We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest Fish on Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eskimo Candy

Eskimo Candy
2665 Wai Wai Pl, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808-879-8898
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 144 Restaurants in Kihei
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, Fish & Chips, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Freshest Fish on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The fish here is tremendous. You can grab a casual box lunch/dinner take out or buy fresh fish and cook at your home/condo. The Ahi Poke was the best we had anywhere on the island, and we ate a lot of poke while in Hawaii. If you are hankering for some deep fried goodness, the fish and chips is the best I've had in the US. Fresh or frozen local fish is used and the chips are crispy and well cooked. If you aren't catching it yourself, the next best thing is Eskimo Candy. It's a little off the beaten track, but worth consulting your GPS or map to find.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    78
    36
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Seafood at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Best seafood in Hawaii for the price. Good grilled ono and chips, terrific seafood chowder - better than anything I ever had in Boston!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Poke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

One word, delish! Also ordered the seafood chowder, which was very good. Other parties in my group had the fish n chips and they all liked it. I also had the shrimp and again, just as good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I read about this place in a book and it said you got good seafood for a reasonable price. Well, I would love to have this place in my neighborhood! It was a little off of the beaten path, but my GPS on my phone took us right to it. I had the shrimp tacos, and my husband had the ONO, which was the catch of the day. The food was FABULOUS!!! They had a great kids menu for our 11 year old. We loved the ONO so much, that we ordered more! Not much room to eat inside, but with the weather being so great, it was wonderful to sit outside! I could have eaten here every day! The staff were SO nice and kind! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were in search of poke in Kihei (If you don't know what poke is, you're missing out. It's pronounced 'pokay' and it's raw fish, seasoned any number of ways over rice. Delicious!) and someone told us about Eskimo Candy. It's not on the main drag in Kihei, you have to go of your way a bit, but it's worth it. It's a small shop with a few seats indoors and a few outdoors as well. It's not in a touristy area. But they serve a number of different fish and seafood plates, smoothies, and most importantly, poke that is really good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eskimo Candy also viewed

 

Been to Eskimo Candy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eskimo Candy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.