We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!! We LOVED the PINEAPPLE INN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pineapple Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pineapple Inn
Save
You added Pineapple Inn to your Saves list
3170 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Kihei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“WOW!!!! We LOVED the PINEAPPLE INN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, I didn't want to leave. Beautiful grounds, nice spacious room, the hosts are very friendly and very accomodating to our needs. GREAT location near beaches & restaurants (within a 10 minute drive). A great place to relax or make it your home base for Maui activities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
156
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Our third stay at the Pineapple Inn was far too brief (we scheduled late and had to relo to another B&B after a few days). We finally met owners Mark and Steve, both of whom were very friendly, helpful and warm. The beautiful gardens were immaculate, as usual, and the pool and spa were very welcome additions, especially after full days of walking, snorkeling and sunning. The owners recently added an outdoor refrigerator, icemaker and grill, which are great amenities if you wish to cook. Breakfasts are bare-bones but adequate. The ocean views are skimpy, even in the Makena Room (top floor), and the traffic noise is a minor nuisance. But enuf nit-picking!! It's a great private location with terrific hosts and gardens/pool/spa, and price is reasonable, especially if you're not keen on the resort/hotel masses of humans. Next time we'll reserve early.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a great place to stay for the location, attentiveness of the owners, convenience etc. Very reasonably priced for this part of the world with little extras included that save additional money and make you feel very comfortable. Staying here does require a car, because it is a couple of miles from the ocean. Conversations with Steve and Mark (the owners) added some local knowledge to our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Mark and Steve don't miss a thing with their hospitalitiy!! Attention to detail is phenomenal. A great little hide away spot with good location. Very reasonable price and centrally located for Maui. If you don't want to spend the big bucks of the resorts and have a small place away from the crowds, this is your place. We will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Well where to begin, this was our second visit to the Pineapple and it was just as great the first visit. Originally we came on our honeymoon and literally fell in love with this place and I made sure before we left that we would return Asap! The grounds are literally the nicest you will see in the area, Mark and Steve (gracious hosts) are constantly at work manicuring the gardens. It is a lush tropical jungle which enhances the salt water pool and hot tub making it feel private and a little slice of paradise all at the same time!

As soon as you arrive with ample parking at the front for your rental car, you can walk through a beautiful garden to your room. They each have a very clean and private lanai ( actually you have two lanais one at the front of your room where you overlook the garden and the other at the back of your room where you can enjoy your breakfast and walk out to the pool ( if you are on the lower level) . The rooms are very clean and have beautiful hawaiian decor. I loved the details in the design of the room, ample closet space can organize all your clothes in the large closet that has enough space for mulitple suitcases. The bathroom has a seperate toilet area, with a very large vanity again with many drawers to hold all your toiletries. The shower is an extra large tiled one which again is really nice after a day at the beach.

There is air conditioning and a fan, so you will be comfortable whichever way you choose. Or you can leave your sliding door open and listen to the birds in the am. Mark and Steve have designed the nicest kitchenette areas which are over stocked with lots of breakfast goodies, fruit, juices, bagels, muffins, english muffins, yogurt coffee/ tea and all the fixings! They also stock your room with yummy snacks of chips, chocolates, granola bars etc. ( something other b and b's charge for!) You have a microwave and fridge so you can even pick up a meal if you desire.

Now the pool and outdoor area are honestly the most beautiful, numerous "pineapple" fountains surround the gardens, and there is an outdoor area where you can bbq if you want, a beautiful outdoor kitchen space with lovely granite countertops are yours to use as well.

The best part it the lovely music that is playing quietly in the background as you enjoy a swim in the heated salt water pool, or a dip in the hot tub. It feels so private and everytime we were there we were in the pool we hardly saw anyone else who was staying there!

You can save a lot on beach rental stuff at the front they have a storage area full of beach chairs, umbrellas, boogey boards, coolers! Really is a nice perk for the beach.

You are within minutes of some of the best beaches in Hawaii ( we travelled to the other islands but honestly love this area the best)

Well i could go on and on ...but im sure you know my opinion by now! :) we are already planning another trip back to the Pineapple!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We came to Maui with a party of 11 for our wedding. We booked the entire Pineapple Inn, and while we originally chose it because it was an affordable alternative, it turned out to be the best week in paradise imaginable.

Our party was diverse, including seasoned world travelers and those who generally stick much closer to home on the mainland. Everyone was astounded by the place and owners Mark and Steve, who offer years' of hospitality industry experience and have considered every detail. We knew from photos and reviews on TripAdvisor that it would be wonderful, but it utterly exceeded our expectations. Several party members stayed a night or two at other places coming/going, and nothing (even notably more expensive places in other towns) came close to the Pineapple Inn regarding lush grounds, peaceful soothing atmosphere, and simple comfort. Photos cannot do the grounds justice.

If you don't mind walking a mile or two, the beach and some restaurants are within ambling distance. The inn has a well stocked supply of boogie boards and beach chairs for water recreation. While rooms are not serviced daily, clean towels arrived as needed. The breakfasts of juice, muffins, fruit, yogurts, etc. were just right (inn only, not the cottage). There is road noise if you nap during the day, but you never see the road, and just need to shut the door and turn on the ceiling fan. We never noticed it except midday napping. And the cottage kitchen and grill by the pool allowed us to get meal supplies at Costco (Kahului) and feed a small, hungry army very affordably--and by the gorgeous pool, no less. Everything was amazing.

Thank you Mark and Steve. The inn was the highlight of a most amazing week. We intend to return to Maui within two years, and the inn is a big part of the reason.

PS--if getting married in Hawwaii, the grounds here offer perfect garden alcoves for gorgeous photo ops. Like WOW.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms had more road noise. Cottage & downstairs rooms are quieter, and buried in nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

It's hard to think we could have found a better place for the money and location, a stone's throw from Wailea. Nowhere and nothing on Maui is a bargain. But the Pineapple Inn is as close as you will get. The property - built from scratch by the owners - is lovely. The garden tropical and gorgeous with a view of the ocean, even though you are a mile away. Look closely and you will spot subtle symbols of the b&b's name dotted around. The rooms are not huge but have a great balcony or terrace. Top floor has an ocean view. The back garden has a saline swimming pool and a hot tub which is pretty rare for b&b's here. There is some traffic noise from the main road beneath the property but you can't hear it when inside. There is no breakfast room, the owners supply you food and a kitchenette in your room. Little touches like a storage room with boogie boards etc mean you don't have to fork out for anything you need. Beach towels also supplied. Loved the sundries box with all sorts of bathroom goodies left behind by previous guests. I had forgetten pretty much everything. It's no wonder this place is in demand, there is very little like it on the island.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pineapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Inn

Address: 3170 Akala Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an affordable, luxury rental property located near all of Maui's famous attractions and beaches. We feature incredibly clean rooms with luxurious bedding rivaling the most expensive resorts. All of our rooms are very private and feature private lanai's, bathrooms, kitchenettes, high speed internet and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Kihei
Pineapple Inn Maui/Kihei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pineapple Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.