We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the lettuce?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jawz Fish Tacos Is Style Grill

Jawz Fish Tacos Is Style Grill
1279 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-5228
(808) 874-8226
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 154 Restaurants in Kihei
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Hawai'i
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Where's the lettuce?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Gave the food truck a try at Kihei Fourth Friday. Unfortunately they ran out of nachos so I was forced to settle.

Food:
Steak tacos - Soft shell tacos are not my fave. Flavor was good. Forgot to ask for no cilantro-laced rice but the cilantro flavor wasn't detectable, thank goodness. Topped with cheese, lettuce, cabbage (WTH?!) and some kind of mild salmon-colored sauce. Added a mild sauce for some additional flavor. Umm cabbage? Seriously...

Service:
Fast and semi-friendly. You can tell they couldn't keep up with the amount of people at the event.

Overall:
Alright tacos. Gonna try another vendor at KFF.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    33
    21
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kihei
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Jaws was the best.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Jaws was the best fish tacos on Maui. We were shocked and so sorry that they closed last week. The food was prepared by a great chef and the casual atmosphere was our favorite. Great surfing videos of our famous giant 'Jaws' wave in Peahi and other world giant waves, great salsa bar, great background music, great decor, great drink choices, and great prices. What a sad loss for Kihei. We still have their food trucks, but obviously they lack most of what we loved as described here. There is some chance they might relocate and open another restaurant. Let's hope they do that!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“YUM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Went our first night for a quick bite and LOVED it! Large portions, everything is fresh, great condiment bar. I had the shredded pork chimicanga (deep fried goodness), hubby had a California burrito, kids had fries and quesadillas. Everything was so good we craved it again and went back later in the trip to order the exact same things. We fed 4 people for about $40 and that included a margarita and a beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gone, so sad to lose you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

They closed the door. One of the few low cost, good food places on Maui. It will surely be missed. Jaws was named for the the large wave found in Maui. It reached up to 80 feet. They had a surf theme and a take all you want sauce and toppings bar.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort St. John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

For a fast, healthy lunch this is really good. I noticed that most of the other customers were locals, which is usually a good sign. The food, service and price were all good. I will definately go again on our next trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jawz Fish Tacos Is Style Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jawz Fish Tacos Is Style Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jawz Fish Tacos Is Style Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.