We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makena Kayak & Tours, Inc.

Makena Kayak & Tours, Inc.
Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808-879-8426
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Valencia, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This tour was a highlight of our Maui vacation! Our tour guide, Bryce, was very friendly and did an excellent job. He took us to a great area for snorkeling... lots of sea turtles. Very reasonably priced... expecially for Hawaii. Would highly recommend.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    2
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Look no further...you have found your kayak/snorkel tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This tour fully exceeded our expectations & was the highlight of our time on Maui. No worries about minimum bookings, as my wife & I were the only ones on the excursion. We launched from Makena Landing on a 4 hour tour with our awesome tour guide, Bryce. He truly made the experience extraordinary. He took us to beautiful locales with turtles aplenty. However what set this tour apart was how attentive he was to us & the environment at the same time - constantly pointing out ocean life that we did not notice while remaining completely engaged in conversation with us and aware of our safety. His knowledge of Maui surpassed the usual spiel about nature and history and extended well into the politcal and socio-economic aspects of the island. A master performance!
Do your self a favor & book this early in your stay, as he will share his "insider info" on where to go /eat while on Maui. We Highly recommend this tour. Thanks again for the memorable
experience! Paul & Sara

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish
1 review
“Best Kayak Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

After looking at many tour outfits on the island I decided to go with this one because they tend to do smaller groups. I am so happy that we did. It was the highlight of our trip. Bryce was a great guide, he was knowledgeable, friendly and made sure that we got the most out of our tour. I would recommend this for sure!

Felicia & Jesse

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
“Fabulous Kayaking Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our excursion with Makena Kayak was definitely the highlight of our Hawaii trip. We met up with our guide, Bryce, right on time in Wailea at Ulua Beach. All of the equipment was already ready and after going through some instruction on how to kayak and some of the safety details, we headed out. We have five in our familly with the youngest being 10 years old. Everyone was able to easily manuever the kayaks and after reaching our destination, we were able to snorkel around. We saw several turtles, coral, and lots of varieties of fish. We found our guide to be personal, friendly, and knowledgeable which made for an even better time. We can't say anything negative about Makena Kayak and highly recommend them.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“exzilerating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our trip was with Bryce, he was a fabulous instructor and put us at total ease. He made us all so excited and comfortable with the kayaks. We had a great story to tell when we returned. The price was totally worth it! Would go again and again! We will go with this company for sure next year when we return. Thanks for a memorable trip and a great experience. Angel Carolyn and Nicole.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makena Kayak & Tours, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Makena Kayak & Tours, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makena Kayak & Tours, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.