We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Scuba

B&B Scuba
P.O. Box 1134, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
808-875-2861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 99 Activities in Kihei
Type: Water sports, Adventure
Attraction details
Creswell, Oregon
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

we went out today with Dan, Dave, and Stan. had a great time and the crew was very friendly helpful and knowledgeable. we were luck enough to see a reef shark and my first sea turtle. we are planning on going out again with them before we leave the island.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    30
    6
    4
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Dive w/ B&B Scuba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had great dives with Brad and his crew at Molokini and Wailea. The boat leaves early, but it's well worth it. First boat at the crater and back on shore by 9:30 a.m. Brad's boat is awesome... and fast. Equipment is top notch - seemed brand new. Sandwiches and cookies on board were delicious. The dives were great. Highly recommend!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnemucca, Nevada, United States
1 review
“Amazing experience!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We did 10 dives this trip with B&B Scuba and all can say is wow!!! Every day brought us new dive sights and new adventures. My wife loves underwater photography, and diving with B&B is a photographers dream. The guides are immensely knowledgeable in the many dive sights of maui and find ocean life for you to see that you could never find on your own. The guides Eric and Dave never failed to find us rare creatures. In one of our dives we saw spotted eel rays, octopus, turtles, cow fish and eels and to top it off captain Billy found us a pod of dolphins...You won't get that with any other dive shop..The experience on the boat is second to none, if you add the years diving of the crew all other dive shops fall way short..The service on the boat is exceptional, the crew refreshes your training of the gear without making you feel embarrassed and they train you in ways that help you not to forget the safety protocols. I always feel safe with the crew and know my gear is ready to go. The crew puts on and takes off all the gear....as the captains would say all we have to do is jump off the boat!!!Since diving with this crew my air times have gone up 15 minutes. The best part of B&B is that while your on that boat you are family..I dove with people from germany,china,japan,spain and the USA this trip and one thing that we all had in common was that B&B treated us as family!!!Thank you B&B for being the safest and friendliest crew in MAUI.....The Greinsteins.......lifetime B&B divers

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Dive Company and Operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

B&B is good dive operation. Excellent boat, crew and dive masters. They run a larger boat than Prodiver if you prefer multiple groups. Dive master Erich was excellent and his knowledge of the area was big plus. B&B is also a great place to rent equipment for shore dives. They seem to do most of the visual inspections and hydro's on the island. They also have a large list of manufacturers that they can repair if you have gear problems. Overall a very good shop. I would not hesitate to use them.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Crashed a party? Go elsewhere.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked through Boss Frogs and showed up at the boat launch. It was the divemaster and his friends. Other than a perfunctory, 'hello, welcome to the boat,' we were barely spoken to. Honestly it felt like the divemaster was having a 25-year high school reunion with his friends and my wife and I were crashing the party. After both dives, the divemaster stayed on the bottom for an extra thirty minutes continuing his dive solo because, "he had air" and then heckled us for our poor air consumption habits (which are significantly better than average). The crew also became flustered and defensive when we brought up safety considerations and gear issues they had not addressed (which we did privately and professionally). They only reason they get an extra star is because they corrected the deficiencies we identified. My advice to the owners is this: evaluate your senior dive personnel and operators and train them on hospitality and guest experience. Otherwise, find new employees.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BVarney, Owner at B&B Scuba, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Sorry you and your wife felt this way. We run a safe operation and everyone is both safety briefed before leaving the dock and then briefed on site. We have a set boat rule that you are on the surface with 500 psi. By request or if we notice you run low on air and are coming out again we bring larger tanks at no extra charge. In 24 year's of business we have a clean safety record which we are proud of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Scuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.