We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smoothies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cold Stone Creamery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cold Stone Creamery
291 Piikea Ave, Ste 121, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-5244
808-875-8811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 146 Restaurants in Kihei
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“smoothies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Smoothies are awesome here. Ice cream is always good.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Always a favorite when I can find them”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Like it Peanut Butter chocolate waffle. Take it to go and go sit on the ledge across the street and watch the boats in the harbour or all the little sand crabs jumping around on the rocks at the waters edge 8 feet away

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Beware the hustle, enjoy the ice-cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

When you walk in, you are presented with an assortment of flavors and delicious combos. The host immediately directed us to their "recommended board" hanging on the wall, an assortment of different combos. These are actually their "supreme" (or something like that) blend, which runs at least $2 more per cone...even though it may not be significantly different from a combo you could put together for much less. So you pay over $7.50 for a mint ice cream (albeit very good) with 2 oreo cookies and about 8 chocolate chips crushed into it.

Next the staff member asked what kind of waffle cone we wanted the creation in: chocolate dipped or regular. We didn't want any waffle at all. He said, "it's ok, just choose which one you want", we reiterated we didn't want any, and he put it into a cup. We discovered later that a waffle was an extra charge - minimal, a dollar or two depending on the dip, but another charge nonetheless.

So essentially you'd be looking at almost $10 for a medium sized mint ice cream with a couple of oreos and some chocolate chips.

The price...whatever. People pay more for less everyday - I don't mind paying for quality. Not to be petty, but what I did not appreciate was the gimmicky way that the employee tried to make customers choose a "supreme" flavor (which you could easily make as a create-your-own flavor for up to 30% less), and the gimmicky way he tried to make us get a waffle cone.

We sat inside and watched as customer after customer came in and fell for the same ruse: "Look behind you on the board, those are our recommended picks". Every one of them looked up at the price board when it came time to pay (like I did) thinking they were over-charged, but they all paid realizing they had been suckered into the ploy - whatever, a couple of dollars in a tourist area, no big deal...but for an extra couple of bucks of profits, I will never visit the Creamery in any country again - just because I don't like being hustled.

Beware the hustle, enjoy the ice-cream: for all the scamming, it's actually quite good.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“allways great any way you like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

im a repeat offender when it comes to cold stone(we dont have one in long beach) so we go every day its allways great

  • Visited September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yakima
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Even though this is a chain it is simply fabulous ice cream with wonderful service.
I had the coffee ice cream with almonds and Heath bar-yum
Daughter had their Oreo Overload-yum

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cold Stone Creamery also viewed

 

Been to Cold Stone Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cold Stone Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.