We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant with great Japanese cuisin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sansei Seafood Restaurant

Sansei Seafood Restaurant
1881 S Kihei Rd Ste Kt116, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7924
(808) 879-0004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sansei Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 137 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing restaurant with great Japanese cuisin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I ate here 2 nights in a row because it was so good. The sushi was fresh and delicious and the price was decent. We ordered 2 sushi rolls, an entree and an appetizer and it only came to under $40.
They have really good sashimi and great service. This place is definitely a must-go if you visit Kihei and want japanese food or seafood.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    191
    90
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good sushi for decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

It was pretty crowded but they have lot of tables so you will be seated soon. We ended on the sushi bar which we liked. Ordered salmon nigiri and sashimi, spicy tuna roll, rainbow roll and think was ninja roll (with crab) all was fresh. Service was nice and fast, didnt push you into buying dring etc. Price what you would expected but based on menu cheaper that other sushi restaurant in kihei.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cook, MN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We are back again and it is as good as ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We landed in the evening and headed for Sansei hoping it would be as good as our previous experiences......it is. Same friendly staff. Same quality food reasonably priced. If you like seafood and sushi, it's the best!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Karaoke and 50% off Sushi after 10 pm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We made reservations for 9:30 pm, not realizing that the restaurant turns into a karaoke bar and sushi is half off at 10 pm. This is a great idea, we are newly married mid 20's professionals from the east coast and love sushi and karaoke. However, the food was not our style. It looks like a diner on the inside and the sushi tasted like diner food with thick layers of rice and very rich sauces. Some people love this and if that is you, then I recommend but we like simpler, fresher style sushi and sushami so this wasn't for us. Either way, we are glad we got to check it out but unfortunately wasn't for us and I feel bad saying that because the staff was very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrific food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Sansei Seafood Restaurant was one of the highlights of our two weeks in Kihei. We went three times in two weeks! Excellent sushi and ramen. Agadashi tofu was stupendous. Servers were wonderful, manager too. Try to sit with Loke or Matt. Didn't try the tempura macadamia ice cream any of our visits - too full. May have to return just for dessert one day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansei Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sansei Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sansei Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.