We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Worldmark

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Worldmark
Save
You added Worldmark to your Saves list
75 Alanui Ke Alii Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Affordable and Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've stayed here multiple times growing up - about once a year with my family through grade /high school. We love this place because it is so convenient and affordable. We are Worldmark members and have not been disappointed yet. It is a large complex, friendly staff, and has everything you need. It is not luxurious but it is across the street from the ocean and has everything you need for an affordable stay in the islands. Close to the airport, 15 min from a Costco and Walmart, 5 min from up-scale shopping center and snorkel/boating activities. Resort has several rooms with a view, kids activities around the site, available beach rental gear (snorkel, boogie boards, chairs) for the week which is very convenient, full kitchens and utensils in units, available outdoor bbq grills, clean pool, small gym, and helpful activity planners to help you figure out what to do during your stay. This resort also accommodates larger groups - for example I've stayed here with a group of 8 in a 3 bedroom/2 bath suite with living room and full kitchen. I would not hesitate to recommend this location. Only reason Room service/spa is rated poorly is because there is no room service and spa services are limited to massages poolside. I'm already looking forward to my next trip out here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    56
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
46
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Now, if you want luxury and pampering and sprawling grounds with plenty of shops and play areas then this isn't your place. We are worldmark members so I will write it from that perspective. It is great for our purposes - the rooms are clean and spacious enough. It has a full kitchen and king size bed (we had the 2 bedroom) and a small lanai for sitting. The views for the ocean are not that great so don't really go for that (no view vs. limited view not that different) but the beach is right across the street literally (you just cross the road at the light and you are there). The location is good for us as well because we like to go down to Makena and the activities we do go out of the Kihei boat ramp about 1 mile away

The place does have a pool and hot tub (and kiddie pool) - these are nice too but we are really beach people so we don't spend a lot of time at the pool. The staff is nice enough and the parking is easy (although the spaces seem small). We don't really do the activities they have planned at the resort but the activity planners can help if you need to book stuff off the resort (we did the luau and some rafting and the prices were competitive with other places).

Overall, it is a great place for us with the kitchen and location. Again, if you want luxury then you would probably be in Wailea or Kaanapali but otherwise this is a very good place to vacation.

Room Tip: Again, the view is not spectacular so don't break your back to get a view room - the higher numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband booked us a one-room unit at the last minute. This was our first opportunity to go to Maui and so our first visit to this WM. Over all we were pleased. First...the downside: flight arrived late evening so we checked in about 11pm. Clerk was pleasant, gave us a property map, hilited the parking on the street side of Bldg 8 (we had room 8101), and off we went. Problem is, it was late, dark, unfamiliar with the complex and BTW although there is parking on this side, the entrances are around the corner, on the other side of the bldg. and our room was at the far, far end around a few corners. Consequently, tired as we were, we had to spend some time trying to figure out where the heck the entrance to the units was located. She could have given much better instructions. Second issue: lighting in the unit is subpar, especially in the bedroom. One overhead can light that is virtually useless. Two bedside lamps also useless. We were on the first floor so reluctant to open shades for more light. Ok, now the positives: Although we were ground floor and without a view (knew that before we got there), our little patio was quiet and a pleasant place to sit and relax. Pool area is attractive and we enjoyed it. Easy walk across the street to a lovely beach, easy walk to ABC store and several restaurants. Beach "Toys" are available to borrow in the check in bldg. Recommend Cafe Olei, down the street.

