Definitely recommend if you are into laid-back, quiet lodging instead of luxury resorts packed with 1,000 of your closest friends.

Room Tip: Ask for third floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, HI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I was going to stay here and started the booking process - $105 a night, how cool is that! Then I just happened to notice "taxes and fees" were $147!!! Yes, more than the cost of the room. I thought it was the website so I went to another website, same result. I called a booking agent, same result. Then the woman told me that CRC properties all charge this. She put me in the Aston at the Banyan for $117, plus $40 for taxes and the inevitable resort fee, but hey, I just saved $100 a night. BEWARE

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Hale Kai O'kihei, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
The majority of the visitors to Hale Kai O Kihei stay for extended periods of time. Usually a week or more.
In the past we had a 4 night minimum, however due to demand we will accept bookings for less than this amount. As is common in most condominiums, the cost of the cleaning is added to the folio. With a longer stay this amount spread out over a number of days is fairly inconsequential. When it is for a stay of only one night, it does greatly increase the nightly cost. This is a real expense to the condo owner and without collecting this the owner is better off having the room sit empty. As for taxes.....what can I say, that one is out of our control.
Mahalo for your feedback. It is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our 7 days stay in Room 313 at Hale Kai O'Kihei. The location is great, the sea view from the third floor is perfect, and the condo had everything we needed.
We were spending most of the day outside surfing, kite surfing or visiting but when we were in the room it was quiet around.
Well furnished unit with everything you need in the kitchen/living room. Great terrace in front of the sea with table and chairs for the breakfasts.
The bedroom (parking side) gets noisy after 8.00 am to very noisy after 9.30 but we woke up almost every day far earlier than that.
We didn't use the air conditioning as you can leave windows and doors open to ventilate the place.
We would go back to this place if we plan another trip to Maui - Kihei side one day.

Room Tip: ask for the third floor = the best ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hale Kai O'kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kai O'kihei

Address: 1310 Uluniu Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 62 Specialty lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hale Kai O'kihei 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hale Kai O Kihei is a great three-story condominium complex located in the heart of Kihei, walking distance to shops, restaurants, and Azeka Mall. Each condo has ocean and sunset views.The property has recently been updated with all new sliding windows, front doors, re-paved parking lot, and fresh exterior painting. Hale Kai O Kihei is also under new on-site management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hale Kai O'kihei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kai o`Kihei Hotel Kihei
Hale Kai O'Kihei Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Kai O'kihei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.