We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Need To Do This One” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Rafting

Blue Water Rafting
PO Box 1865, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808-879-7238
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 83 activities in Kihei
Type: Tours, Water sports
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“You Need To Do This One”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Yes, one has many options to go out during whale season in Maui, but this is a must do option. It will get you closer to the "action" at least seemingly, however, All water craft must maintain a distance of 100 yards or great from a visible whale. The small raft, but a tough one, is the perfect way to cruise around the area once a whale is spotted. It is capable of about 35 mph-ish, and once a whale is spotted the captain can choose to go into the area in a hurry. The maximum capacity is about 18 persons and there still is enough room to see. Captains Joe and Eli were very friendly and accomodating. They also have a sense of humor. Once they played the theme song from Jaws, then The Titantic, right after the captain told us the raft was "unsinkable"...funny. Do this trip! The price is reasonable and the trip lasts about one and one half hours. You might get wet but the captain was very cautious about splashing anyone while we were cruising.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    50
    9
    10
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2 hour molokini express- Dec”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Like others have said our Blue water rafting tour was the best thing we did on Maui. We picked to do the 2 hour express snorkling tour of the molokini crater. Yes the ride (15 mins) out to the crater was a very fast and very bumpy one but overall it wasnt too bad. It was pretty rough the day we went but was okay once we were in the water. We enjoyed the snorkling on the back side of the crater the best as this was where we saw the most fish. While out at the crater we were lucky to see whales. Our tour guides were great and took us over to get a closer look even though we were not a whale tour. We found the 2- 2 1/2 was the perfect amount of time to explore Molokini

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Fantastic time and well worth the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went on the Pineapple Express with Captain Brad and First Mate TJ. We explored the Southern tip of Maui and got to see the lava flows and lava caves. The trip out was exciting and fun and the snorkeling was excellent. Brad and TJ were funny, helpful, informative and very watchful of the passenger's safety. The breakfast and lunch provided were very good. We also snorkeled the Molokini crater and Brad showed everyone the best places to find interesting sea life. We were also treated to several whale watches. We have done this type of tour once on the Big Island and twice on Maui and this was the best by far.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really great time!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Booked with Blue Water Rafting online and was pleased with their online response time. The "guys" (Brad and Dente) were great fun! Although I opted out to snorkel, I had been to Molokini before and to go at noon with very little traffic was awesome. My husband had dove there before and so he enjoyed the snorkel visit. Later we were able to see some humpbacks up close however, the guides were very conscientious of the 100 yd rule which was great to respect as I am sure, with so many people trying to catch a glimspe of them, made me feel better as to not impose on their space. A lot of fun and informative. Thanks guys.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“What a ride for the whole FAMILY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family and I went with Dante and Brandon on the Pineapple Express on 01/08/13 to the South coast of Maui and Molokini. Along the journey we saw several whales, bottle nose dolphins, wild goats, turtles, manta rays, and several reef fish. Dante's humor kept us laughing the entire trip! The raw beauty of the Kanaio Coastline is well worth the wild ride (and I mean wild). The snorkeling was top notch. My wife and I had been scuba diving all week up and down the coast of Maui and had high expectations. We would highly recommend booking a trip with Blue Water rafting on your trip to Maui. Ask for Dante, Brandon, and the Pineapple Express. Remember BLUE not RED!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Blue Water Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Water Rafting to your Saves list