Room Tip: Although we were on ground floor, room 8101, because bldgs are located on a slope, we were actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

was a wonderful trip with my sister & brother-in law-Carla Shellooe was are activity planner & we were amazed - she knows her job well and deserves a raise!!! we were a first time hawaii tourist and with her help we felt comfortable about are choices. we will be back if possible - loved are stay - are room was great and the grounds keeped emaqulant. we had a wonderful driver on the road to hona-his personality was great and made the trip enjoyable- his name was Charles-he was very informative .we are getting older by the day and and this trip was are best. THANKYOU

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My mother-in-law booked our three bedroom condo here over a year ago, to make sure we would have a view and we had a great view, given this resort is across the street. There were four adults and three children (7, 5, 4). Check-in was quick and smooth. Parking was plenty. It was a little difficult hauling all of our luggage up three flights of stairs (only to find a few days later there was an elevator around the corner!), but we are young and spry enough, we didn't complain. Our room was right on the end, by the stairs, and it was never a noise issue. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and the only 'complaint' we had was only the master had a tv in the room. It would have been nice to have a tv in the second bedroom at night, as one of the kids had to sleep on the murphy in living room, which meant we all had to go to bed at 9. The balcony was nicely sized, all of us could sit out there and eat a meal. It was refreshing to have AC in all of the bedrooms and living room. It is noisy, but not to the point of being annoying. It was actually nice to have a little white noise at night!

The resort itself is nice, well taken care of. The pool was a highlight for the kids. Could have used a few more shady spots, but there were always chairs available and we were there over spring break. The activities were great for the kids - we made several kukui nut leis and bracelets and my sister made a banana leaf bowl. Lance was fantastic in leading those activities, plus all the other jobs he does around the resort - wonderful, happy employee! There is a massage hut next to the pool and the prices were reasonable. I just never had time.

The beach across the street is one of the best on the island. The wave action is calm and we were never worried about the kids playing in the surf by themselves. The sand is soft, but gets very hot by mid afternoon. We were able to score four beach chairs, tatami mats, three life jackets and beach toys from the 'closet' in the lobby. We also got a big beach umbrella, but it was too windy to use it and we turned it back in!

There is an ABC store just on the corner and a Whalers General Store another couple blocks up the road (next to the Cinnamon Roll place - have to go and get a huge, gooey roll early in the morning for breakfast!). We actually stocked up at the Costco and Safeway before we checked in and we only used the ABC store for quick snacks and liquor. If you turn right on the main drag and walk about 10 minutes, there is a great shaved ice place and a fun outdoor (covered) market. We also went to the Farmers Market one morning and got a lot of fresh produce, which was delicious and cheap!

We used Boss Frog to book our luau a couple weeks before we arrived. We were pleased with their service. We attended the Kaanapali Beach Luau at the Royal Lahaina. The children were free, which was a major selling point. We got there early, as directed and then opted for the $15/per adult upgrade to VIP, which got us in without waiting in line (again, a major selling point for us as we had three kids who were impatient) and we were seated right up front, which meant we got through the food line first. The show was authentic and the kids really enjoyed it, especially the fire dancing. The dancers were available after the show for pictures, very nice.

We also did a whale watching tour with the Pacific Whale Foundation (booked through the Expedia office onsite at Worldmark). Fantastic - we saw many whales, including one that breached right in front of us (too stunned to remember to take a pic though!).

We spent the following week in Kahana, and while that condo was nicer, bigger, etc, we would come back to Kihei and the Worldmark before going back there. The room was great, the weather is better in Kihei and the beaches were more relaxing.

Room Tip: Book early so you get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Arrive late on a Sunday night and had a great check in experience.,The rooms are big and well equipted. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location across the street from 3 great beaches and a short walk to several stores for all your needs. Only problem was we were invited to informational meeting about Wydnam, after a very nice hour we declined there offer to purchase more points and the hard sell began. If your not ready to buy don't go because they won't let you out.

Room Tip: book a room with, a view, don't go to a sales meeting unless you want to buy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Right by the beach, beautiful facilities, and even better if you have a unit with an ocean view. There's a liquor store across the street as well as places rent beach chairs, umbrellas, snorkel stuff, and some good Tacos.

Room Tip: The top floor ocean view units in building 8 are amazing. We saw whales breaching while drinking cof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Worldmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldmark

Address: 75 Alanui Ke Alii Drive, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Worldmark Hotel Kihei
Worldmark Kihei
Worldmark Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worldmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.