We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate to book this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kai's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kai's Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Kai's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
80 E. Welakahao Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
corpus christi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate to book this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

My wife and I were over joyed with our experience and pains us to see some of the reviews for this place. We were there from dec 25th-jan1 in the Mango Room. First off you are staying at a bed and breakfast not a resort. Our room was clean, the a/c worked, and had our own private restroom. Kai's provided snorkel gear, boogie boards, towels, sunblock, bug spray, bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, washer and dryers all free to use for their guest. All of which we used. Seriously, What more do you need? The location is ideal for the kihei area. The owners are not all in your face, they keep to their selfs, and give you a smile and hello anytime you bump into them. I feel like alot of people leaving bad remarks are expecting a 5 star hotel or the owners to be all about you and your trip. They are renting out their rooms, in a place they live in. We also read a review about the owners being rude, Have you know their checkout policy was at 10 am and my wife and I had a 10pm flight. They had no problem giving a late check out if it is possible. Like I stated before, please dont knock this place. It is the perfect place for people who like to venture out on their own with out the need for a resort feel. Please feel free to ask me any questions.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

The previous reviewer was fortunate to have cancelled. We booked a 10 night stay in the cottage for Aug 2009. I always use trip advisor but for some reason did not spot the review for this cottage.
On arrival we were very disappointed at the poor level of cleanliness. It appears that this couple have bought a nice B&B/cottage business and then have let it run down. It is in need of a good clean to say the least! The owner said that the red dirt of the island becomes engrained. This was a poor excuse as they just can’t be bothered to clean. I managed to clean some of it off no problem in about 10 seconds!

There was also only one air con unit in the cottage, in the main bedroom – not enough to cool the whole cottage. Their website is misleading. The owner commented that if we left the door open it cools the whole cottage. No it didn’t.
Take a careful look at the photo of the living room on the website – that sofa is a bed!
I have no objection to ants at all but there was a long parade of them marching through a hole by the bath tap, to the kitchen and then back again. They have put ant traps in many places (so covered in dirt they must have been there a long time). It would only take a little bit of sealant around the bath tap to cure the problem.
As we had planned a 4 week trip to Hawaii we wanted accommodation where we could relax and cook in the evenings instead of having to eat out every night. However, the kitchen was so filthy this was impossible. See attached photos.
In the end we decided that no matter how awkward it was we would have to ask for our money back and go else where. Not being able to use the filthy kitchen was a problem for us. This was our hard earned holiday after all!
The owners would only agree to return 50%. We felt that because of the lack of air-con and poor standard of cleanliness we were in our rights to have all our money back but they refused. In fact the husband was very rude and asked me to shut up at one point! He also said he felt sorry for people like us! Well, take a look at the pictures, we agree with him we had to stay there!!
We ended up staying a couple of nights & then moving to a lovely condo in Wailea and had a fantastic time for the rest of our stay. See homeaway dotcom property 212081 we also stayed at property 315874 and can recommend both.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Was supposed to stay Nov. 22, 2009 to Nov. 28, 2009. Booked this B&B based on their website - they seem like such lovely people - but that 'loveliness' ended with the website. My husband called to inquire about the terms and conditions of their B&B and was treated very rudely. Basically whoever answered the phone (a woman) told him how dare he question their policies, our business didn't mean anything to them and they would be happy to keep our 50% deposit and we could find somewhere else to stay on Maui. Needless to say, this treatment made me nervous. I e-mailed my concerns and was given a 100% refund no questions asked - again, treated like our business meant nothing to them. Going to stay elsewhere. Phew! Glad we found this out ahead of time.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Clean and comfortable room ,nice balcony, good location and free use of washing machine was a plus.
Negatives - private bathroom was not ensuite as expected, but off corridor. Very poor breakfast left on a tray outside bedroom night before - small piece of fruit, muffin and a dreadful sugary fizzy drink. Owners not in evidence, could have stayed without seeing anyone, let ourselves in and out.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

Kai's looks like it may have been nice at one point. Located in a noise residential neighborhood, near by chickens, nieghbors and road noise negated the tropical backyard setting. We stayed in the cottage which is in dire need of maintenance. The most troubling part of the cottage, however, was the bug infestation. They were everywhere with the only provided form of defense being a can of OFF. The beds are long past there useful life and I was scared to take the pillow cases off. The dirty hot tube was really a warm tub and be careful of dog droppings in the yard if going barefooted. As noted in another review the air conditioner that we never used was on a 1 hour timer. We might have used the AC but it was completely infested with ants. The B&B has a gate that must be manually opened and closed and the parking is tight at best. Do not rent a large vehicle.

Service was simply not there. We did not receive a welcome or thanks for staying. In fact, we felt like we were more of an inconvenience than a guest. Some rules to be aware of are: no hot tubing after dark, no talking outside the cottage after 7:30 pm depsite the posted 9:30 pm sign and no laundry between 8pm and 8am.

Restaurants, grocery and convenience stores are slightly less than a mile away and access to the highway is very convenient.

Overall the place is very tired and needs a makeover. The price is very reasonable but not without cost. Next time we will spend the extra dollars.

Photos to come...

  • Liked — Tropical backyard
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County PA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

The bedroom & bathroom were extremly fiflthy and unbearably hot. The windows could not be opened and the AC was on a one hour timer.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage, alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We stayed here several years ago in the garden cottage, out back. This is a great price for what you get. You can feel like a local. Shop for your own food, make your own meals, do laundry, pick fruit on property, hot tub if you feel like it. The cottage was newer and clean. There were beach mats snorkel gear boogie boards etc. Free to use and leave when you are done. The owners, as others have noted aren't in your face- getting to know you but that is what we were after as we are pretty private people and wanted a romantic private experience so we didn't care that all we ever got was some eye contact or a smile. Yes, there are mosquitoes but hello this is hawaii and if you aren't on the beach or at haleakala crater then you will have to deal with those. Also there are smallish roaches (which i loathe) but there is some bug spray under the sink for use. I would recommend to the owners to put some boric acid under the sink and behind the fridge to combat this but alas it isn't my property. There was a window air conditioner in the bedroom and fans and screened doors to keep things cool. I never heard any dogs. The only annoying things were the fact that there was no couch in the living room but instead a twin bed with cushions (this might have changed since our stay) and the huge door that you always have to open and close to park in the drive but it is also cool because a lot of maui homes have this feature so you just make do. I would recommend this place to all who aren't looking for a hotel experience but more of an islander experience and don't need tons of attention and catering to. Oh and you can walk to the beach and shops which are just a few blocks away which is nice. Hope this review helps!

  • Liked — relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — furnishings, kitchen bugs
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kai's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kai's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 80 E. Welakahao Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kai's Bed And Breakfast Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kai's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.