We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm... How many ways can I say how much we loved this place?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pineapple Inn
3170 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Kihei B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hmm... How many ways can I say how much we loved this place?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Immaculate... Magically landscaped... Posh... Wonderful pool and hot tub... Chef's style BBQ and wet bar /fridge setup by the pool made having our lunch in the sun so simple. Stayed in the cottage and if one of these guys isn't an interior decorator while the other is a landscape architect then they've hired the best Maui has to offer! It was... stunning. Worth every penny. Centrally located but you do need a car to get to some of the other points in Kihei, which was not an issue at all. Really, it was the best vacation I've ever had on Maui. The owners were just the definition of aloha and made me feel so relaxed. Can't wait to come back! Enjoy your stay at the Pineapple Inn. It's a-mazing!

Room Tip: We took our children and the cottage was simply ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    24
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
133
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This was our third stay at Pineapple Inn, and it is our got-to accommodations on Maui. We have looked far and wide, and the location, ambience and value would be hard to beat. From the thoughtful breakfast tidbits in the fridge, to the delightful saltwater pool ( no chlorine and the perfect PH ), you could not ask for more from a B&B. The entire property is purpose built as a B&B, and it shows. B&B Inn is what it is...you don't feel you are sharing the house with the owners. There are four rooms, 2 up, and two down. The two upper rooms have views and an added advantage of being able to leave the sliding door open at night...something most would be reluctant to do on the ground floor. There is a cute cottage on the property as well. Rooms are pleasant enough, and the beds are better than average as far as we are concerned. Breakfast is do-it-yourself, which we much prefer. You can decide when and where to have it...by the pool...on the lanai ,or take out. Juices, muffins, bagels, jams etc. are in the fridge. You can ask for to get restocked by just leaving a note outside your door for what you need. If you prefer hot breakfasts of pancakes or eggs and bacon and such, shared with fellow guests, then Pineapple Inn is probably not for you. The basket of goodies is a nice touch too!

The owners, Mark and Stephen, are great. Always friendly and sociable, and ready to help out any way they can. Both worked at the Grand Wailea for years, so they know what hospitality means. Remember though, that this is a B&B, not a hotel, as some have suggested, so they are not there 24/7, and may not always be available on the property. Make sure you have their cell numbers with you in case you can't wait.

The grounds are exceptional,and most likely surpasses any B&B as you have likely visited. Exceptional! The word professional comes to mind. The pool is wonderful...and after a hot day the beach, is a welcome treat. Obligatory hot tub is also available...with a view!

A word about noise...road noise that is...the Inn is situated on Pi'ilani Hwy, which means road noise can be a problem. We didn't much like it ourselves, but for us, the benefits out weighed that downside, and you do get used to it in a day or so anyways. Music piped in at the pool does help with that, and note, you cannot see the highway...only hear it...

Considering all the above, we feel this is exceptional value for Maui, where such deals are very difficult to come by. Mahalo to Mark and Stephen for a B&B well done!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The owners of this place do a wonderful job, they could provide workshops to other B&B owers for a living. We arrived about 8:00 p.m. by following the easy instructions we received. After traveling for 13 hours we were exhausted. It was great to find a stocked refrigerator and a basket of goodies in our room instead of having to search for a store or restaurant. The bed was very comfortable, the gardens were amazing and loaded with song birds. There was a computer in the hall just outside our door, along with plenty of books and reference material on Maui. Mark and Steve were very helpful in recommending where to find a good meal or snorkeling spot. My husband and I have done a fair amount of traveling over the past 15 years and there is no question that this was the most enjoyable experience we have ever had at a B&B.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Thanks to Trip Advisor reviews, we found the Pineapple Inn Maui and booked the cottage for a five night stay. Let me just say that we LOVED the cottage, the beautifully landscaped grounds, the views of the Pacific from the hot tub and pool --in fact everything about the Pineapple Inn. Special thanks to Steve and Mark who have clearly given much thought to what guests need and want because they provided every amenity and then some! They were most excellent hosts--there when you needed them and unobtrusive the rest of the time. We very much enjoyed our conversations with them and got some good travel advice and recommendations. The cottage itself is nicely decorated and surrounded by greenery. The kitchen is fully stocked with appliances and equipment--more than we actually needed for the simple meals we cooked. Beds were quite comfortable and we slept very well since the neighborhood is pretty quiet. There is some road noise on the pool side, but it really didn't bother us, and we couldn't hear it at all in the cottage. Steve let me look at one of the 4 rooms in the main building and I could see that they were furnished with as much care as the cottage. If you are looking for a quieter type of lodging on Maui, and don't mind a short drive to the beach or to shopping, Pineapple Inn would be an excellent choice. We can't wait until we can come back to this piece of paradise. Mahalo, Mark and Steve for an enjoyable vacation!

Room Tip: Cottage is great for couple or small family who want to cook some meals and have some room to spread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wow. What a wonderful place to have spent our Hawaii vacation. 5 stars are not enough. The room was spectacular. The pool, the flowered grounds and the views even more so. The owners are first rate and welcome you in with all sorts of good information and then give you all the privacy you care to have. One never really knows what to expect at bed and breakfasts until you get there. The Pineapple Inn lives up to it's high ranking on Trip Advisor. The reviews and ranking were the reasons we chose it. So should you be looking for a fantastic place to base a Maui vacation - this is the place to stay. Kihei is also the sunniest, driest part of Maui which is great for beaches and outdoor adventures. If you have any questions please feel free to email me. You will not be disappointed if you stay at the Pineapple Inn. Promise.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view! But if you stay on the ground floor rooms the smell of flowers ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the first time I have written a review but I felt compelled to after enjoying a wonderful stay at the Pineapple Inn with my family (adult couple with adult parents). We stayed in their cottage and it was a perfect accommodation - the owners, Mark and Steve, think of everyting for you and you arrive to a well stocked cottage. The room is beautifully decorated - think 5 star hotel - and the grounds are a private oasis with beautiful landscaping and a wonderful pool that you have access to 24 hours/day. We truly enjoyed our stay, the only thing I would have done differently was stay longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We just returned from our second trip to Maui, both times with a stay at the Pineapple Inn. If you are looking for a lovely cottage for your family (our children are 5yrs and 9 yrs) and seek a home away from home that is close to the best beaches this is it! From waking to the chirping of the birds, afternoon swimming in the pool, to the sunset views in the hot tub, all I can say is book it. We will absolutely will return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Address: 3170 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an affordable, luxury rental property located near all of Maui's famous attractions and beaches. We feature incredibly clean rooms with luxurious bedding rivaling the most expensive resorts. All of our rooms are very private and feature private lanai's, bathrooms, kitchenettes, high speed internet and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Kihei
Pineapple Inn Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pineapple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pineapple Inn to your Saves list