We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sansei Seafood Restaurant

Sansei Seafood Restaurant
1881 S Kihei Rd Ste Kt116, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7924
(808) 879-0004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sansei Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 137 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Idaho
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A really nice dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had a delicious dinner on a Friday night. I had the Sansei special roll and seared ahi salad and I was very pleased with both. The service was good and since I was dining alone I felt that I got special attention. I'll be going back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    189
    90
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Delicious as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went to Sansei in Kihei for our last dinner on Maui. We made a reservation for 5:30 to take advantage of the early bird pricing.

All the dishes we had were excellent. I especially liked the dynamite shrimp and the California roll with smoked salmon (can't remember the exact name) - we left very full.

We always try to get to Sansei whenever we're on Maui - it's a must do and we recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Japanese fusion food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Good service, good food, good ambience.

They only take booking for half of the restaurant and save the other half for walk-in, go earlier if you can't get a booking.

Sashimi was fresh, oysters were yummy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Sushi was yummy, found it a lttle expensive but in BC, sushi is so reasonably priced.I ordered the ahi tuna and it was cooked to perfection. Very good food and would definately go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg Pa.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best sushi on island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent sushi, and popular place. Make a reservation. The line starts at 5:00 for a 5:30 p.m. door opening. We were amazed at it's quality and popularity.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansei Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sansei Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sansei Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.