We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day - awesome rafting and snorkeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Rafting

Blue Water Rafting
, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
+1 808-879-7238
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the sea caves and lava arches of Maui's remote and rugged Kanaio Coast on the most invigorating snorkeling adventure that Maui has to offer.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Carlsbad, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day - awesome rafting and snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My daughter and I wanted to snorkel apart from the large cattle boats and found Blue Water Rafting Adventures. The boats are rafts and are not designed to be luxury boats - if you read the website it says "adventure" and that's what we got. We rtarted out going to La Perousse Bay and then rode out to the Kanaio coast - my daughter and I sat in the front of the boat although not on the pontoons and it was a fast ride. It was bouncy which is what I expected based on the type of boat we were on. Joe and Kapeli ( not sure of the spelling) were great - gave us an up close tour of the lava formations in La Perousse Bay and on the south coast including just enough information on how the bays were formed without getting too dry. After that we came back around and snorkeled off "the Pinnacle" reef for a bit as La Perousse was too silty. From there we motored out to Molokini and snorkeled in the crater for a while which was great. I was there years ago on one of the large boats and swore I would never go back as it was overcrowded and not much fun. This time we arrived with only 3 large boats left so we were able to tie up away from them and have a lot of room for our party of 12. Lots of fish, crystal clear water, and cool coral formations. After that we went around to the back of the crater - it was very cool to see the sheer wall above. The water here was about 15 feet deep close in and then a steep drop off. We saw a lot of larger fish (they swarmed the boat when we arrived) and smaller ones as well playing in the coral in the shallow area. We went back round the crater one more time and then headed in as Joe said there was swell developing which he wanted to beat. Last snorkeling stop was Turtle Town and we saw a large turtle almost as soon as we got off the boat. On the way back my daughter and I rode on the pontoon. The ride was fast and fun - the pontoon was actually more comfortable than the middle seating area as when we hit the swells you were riding on an air cushion. Breakfast and lunch were provided - muffins and fruit for breakfast and deli meats and rolls for lunch. Nothing fancy, but good. There was plenty of water and juice during the entire trip. Joe and Kapeli were great - and provided a great day with good snorkeling and a cool trip around the south end of the island. This is not a trip for those who want smooth riding and fancy food with crowded snorkel conditions. For those who want a fun adventure with some fast riding and a small group with personal attention this is the one to go on. We will definitely go again when we return to Maui - I'd love to do one of their whale watches if we get back in the right season.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    64
    13
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great day of snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have a great time snorkeling with Joe and Capelli. The trip started with a ride along the coast getting a close look at the lava flows that created Maui. This was a side of Maui we had not seen and was very interesting. This was followed with snorkeling at four different locations with breakfast and lunch in between. One of these was the Molokini crater and we snorkeled inside the crater as well as the back side "wall". We finished up the day at turtle town. We saw great a great variety of sea life and had a great time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing trip...worth every $$$”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This trip was the highlight of our trip to Maui. Seth and Capelli were very knowlegable and entertaining! This tour is a little more expensive than others but worth it. No crowds to deal with and they make you feel like you are on a private tour. If you want to snorkel Maui or see the island from the water....pick this tour. Thanks for a wonderful memory!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Molokini Express - give it a miss unless the waters are calm”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The idea of the Molokini Express snorkelling tour is a great one - but unless the seas are calm, it's not what you expect at all (nor like any pictures we saw).

We were taken out to Molokini to snorkel off one of the rear points in a 2m swell. It was dangerous and everyone on the boat got sea sick within minutes of stopping by the crater wall.

As a strong swimmer and surf lifesaver, with the current, the swell and sea sickness (first time ever) even I opted to wear a buoyancy belt and still found the conditions too difficult to swim in let alone snorkel. If you are a poor or non swimmer, serious consider taking this trip in these conditions.

Because of the swell, visibility was poor and you couldn't really see much at all. We only saw one other boat while we were out there, so perhaps the other tours were called off due to the conditions.

The guys - Seth and Chad, were great, friendly and fun (on the way out) - everyone was sick on the way back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California, United States
1 review
“Rough weather Great Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The morning started with some rain as we were making our way to the ramp. We thought about canceling but the 9 of us (ages 14-73) decided to press forward. We were right about the conditions; the most rain I've experienced in the 20 yrs. to Maui. The crew (Seth and Capelli) was always willing to do what we wanted but we assured them we wanted to continue. We surged on through the waves and the rain and made it to our 1st destination During the rain we were treated to a very close-up look at the lava formations and the history behind it along with some Geological info and plenty of humor. Seth was awesome at the helm controlling the Raft in some difficult conditions and not once did we feel unsafe. Destination #2 was a snorkel and breakfast stop where things calmed down quite a bit and we dropped in to do some snorkeling and warm up (in the water). We continued on heading to Molokini but changed course due to inclement whether there and hit Destination #3. More snorkeling and another respite before we once again headed to Molokini were we dropped in to view the sea-life and then resurfaced to a deli lunch All in all the trip was great! Even with conditions the way they were, the crew and all passengers on board (including 70 yr old in laws had a great and memorable experience. HIghly recommend the trip And crew but you have to be upbeat, adventurous and ready for a great day on the waters of Maui. Aloha
We even dropped keys in the water at the ramp and the crew with mask on retrieved the keys. Great crew!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Blue Water Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.