We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Dive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kihei Caffe

Kihei Caffe
1945 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808 879 2230
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 154 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Local Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Might have to wait in line for a minute, but the food is delicious and you definitely won't leave hungry!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    788
    392
    101
    46
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The line of people waiting to order their breakfasts gives an indication of how good the food is. In addition to regular menus, the walls also have the menu inscribed on them so you can make you meal decisions as you wait inline to order. After ordering and paying you find an outside table (all tables are covered, outside). Waiters will call out your name and bring your food. I had eggs, bacon, home fries, and a biscuit which was very good. The pancakes with bananas, Macadamia nuts, and whipped cream were excellent and the burrito and rice were also very good. The service was quick and again no pressure to finish and leave your table. There were no restrooms on the premise but they shared facilities with a small shopping area across a parking lot. We enjoyed ourselves and would eat breakfast there again

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Simple. Local. Good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I loved it. I had corned beef hash and my wife had some French toast. Decently and reasonably priced. I truly enjoyed it. Very Maui-like atmosphere. Hospitable and friendly staff. Definitely a lot better than the rest of "local" restaurants I've been to. Will come back!!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Great food and local atmosphere! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Delicious food and huge portions! My husband and I could have shared one plate. They only take cash, so be prepared. We were able to sit and talk with the locals which was fun and informative!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach CA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Cheerful and Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The service at Caffe Kihei is excellent, from the friendly smile and welcome of the employee (owner?) taking your order, to the server ducking the birds to bring you your delicious meal. We ate here twice on our trip.

There is a line if you come much after 8 a.m., but the food is worth it. The portions are HUGE. So big that the second time we split one order of the pancakes and still couldn't finish it. The cashier (no credit cards here!), cheerfully handed us an extra plate when we asked to share, btw. No extra charge, no eye rolling.

After ordering you find a seat, or they find one for you, and they bring out the food. There are maple and coconut syrup on the tables, as well as hot sauces and the usual condiments. They also carry POG for your morning juice, as well as fresh squeezed orange juice and lots of coffee beverages.

The only negative are the very aggressive birds, but you can't fault the restaurant. There are several signs asking patrons not to feed the birds, but we saw a few ignoring them. They try to quickly clean the tables and they can't help it if the word is out about how delicious their food is.

This will be a Maui tradition for us from now on. Great service, amazing food - aloha!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kihei Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Kihei Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kihei Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.