We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pineapple Inn was wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pineapple Inn
Save
You added Pineapple Inn to your Saves list
3170 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Pineapple Inn was wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I'm so glad we stayed at the Pineapple. This was our first trip to Hawaii, and we were hopping between islands, trying to see as much as we could of each island....therefore, not laying at the beach much. Why spend $300/night at a resort that you're not going to use? The property is beautiful, flowers everywhere, nice pool, the room was excellent, the mini fridge was stocked with breakfast items we could take with us, and they provide lots of beach items and guidebooks to borrow while you're there. I hope we can go back someday. By the way, it's located a 5 minute drive away from a local beach, and just a few minutes from central Kihei.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
156
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Oh
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed here in mid-May 2009, in the cottage with our daughter and son-in-law. The grounds were fabulous, the cottage was beautiful and well-equipped, and Indie (their pup) was a doll! This would be an amazing place for a honeymoon, family get-together, or just plain R & R from the real world. We liked it so much we decided to spend our entire week on the grounds, just chilling out. Our kids combined chilling out with some of the recreational opportunities available on Maui. Mark and Steve were great. Thanks for a memorable week and good luck!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

This was our second stay at the Pineapple Inn and it was even better the second time around. There have been upgrades to the property...new carpet and flooring, wainscoting, and improved bedding. The beds were very comfortable! The property is still beautifully maintained and cared for. Although the islands have grown increasingly expensive, the Pineapple Inn still remains an outstanding value. The property has a seperate cottage with 2 bedrooms and 4 individual rooms attatched to the main house. The individual rooms still come supplied with a stocked fridge which is a nice touch as this can save a bundle on daily breakfasts which can easily be $40.00 for a couple at a local restaurant. If you want a true representation of what the property looks like inside and out then visit their website for photos. These are in fact exactly what the Inn looks like. If you decide to stay here you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights after completing a cruise from Auckland to Honolulu then flying straight to Maui after disembarking from the cruise. The accommodation fully met our expectations with Steve and Mark’s attention to detail excellent in every respect.

Be aware that they do not take Visa so you have to pay upfront by travellers’ cheques or bank transfer which means that this will cost you extra if you are an international traveller. However once you have done this, the key will be in the door for your arrival and no further administration is required. The place is fairly easy to find and there is ample parking and space quite close to the rooms. We were in the Lana’i room which was on the ground floor with a very private balcony where you can relax looking over the garden and pool. There was also a fridge full of goodies and drinks which was ample for breakfast (and other times) for our stay. There is a microwave, sink, cutlery, crockery etc but no stove.

In the parking area there is a shed with folding chairs, coolers, beach umbrellas etc for your use. There is also a small laundry. We found a very nice beach and picnic area at the back of the Maui Prince resort called Malu’aka Beach. (Go past Wailea and take first right after Prince Resort). We did the Molokini Crater boat trip and snorkel from Ma’alaea on the Four Winds which is the popular one but is well done ($99). If you want slightly up market there is another cruise on the Kanina Kei ($114) which picks up straight from the beach at the Prince Resort which is where you can also book.

For groceries turn right from the Pineapple Inn down the highway and take the fourth traffic light left where you will find a Safeways Store. Before going in apply and receive a Safeways card at the counter and you will save a lot on specials especially if you are staying for a few days. We bought some good New York cut steak here (on special) which cooked very nicely the Pineapple Inn barbecue. Eating out - Café O’ Lei on the main drag at South Kehei is recommended. All in all if you like a smaller, private, more intimate place I doubt whether you will find much better value than the Pineapple Inn in Hawaii.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

We put in DAYS of research into the best accommodation we could find in Maui, and finally settled on the Pineapple Inn. Our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. All the good things you read about this place are true. It is not a big flash resort so don't stay here if that is what you want - there are plenty of others who will gladly take your place. If you are after an expertly run, excellent value, beautifully maintained accommodation, with the personal touch, then you simply will not do better. Every detail is attended to and it is CLEAN. These guys really know what they are doing. They take their guests, their property and their service seriously.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

I reserved the Pineapple Inn B&B for three nights and upon walking onto the grounds, my first thought was “what ocean?” That is how lush and gorgeous the property is—I didn’t think I would want to leave for three days even though only a block or two from the ocean (slightly visible from our lanai). Our (VERY clean) room had fresh mint green walls, pretty framed prints, incredibly fluffy, clean & appealing linens, granite countertops, beautiful tiles in shower and bathroom, TV in nice armoire, kitchenette with food-stocked fridge, and a divine lanai looking out to the incredible landscaping with pool & hottub: What a wonderful oasis from the hubbub and traffic found even in parts of Maui. We enjoyed the tranquility of the room, and chatted a bit with the owner while sitting on our lanai. Mark had lots of Midwestern charm when he came after their Chihuahua, Indie, who had wandered up to our back sliding door. The Pineapple Inn Molokini Room is a great value at $139/night. Fresh towels were in a chest just outside our door and we felt like we owned the place. The four rooms and family cottage were all occupied according to Mark, but we never even ran into anybody. They don’t make up your room but it actually adds to the feeling of running your own exclusive show & a wicker hamper is outside the door for used towels. The room was dreamy with the door open onto the lanai to welcome in the soft breezes, we wanted to live there forever!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

Don't get me wrong, the accomodations and grounds are truly wonderful but if the time change will be a problem for you, ie waking up at 5 am - it's pretty intimate and you could wake up other guests if you're not careful. That really is the only downside to this inn. We stayed at a large resort after their 5 night minimum and would have preferred the anonimity. We got "called" by one of the owners on moving a chair on the balcony at 6am, apparently we weren't quite enough. That wouldn't have been an issue at a large resort. For that reason alone, we won't go back.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Address: 3170 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an affordable, luxury rental property located near all of Maui's famous attractions and beaches. We feature incredibly clean rooms with luxurious bedding rivaling the most expensive resorts. All of our rooms are very private and feature private lanai's, bathrooms, kitchenettes, high speed internet and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Kihei
Pineapple Inn Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pineapple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.