We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST in Kihei” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kihei Caffe

Kihei Caffe
1945 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808 879 2230
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #10 of 135 restaurants in Kihei
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
“A MUST in Kihei”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you are like me and LOVE to find those one-of-a-kind hole-in-wall type places where the locals hang out - this is the place to go. They only take cash, and you order at a counter. It's quick, the food is great, and the portions are MASSIVE. Be forewarned that the birds have spread the word about this place as well and they hang out among the guests. Some might be forward enough to come down and snatch something right off your plate!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    528
    278
    73
    35
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good breakfast but no free coffee refills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a very casual spot but popular as the lines can get very long to order. We just beat the crowd, ordered and grabbed a table outside. Fried rice with Portuguese sausage and fried egg on top was good, and my husband's banana mac French toast delicious. Food was brought to us hot off the grill. The only downside is that you have to pay $1 for a refill of coffee (it is good coffee, though!). I would definitely come here at least once when we return to Maui someday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very casual but great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family and I made a trek form Lahaina to Kihei Caffe based on the recommendation of our dentist. I'm not sure if it was worth traveling that far given the closer options serving similar breakfast dishes such as the Gazebo and the Sea House, but it is worth a visit if you are in the Kihei area. The line was not too long outside the building but snaked around inside like a Disneyland attraction. However, as other readers have mentioned, they have a great system for taking orders and getting people seated. There was only one person, a bearded gentleman at the time, taking all of the orders. This guy might just one of the friendliest and upbeat personalities on the island. I severely hate waiting in lines, but he maintained an inviting atmosphere.

My wife ordered the veggie scramble, which she said was packed with a variety of vegetables, way superior to similar omelets from the mainland. Theirs, interestingly, is not actually an omelette as it is served in a heaping mound. It sounds unappetizing but was cooked appropriately. I, meanwhile, ordered the Portuguese French toast. I opted for adding banana slices and macadamia nuts for two dollars more, which made it somewhat expensive for a counter service restaurant. However, it was worth it, even more so when I had the pleasure of drenching it with coconut syrup.

If you are looking for a laid back and informal breakfast, I would give this place a shot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Big Breakfast, Small Bucks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everything needs to be shipped to Hawaii, so to get a good home cooked style breakfast for a great price (remember this is Maui) is a rare find. This is not gourmet, it's home style and includes island favorites such as Loco Moco, Portuguese Sausage, Chorizo, Bisquits and Gravy, Fried Rice so not ideal if you're dieting. If you want fruit hit the local fruit stands, this is carborific. It's local cuisine so try it if you dare to go native. This place opens at 5:00 am and is non stop busy because it's good! Expect a line, expect to wait, expect to pay cash, expect to pay for a side of salsa or guac and seat yourself but once your meal comes it's hot and tasty and you're left to savor and enjoy at your leisure. The food is delicious, it's a great value considering portion size and why go to Maui to eat at Denny's. The staff literally is moving non stop and are quick yet friendly. A must try, local hot spot for breakfast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.louis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Average Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We tried the Kihei Caffe on are last visit and found the food very average and poor on my wife choice. The service was good. The value was okay. The do not take credit Cards which I found funny .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kihei Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Kihei Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kihei Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.