We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh bowl of Poke” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eskimo Candy

Eskimo Candy
2665 Wai Wai Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808-879-8898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Dessert in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Chowder, Fish & Chips, Seafood, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fresh bowl of Poke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I love this small place with all of fresh seafood. I ordered a bowl of Poke (like raw sashimi on top of a bowl rice) and it was just great. You must visit if you come to Kihei.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    109
    40
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“As close to England in the Pacific”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We love our fish and chips in England, this is as close as one can find, especially in Hawaii. The fish is always fresh and delcious. We bring the family here once or twice on vacations and always enjoy the food.

We have also gotten the poke which is excellent. I would recommend this location to anyone passing through. Great for lunch and also take away!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great fish shack, love the seafood chowder and coconut shrimp! Weird hours, tho'....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We eat here all the time when in Maui. It's a great place to stop for a reasonably priced lunch or early dinner on your way home from a five trip or the South Wailea beaches.

I'm a chowder snob and love the seafood chowder. It's all good.

Also, if you'rer seeking an exotic piece of fresh fish for the grill, like butterfish, they'll have it if someone caught it that morning.

Beware, tho'...their pricing on their raw seafood can be 3-4x higher than what you'll pay at Costco, 30 minutes away in Kahului.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We wanted fish for lunch and we decided to try this place out. If you are looking for fresh fish this is the place to visit. On the day we visited they had onakapaka as their catch of the day. You can order the traditional fish and chips or they can prepare the fish broiled or grilled.

Parking here can be a mess, so consider a to go order and enjoy lunch out at the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome Poke!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The poke at Eskimo Candy was to die for. One of the best Poke I had during my visit in the Hawaiian Islands. The wasabi sauce on the rice plus the seaweed salad complemented the poke bowl well. This is definitely why Eskimo Candy is a MUST try.

I found that the cooked food (i.e. fish and chips, chowder) was good too, but can't say it was the best I ever had. The coconut shrimp and fish was yummy though; the calamari and oyster had some room for improvement.

Overall, a great visit. The setting is quite quaint too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eskimo Candy also viewed

 

Been to Eskimo Candy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eskimo Candy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.